We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Traditional Pub with it's own Brewery”
Review of The Gribble Inn

The Gribble Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Oving
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Gribble Inn is a traditional country pub located in a 16th century beamed cottage. We serve food all day Monday to Saturday and 12 until 4 pm on a Sunday. We have our own on site brewery and we serve 6 ales on the bar.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Traditional Pub with it's own Brewery”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Have been lots of times and never been disapointed, the food is great value, locally sourced where possible, fresh and beautiully served. Sesonal menus vary, and are always delicious, vegetarians are well catered for here, though being a meat eater, the pork belly, burgers and pies are fab! Poughmans are also great!
The beers are brewed on the premises and always spot on and sparkling.
All in all terrific find!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank carol2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlisa12, Manager at The Gribble Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2015
Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely and kind review. I glad that you enjoy are home brew as well as the food. We have got a new beer coming out soon. We would love to have you back to try some.

Kind Regards,
The Gribble Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    87
    27
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“would recommend to everyone”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Have been here few times before and was never disappointed. Great looking old fashioned pub with great food and beautiful garden. Had belly of pork and it was just perfect. Will definitely be back and would recommend to everyone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miroslav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlisa12, Manager at The Gribble Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2015
Hi,

We are all so pleased that you have enjoyed each and every time you have come to visit us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, it means a lot. The garden is looking lovely at the moment you must come and see it.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards,
The Gribble Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Food a little off on a quiet night but the Ales were spot on”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A locals pub - we popped in for an early family tea around 6pm - the Pigs Ear local beer (one of 6 or 7 beers brewed on the premises) was excellent along with the kids meals/ asparagus dish but unfortunately the fish of the day was a let down and not cheap either. I guess asking for a gluten free version didn't help but we expected a little more.
It would have been great to have been able to use the skittle hall but perhaps that only opens for larger groups. Given all the positive reviews I would like to return at a more popular time when the restaurant is fully up and running - perhaps something to bear in mind as the Proprietor did comment it was very quiet - Tuesday evening 6pmish

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlisa12, Manager at The Gribble Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2015
Hi,

Firstly thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.My apologises for taking a while to reply. I am so glad that you enjoyed all of our home brews. I am sorry to hear about you disappointment with your fish dish. And we take it all of your feedback into account. Regarding the skittle alley, it has now reopened as the Brewery Tap Bar. Which we used while the pub was reopening after the fire. This proved very successful and we now hire it out as "rent your own pub" .We hope that you can come back soon and we all look forward to seeing you.

Kind Regards,
The Gribble Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great traditional pub”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a meal and a pint last night, what a great little find. Greated with a smile and had a chat about the ales with the landlord which is helpful as they have over 7 on tap. The place felt alive with good pub vibes.
We both decided to have the belly pork signature dish which was extremely well cooked, we love our classic dishes and this was cooked to perfection. Great service by lady V also helped us to enjoy the food further.
After the meal we sat and chatted to the staff afterwards which made us feel very welcome. So if your in the area pop in and enjoy a great little gem of a pub.

Helpful?
Thank djschweitzer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent rural pub - well worth a visit”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Any pub that can handle a group of 20+ people for an evening meal this well, deserves all the praise it can get!

The ambiance and decor made this a special pub from the start. Their own brews went down a treat and the food was delivered promptly and was nicely hot too! No complaints on the food front.

The service was beyond the call of duty - apologies to V. who put up brilliantly with 20 blokes "on tour" - she's a real asset to the pub!

I'd say this was also a great pub for a lunchtime drink and food - lovely garden and setting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GenuineFoodFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlisa12, Manager at The Gribble Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2015
Hi,
I am thrilled that you enjoyed you time here with us. Thank you so much having the time to write this review. And my apologies that it has taken us so long to respond. We have to see you again.
V. said it was a pleaser to look after you all.

Kind Regards,
The Gribble Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gribble Inn also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Gribble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing