We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you dream of a life in France, look no further!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
110 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
La Haye-du-Puits, La Haye, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 110 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Oriana L
2 reviews
“If you dream of a life in France, look no further!”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in September 2016

A really comfortable gite set in the beautiful Normandy countryside. Goats, chickens, horses, sheep and the wonderful Inca! So much to do - fabulous sandy beaches, local markets, yummy seafood and, of course, there is the wine..... ! What's not to like? Wil and Amanda were delightful hosts. We loved it - and we will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we do hope you will come again, it was an absolute pleasure to host you!

kind regards

Wil and Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catveitch...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just fantastic!”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This place is beautiful! When we arrived, we were amazed by the long tree lined drive down to the gite and welcomed by their lovely dog Inka. Amanda and Wil (the real hosts) were extremely welcoming. The gite we stayed in was really clean and well stocked. The grounds are a perfect place for the running around of kids and dogs alike. The surrounding area is a proper rural affair with rustic farmhouses and deserted beaches, with plenty of local produce to enjoy too. We look forward to returning next year when the heated pool will be fully operational!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2017
We really enjoyed having you guys here, you really entered into the spirit of the place, many thanks for your help with the ponies and the herculean log-splitting efforts! See you again, Wil and Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Great ambience and very comfortable”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed my 5 month stay.Wil and Amanda were helpful and encouraging as well as being good company - just a shame I filed to find a house to buy;perhaps I was looking fro something that measured up to La Ferme.The walk along the old railway line was evocative and interesting - recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2017
It was an honour and a pleasure to host you over winter, we are glad it was such a gentle one for you.

Good luckj in your new home in the UK, make sure you drop in and see us next time you are in Normandy.

All the best\

Wil and Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Peter...
Castleford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing family holiday in a great gite with fabulous hosts”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in July 2016 for the third time. It won't be our last!!

The location is amazing - right in the heart of Normandy and within 15 minutes drives of spectacular beaches. This family friendly gite has all the amenities you would need for a great stay. The ground floor layout is open plan, family friendly and roomy with plenty of space for relaxing, playing and the general "spread" that comes with having 2 under 7's! Wifi is provided but there is so much to see and do outside or in the local area.

The upstairs is well appointed and roomy. You are tucked up right under the eaves which kept the rooms cool in the sun. The bathroom has a large shower space perfect for cleaning off sandy but happy kids and has really nice natural light from a roof space window.
We had an amazing trip out to Glatigny, a local beach, at the recommendation of the Wil and Amanda. Despite the less that brilliant weather, we had a brilliant time paddling, sandcastle building and kite flying.
Our host encouraged our children to help with the animals and they were allowed to wander freely mindful of certain safety precautions and a healthy dose of common sense from us!
On our last evening, Wil treated our two boys to a pony and trap ride around the local area. To say the boys were thrilled is an understatement and the whole experience was an hour of joy for them with mum and dad peddling behind on borrowed bikes. The boys still talk of the "turbo button" as the pony gently broke into a fast canter up the old railway line which runs at the back of the gites!!!
This is our 3rd stay here having previously stayed in "The Stables". The "Chevrefeuille" better suited our needs this time around as the open plan downstairs space better suited our needs and the boys could wander in and out to play in full view.

A totally amazing place which is made even more special by Wil and Amanda.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Hi Guys, what a brilliant review! We loved having you here, and it is a pleasure for us to see our guests enjoying the place as much as we do. Appollon the Shetland has been harassing the sheep, so we are improving the fencing this winter! Would love to have you back at some stage, we still have some summer weeks left. Wil and Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauricegr...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Heaven in the Heart of Normandy!”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Second time with Wil & Amanda and as usual, our welcome was outstanding. The kids have placed this holiday in their top 3 holidays of all time at the number 1 spot which is high praise indeed and we also loved every moment of our stay! Local restaurants were great and the beaches on the west coast were amazing - long stretches of sand and largely deserted which made for a relaxing break. Will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thanks Maurice for your kind words, love to have you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew g
2 reviews
“Lovely, relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a lovely holiday at La Ferme De L'Eglise. The gite was spacious and very well equipped - we had everything we needed. We particularly enjoyed exploring the local cycle routes, nice easy off road cycle paths that are great for cycling with children. We enjoyed feeding and watching the animals. Friendly helpful owners - thankyou.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2016
Thanks for your kind words, look forward to having you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill h
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very wheelchair friendly; perfect in many ways.”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really did relax and enjoy ourselves and very much hope to come back again in the not too distant future. It’s a lovely part of France and not one we had explored in any way before. Yes, we had driven through it on the way to the ferry but no, we hadn’t really had a good nose around. And still haven’t for that matter in any great detail, as one week was nowhere near long enough. However, thank you for making us so welcome and for being such laid back hosts.You made our stay most enjoyable, and for someone in a wheelchair that is such an important part of the holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly easy going attitude of staying there.
Liked least: Honestly cannot say.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Cheers Bill. Glad you enjoyed the gite and the area, looking forward to your next visit.

kind regards

Wil and Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing