We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of Vinauberge

Vinauberge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poilhes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vinauberge
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Had lunch at Vinauberge the other day. Excellent. Food was great, service was fantastic. And wonderful location.
Only thing to remember is that you need to go to the bar to get the bill and pay it. Was [very] gently berated for asking for the bill at the bar but then heading off back to the table.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Just popped in whilst cycling along the canal du midi.... A beautiful little spot of wine heaven. There was a family lunch going on and all were having a great time. We on the other hand were too busy sitting back and relaxing before heading off for Colombiers

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathos15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed overnight here but were dismayed to find that, even in a new apartment, there was no air conditioning. The bedroom was stifling and we could not sleep at all. There was not even a fan.
However, in all other respects, it is a lovely property. The staff were extremely pleasant and the dinner was adequate. Service was a bit slow and I noticed some patrons were very annoyed with this.
One aspect of the design is the bedrooms in some units face straight out on to the dining area and privacy was difficult. This was particularly so when it is hot. The windows should be able to be open with privacy and security intact.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINAUBERGE, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Vinauberge, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Kerry,

thank you for your comments and sorry about the late response.

First of all, thank you for complimenting us on our service. We do take great pride in providing the best customer service possible.

You are right, that the apartements do not have electrical air conditioning but they do have canadian wells, which is a an ecological and efficient alternative to cool down or warm up a house.
'The Canadian well consists of passing a proportion of fresh air through pipes buried in the ground, before it enters the house. The principle is to make passive use of geothermal energy.' (source: http://nesa1.uni-siegen.de/wwwextern/idea/glossary/descript/c.htm)
For this system to work it is necessary to open up a cover within the apartment.

We can also provide fans, of course, but I wasn't aware that there was an issue. Please let me know straight away next time you visit and this will be sorted out.

Regarding the bedrooms facing towards the restaurant, I'd like to say, that this issue has been passed on to our directors and we will work on a solution to provide more privacy to our guests in the holiday apartments.

You are also right, that the service in the restaurant was a bit slow that night, which was due to a shortage of staff and a very busy night at Vinauberge. This has been resolved in the meantime and we are now better staffed to provide good service also on busy evenings.

We do hope to welcome you again one day at Vinauberge.

Lydia Drobny
Responsable Gîtes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I booked 2 nights in the 2 bedroom 100m/sq gite on the property which was at the far end of the building making it quiet with a great view over the surrounding countryside. The gite was very clean, modern and spacious and the kitchen was fitted out with high quality appliances. Bathroom had a large walk-in shower and the beds were super comfy (two singles placed on a double base in each room).

The staff spoke fluent English, French and German and maybe others too! They were very helpful and knowledgable of both the wines they stocked and the local area. Tapas food is available from the chef who normally starts serving at 19:30 but when we requested an earlier meal for our children on our first night arrival earlier was no problem.

In the gite you can be completely self sufficient or make use of breakfast served in the tapas restaurant or delivered to your door as described on the website. They also gave us a third option to get fresh croissants and bread delivered to the gate by the French bakery van as there is no Boulangerie in the village. We did this and just paid the Boulangerie price on our bill.

There is good open space for children to run around in a closed courtyard. Patio tables outside or inside dining possible which in early May was required this year.

It was so peaceful and our children (6 and 8) were so happy in the apartment that we put them to bed and then continued sampling a few more wines in the bar having some great adult time. So easy to just nip back to check on the children.

VinAuberge is also situated just on the Canalside, so stopping here by boat, car or bike would work. We went for some lovely canal walks viewing much wildlife and the surrounding vineyards. This is a section of the Canal du midi where the Platane trees have generally NOT been hit by disease, so it remains a tree lined paradise. In nearby Columbiers there is boat rental so you can take a day trip to explore the Canal more that way which we did.


Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeMadame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Jean de Losne, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here, and hope to stay again.

Spacious well appointed and clean rooms, a well stocked kitchen and free high-speed internet. All this backed by a most friendly and pleasant staff. Just perfect!

Located alongside the Canal du Midi in Poilhes, they also have a charming restaurant with a great selection of wine and delicious food.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Vinauberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinauberge

Property: Vinauberge
Address: 1, Cour de la Cave, 34310 Poilhes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Poilhes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Poilhes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VINAUBERGE is a new holiday complex situated in a quiet and idyllic village, directly on the banks of the Southern French Canal-du-Midi. In the immediate surroundings you will find the amazing sandy beaches of the Mediterranean close to Béziers, Valras Plage and Cap d'Agde. The traditional buildings of the former Poilhes wine cooperative were renovated and transformed in a unique and special way into four stylish gîtes and three spacious lofts. Guests and wine lovers can enjoy delicious local specialties in the on-site restaurant and have the choice of hundreds of wines from the Languedoc Roussillon. VINAUBERGE is an ideal place to relax in midst beautiful nature and enjoy the Southern French Savoir Vivre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing