We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cottage at The Dene is between Chichester and Arundel and just three miles from Goodwood
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage at The Dene is between Chichester and Arundel and just three miles from Goodwood
The vaulted living area gives a sense of light and space The king-sized bed and top-of-the-range Hypnos mattress will ensure a good nights sleep
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
The Cottage at The Dene is between Chichester and Arundel and just three miles from Goodwood
The vaulted living area gives a sense of light and space
The king-sized bed and top-of-the-range Hypnos mattress will ensure a good nights sleep
The kitchen area is well equipped with hob, dishwasher, microwave and fridge
Top quality appliance, including a coffee machine
The smart TV in the bedroom gives the perfect excuse for a lazy lie in
The 43' smart TV is perfect for evenings on the sofa. Complimentary wi fi is included.
We hope guests will sign our visitors book.
Guests have free use of the tennis court throughout their stay.
Plenty of space within the grounds to stretch your legs
Guests have full use of The Dene's grounds
The cottage sits within the grounds of the Dene, a three hundred year old property
Two guests per booking receive complimentary membership of the Goodwood Healthclub, spa and Kennels.
The pool at Goodwood
The gym at Goodwood
The Drawing Room at The Kennels - perfect for afternoon tea!
The restaurant at The Kennels
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oving, Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lewis W
1 review
“Home from home...”
Reviewed 6 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Where to start! Even before arriving for our week long stay, myself and my fiancee knew we would be in for a brilliant time ahead as the owners were so thorough in making sure we had everything we could possibly need, as the previous guests have mentioned, we had a basket of essentials waiting for us on arrival with the basics to get us by whilst we settled in. The bottle of Prosecco waiting for us was much appreciated and could also be seen as essential after our 5 hour long drive to get to the cottage!

On arrival, Dave and Vicky were excellent. They pointed out all the main features of the cottage and what it had to offer as well as explaining to us on how to use our membership for the Goodwood healthclub and spa. We both loved the use of the facility and it is just a little insight into the level of detail which the owners have put into their new cottage rental. I can't think of anywhere else which can compete with The Dene in regards to what it has to offer for the price. Truly was an excellent stay and we have already been in contact with Dave regarding a 2nd stay in the near future.

The whole Cottage has been renovated to a sublime standard and we personally couldn't fault it. As menioned in the title, it does feel like a home from home, we instantly felt comfortable in the surroundings and we had a fantastic week. I really believe once word gets out about the Cottage at the Dene, bookings will soar!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Dear Lewis, thank you very much indeed for your kind words. You were one of our very first guests so they mean a lot as we hoped The Cottage would go down well. It was great to meet you and Faye and we look forward very much to seeing you again.
Best wishes, David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickedfoo...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning luxury cottage....”
Reviewed 5 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This is a truly beautiful cottage where the attention to detail is fantastic every thing you need has been thought of. From the luxuroius bed ( best nights sleep I have ever had!) to all the little extras, welcome box with essentials, toiletries,wine, the list goes on. As we were only down for a few days we sadly didn't have the chance to use the free membership of Goodwood Health Club , but what an amazing free facility to have as part of your stay.Chichester, West Wittering and Arundel all within 20 min drive,as were the shops .David & Victoria were lovely hosts and nothing was too much trouble they even let our dog have the run of their lovely garden. We will visit again !

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2018
Thank you so much for such a nice review.....Vicky and I were delighted to receive it. As you know you were one of our first guests in the cottage and it was lovely to have you with us. One thing that has surprised us is how much we care about what people think of the cottage, so we were delighted that you were so pleased with it and we look forward to welcoming you again....perhaps next time you will have time for a little pampering at Goodwood! Best wishes, David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenda...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An absolute gem - a warm welcome, a fabulous cottage in a very quiet location, and great facilities”
Reviewed 21 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Don't be put off by the lack of reviews on this cottage. Although 300 years old it has only just been renovated and we were one of the very first to use it. It's brilliant!
David and Vicky are excellent hosts....before we arrived we had an email confirming directions, asking about allergies (there is a very welcome pack on arrival.....loved the local cheese) and even if we prefer lumpwood or briquettes!! (The cottage has its own large patio with BBQ). On arrival we had a personal welcome and were shown the cottage, including controls, but there is a comprehensive information booklet.
The cottage is beautifully furnished and very well equipped with everything brand new. Smart TVs and fast wi-fi, but we especially liked the USB charging points as we had brought only one charger with us. The property is very private and sits next to the main house. We had full use of the four acres and it was lovely playing tennis on the brand new court when it was a little cooler in the evenings. The free membership of Goodwood Health Club is a real bonus....we used it quite a few evenings, but especially memorable was the access it allowed us to The kennels where we had cream tea overlooking Goodwood House, then wandered up to the Heath Club for a sauna.
Faults: Hard to think of any unless you prefer a bath to a shower (although the ensuite shower is beautifully done).
We have stayed in many similar places (and have our own rental). This one is at the top of the pile.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2018
Hi Stephen
Just to say thank you very much indeed for your review. It was our first one so very important to us!! We are glad you liked it.
I hope the trip back was ok
Best wishes

David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jul 2018
Hi Rachel
I have just seen the Tripadvisor review.....many thanks indeed for writing it. It means a lot as being our very first guests your opinions were really important to us. Thanks you very much for visiting us...we could not have asked for nicer people to break the ribbon on our cottage!
With best wishes
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing