We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gribble Inn

The Gribble Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Oving
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Gribble Inn is a traditional country pub located in a 16th century beamed cottage. We serve food all day Monday to Saturday and 12 until 4 pm on a Sunday. We have our own on site brewery and we serve 6 ales on the bar.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This pub is definitely worth a visit, took us a while to find it mainly as the sat nav took us in the wrong direction to start with. Staff gave a nice warm welcome, food was amazing, my youngest daughter is very picky with her food but demolished her fish fingers, chips and peas. The meals were huge, the pudding menu looked fantastic but we just didnt have room. When we revisit the area we will be paying The Gribble another visit and maybe this time having dessert first!

Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlisa12, Owner at The Gribble Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hello .

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such positive comments.
We really do appreciate it. We hope that now you have found us we will see you and your family & friends in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    77
    26
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Family meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Six of us went to Gribble on a Wednesday night.
The staff are so helpful and friendly, chatting about the brewery and advising us on all the ales.
All of us chose starters from the asparagus menu! We were in heaven! Delicious!!
Dexter steak was on the menu, also to die for!
Brandy and coffees, with home made chocolates.
We would move here just to be nearer this pub and restaurant.
The most gorgeous pub dog, a beddlington terrier!
VISIT!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank juspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlisa12, Owner at The Gribble Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you when you are in the area again.
We work hard to exceed customer expectation and I am thrilled that you had a great time Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a friends and family reunion. We had booked ahead so had a more or less private room for Sunday lunch and plenty of the local brew. Outstanding hospitality!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank littlerocky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlisa12, Owner at The Gribble Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for your glowing comments about your experience at the Gribble .
I am so pleased to hear that you all enjoyed yourselves. I hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Warm and Friendly welcome (especially so after the welcome we had at The Walnut Tree not far from here).
Wide range of beer made in their own brewery (next time I'll make sure I'm not driving).
The food was freshly cooked with generous portions and good value for money. The child portions were huge - 4 fish fingers, chips and peas.
Cannot recommend this place enough, even if it is a little off the beaten track

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pandlhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlisa12, Owner at The Gribble Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
I was so glad to read your comments. Thank you.
It is great when parents bring their children to a place like ours for a 'grown up' experience.
After all we hope that they will be customers in the future, when they will be buying the drinks for you maybe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We found this place by accident and next time we're in Chi we will definitely revisit. We popped in for supper on a busy Easter weekend. The restaurant was fully booked but we ate in the bar. The staff were ace; friendly, knowledgable and helpful.... And the food was excellent too... But the highlight has to be this pub and micro brewery's own dessert Beeramasu! Fit for an award in our opinion. What an inspired chef!! Go visit !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CazWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlisa12, Owner at The Gribble Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for those great comments. We are very glad that you found us.
Its good to know that you had a great time even though we were incredibly busy.
Thank you also for the comment about the 'beeramisu'. My partner has been nagging the chef to put his idea for a beer dessert on the menu for months. It is proving to be very popular. It s good to know that you enjoyed it so much. I think it will be staying on the menu
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gribble Inn also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
West Ashling, Chichester
 

Been to The Gribble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing