We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Chauvins

Les Chauvins; 17th Century Farmhouse & Maison D'Amis
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Les Chauvins; 17th Century Farmhouse & Maison D'Amis
20ft x 30ft swimming pool, sheltered in the walls of an old barn The pool has a powerful jetstream to swim against (Sallow end 1m, deep end 2m)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Les Chauvins; 17th Century Farmhouse & Maison D'Amis
20ft x 30ft swimming pool, sheltered in the walls of an old barn
The pool has a powerful jetstream to swim against (Sallow end 1m, deep end 2m)
The sunbathing area from the Games Room to the pool
A view of the pool from a bedroom in The Farmhouse
Relax in our banana chairs and take in the breathtaking view
Have fun in the games room, with the pool table, baby football, darts, Wii bar and gym
The games room has everything for a party; Music, bar with fridge, space......
The dining room in The Farmhouse, with original fireplace is cool in the summer
The kitchen in the Farmhouse leads onto the bar-b-que and terrace area for al fresco dining
One of the two bedrooms in the north wing of the farmhouse, overlook the swimming pool
The Juliette room in the south wing of The Farmhouse
A queen size bed is one of the beds in the twin room of The Farmhouse
The Maison D'Amis, a beautiful 17th Century Cottage
The sitting room in The Maison D'Amis, with log burner, flat screen TV and wonderful views
The spacious kitchen/breakfastroom in the Maison D'Amis
The original antique French bed in the ensuite double bedroom, Maison D'Amis
A double bedroom in The Maison D'Amis
Enjoy one of the many terraces here at Les Chauvins
Fields of sunflowers welcome you to Les Chauvins
Les Chauvins can host your party. Perfect!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Salles-Lavalette, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Triwendy
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous holiday”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful farmhouse, set in a beautiful part of France. Our stay at Les Chauvin was fantastic. Staying with friends there was ample space for everyone. The children adored the pool, trampoline, swings, goats, guinea pigs, games room and music room......phew! We needn't have left the farm but did venture out to the lac jemaya and the ropes course at Pointon. Both of these were fantastic places to take young children and amazingly they were completely free.
As adults we loved cycling to the bakery every morning using the complimentary bikes, the pool was devine, the terraces and bbq area were a delight. Every evening was so relaxing and the sight of the Milky Way was astonishingly beautiful.
A big thank you to the owners Madeleine and Marcus for creating such a beautiful place, being incredibly helpful and so welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: farmhouse- great layout, lovely furnishings.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire S
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a wonderful holiday with our extended family at Les Chauvins and enjoyed glorious weather.

All the children loved the games room and had a great time in the pool.

Both the Farmhouse and Maison d'Amis are lovely and set in a beautiful location with fantastic views. Marcus and Madeleine were both wonderful hosts, with nothing any trouble.... their English too is fantastic!

God willing we hope to all be back there again next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J
2 reviews
“Fantastic, relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We visited Les Chauvins this summer for the second time and had a brilliant holiday. My wife and our three children (1, 3, 5) loved visiting the area and playing in the pool. The kids particularly liked spending time with the Goats and Guinea pigs!

We went out every other day to see the local villages and saw some amazing places (all are stored in a book in the villa). Our favourites would probably be Branton (very pretty), Water park (lots of fun), the lake near Riberac (great beach and free kayaking) and a local climbing place (has something like GoApe plus they have a Go-Ape like adventure playground for 2-6 yr olds) at Pointon. The villa is really spacious and has everything you need (including wifi) and the pool is very nice (its also very safe for the kiddies).

We will definitely be visiting again

Peter

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool and the surrounding area
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuakerChe...
Chesterfield
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Our Third Visit, We Loved it!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our third visit in as many years and we were not disappointing. The properties have undergone a lot of work over the three years we have been visiting and this year we saw quite a few changes. The gardens and terraces look fantastic and the new feel to the dining room in the Farmhouse is lovely.

We went with our children and their families and we had a blast, The kids loved the pool and games room and spent many hours entertaining themselves with loads to keep them occupied. The weather was fantastic.

We got out and about (as we normally do), the recommendations of places to visit were bang on, thank you Marcus and Madeleine! The lake at Jemaya is a must if you have youngsters, there is loads to do there and apart from buying food, everything is free, swimming, adventure park, canoes etc. great place for new adventures.

Sadly this was our last visit as a family for a while as everyone has plans to visit other destinations but this place will always have a hold on our hearts. I have absolutely no doubts we will return one day.

Listen, if you have a large extended family you cant go far wrong with booking this place, if you want a quite getaway this place is also perfect. don't hesitate, book it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lindaholl...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful home from home!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed at Les Chauvins from July 5th – 17th 2014. We had the best holiday ever in a rental property! We rented both properties, as we were a group of two young families and two sets of grandparents! Marcus and Madeline have made this a magical home from home property.
Our son and wife had the smaller house with his 2 & 4 year old girls and inlaws from the USA. Ideal as the grandparents had their own room away from the others with an ensuite.
We had the larger property for ourselves and our daughter and husband with their 4 year old girl and two boys aged 1 and 2 ½ years. This was also great accommodation as we had the upstairs room and bathroom with a spare bedroom ( for the occasional grandchild to visit!). Our daughter had a separate set of rooms off the lounge with a door to shut to contain the children!! This had three large bedrooms with a large bathroom.
The whole accommodation was large and had excellent storage in the way of hanging and drawers – half of which we never used!
Both kitchens were good with all that was needed and again lots of storage for food etc.
The swimming pool was cleaned every day by Marcus and covered at night to keep it warm. It was a little chilly when we arrived – about 24 degrees but rose to 29 as the weather improved. The gate is very secure – No-one found it easy to open! There were numerous play toys by the pool and a great paddling pool which the baby used. Good shade and sunny areas.
The outside equipment was wonderful, all 5 children loved the trampoline and swings. There are so many sitting out areas that are all around the place – sun or shade.
The games room had everything you could want in the way of board games and jigsaws for young and old. The sticklebricks were loved by all the children! A wealth of DVDs and CDs – though we never used the TVs whilst there since the weather was too good! There was gym and wi fit equipment.
The barn had every type of outdoor bat, ball etc that you could think of. Table football was popular with the children but I don’t think they had any idea of what they were doing!!!
The chickens were an added bonus and the 2 year olds watched in delight as a hen laid an egg!! The goats were well fed by all everyday and the guinea pigs had lots of cuddles!
All in all this is a wonderful place for all ages. Numerous places to go to from here by bike or car. We can recommend a newly opened restaurant at L’ECOLE – Vendoire. ( short bike ride) 3 course lunch at 12.50euros including wine! Also swimming pool at Jonzac – 1 ¼ hours drive. Brantome was a lovely village. The river beach at Aubterre has a lovely beach as does the Grand Etang de la Jemaye which also has a lovely play area.
We hope to go back there again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the equipment for the children.
Liked least: No casserole pot with lid!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FromTotte...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic and comfortable”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time at Les Chauvins - it was well-equipped and the welcome basket waiting for us was a really nice surprise!

It's so comfortable and spacious and the addition to the animals is a great touch. Our daughter made sure she fed the "cluck clucks" every day.

With a cracking pool, it's the definition of a French gite holiday, exactly what we needed. And having got the train down to Angouleme, it's pretty accessible too.

Highly recommended - although we would like to go back, so hopefully there'll still be space!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing