We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Gribble Inn

The Gribble Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Oving
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Gribble Inn is a traditional country pub located in a 16th century beamed cottage. We serve food all day Monday to Saturday and 12 until 4 pm on a Sunday. We have our own on site brewery and we serve 6 ales on the bar.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a friends and family reunion. We had booked ahead so had a more or less private room for Sunday lunch and plenty of the local brew. Outstanding hospitality!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank littlerocky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlisa12, Owner at The Gribble Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for your glowing comments about your experience at the Gribble .
I am so pleased to hear that you all enjoyed yourselves. I hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    87
    27
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Warm and Friendly welcome (especially so after the welcome we had at The Walnut Tree not far from here).
Wide range of beer made in their own brewery (next time I'll make sure I'm not driving).
The food was freshly cooked with generous portions and good value for money. The child portions were huge - 4 fish fingers, chips and peas.
Cannot recommend this place enough, even if it is a little off the beaten track

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pandlhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlisa12, Owner at The Gribble Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
I was so glad to read your comments. Thank you.
It is great when parents bring their children to a place like ours for a 'grown up' experience.
After all we hope that they will be customers in the future, when they will be buying the drinks for you maybe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We found this place by accident and next time we're in Chi we will definitely revisit. We popped in for supper on a busy Easter weekend. The restaurant was fully booked but we ate in the bar. The staff were ace; friendly, knowledgable and helpful.... And the food was excellent too... But the highlight has to be this pub and micro brewery's own dessert Beeramasu! Fit for an award in our opinion. What an inspired chef!! Go visit !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CazWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlisa12, Owner at The Gribble Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for those great comments. We are very glad that you found us.
Its good to know that you had a great time even though we were incredibly busy.
Thank you also for the comment about the 'beeramisu'. My partner has been nagging the chef to put his idea for a beer dessert on the menu for months. It is proving to be very popular. It s good to know that you enjoyed it so much. I think it will be staying on the menu
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a lunch!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We found this place by accident but will definitely be going again, it was the best pub lunch we've had in a long time. The pub is really worth a visit, we might even have to find a b&b nearby so we can enjoy it properly!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenL866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlisa12, Owner at The Gribble Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
I am so glad that you found us and we look forward to seeing you and your friends soon.
The B& B sounds like an excellent idea. Thank your for taking the time to write your fantastic comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food, good beer and fab atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We ate here twice over a weekend when staying at the Old Priory near Bognor which is just 10 minutes away.

The food was delicious, local food nicely cooked with a good choice.

The selection of beers brewed on the premises was excellent and all of our party had a different favourite.

The owner and staff were so friendly and looked after our party well, particularly when three of our party arrived 20 minutes after last food orders because they were travelling from London. No worries they said and didn't hassle them to order the minute they walked through the door.

Add to that the lovely Flint, the pub Bedlington Terrier and the picture was complete. Excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coreleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlisa12, Manager at The Gribble Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hello, thank you so much for your very kind comments. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your visits to the Gribble Inn. Sometimes I think the dog gets more attention than we do. No actually scarp that he definitely does. But he is lovely.
We are trying very hard to make sure that we offer a great customer experience so thank you again We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gribble Inn also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Gribble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing