We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lairhillock Lodge

Lairhillock Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lairhillock Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Netherley B&B and Inns
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Lairhillock Lodge is a must for everyone. Situated in rural Aberdeenshire but only5 miles or so to Aberdeen/Stonehaven. An ideal base for tourists or for work purposes. The owners Jen and Neil Ironside will make you feel at home and nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in a family room which was modern, spacious, well appointed, spotlessly clean, great shower and very peaceful. The complimentary breakfast was of a very high standard and again nothing was too much trouble. The local Inn is a stones throw away and is ideal for lunch, dinner or just to have a drink and unwind.

In short, great location, fabulous room/service and excellent value for money. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onemanjazzband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    30
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
38
3
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bridgnorth
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Bedroom great (clean, warm, spacious, full size TV) Inn across car park good food & beer, breakast freshly cooked & good standard. 25 minutes to Aberdeen

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alecwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Fantastic place throught. Easy comute to town and much better than you standard hotel. Great pub next door.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Findo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We arrived early evening to be greeted by our Landlady - Jenny who was friendly, very informative about the lodge and all its amenities. We were shown round the complex finishing with our room - a spacious double tastefully decorated with en-suite. Room had LCD television, tea/coffee making facility and plenty wardrobe space very well appointed. Complex also had a residents lounge with television, comfortable seating, occassional tables and use of a PC.
A hop, step and jump from the lodge is "The Lairhillock Inn" where we enjoyed pre dinner drinks in a friendly snug bar followed by dinner served in the restaurant, service here was great too - the menu choice was extensive.
We retired back to the lodge and spent a very comfortable night in room 3.
Breakfast was served in a large well appointed dining room - food/drink was excellent a breakfast to suit any guest. This complex is 110% - we cannot wait to revisit. Already recommended to a few friends - hope there will always be a room for us?

Monaghans of Carnoustie

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totallyimpressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed here over Hogmanay. We were there for the fireball celebrations in Stonehaven, but booked last minute and so ended up out of town. The hotel was about 6miles out of town, so a car is essential, (we got a taxi on Hogmanay night itself). It is located in beautiful countryside. The only other building nearby is the restaurant / pub next door which is excellent.

The rooms were spacious, clean and well decorated. En-suite with nice big showers. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt_1845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Following earlier good reviews, my wife & I stayed for 2 nights when visiting family near Stonehaven. From the warm welcome on arrival, everything was first class. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom well equipped & the freshly cooked breakfast was just what we needed.
All the staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable, & we will definitely be returning.
An added bonus was the Lairhillock Inn, right next door, which provides excellent meals, with the best 'Cullen Skink 'I've ever tasted.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I don't normally write reviews but following an unfortunate experience at the nearby Premier Lodge I happened to stumble across this nearby lodge which offered good value for money accommodation and an excellent breakfast. This is a new lodge and the manageress Jenni and her staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weegieswinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Netherley
0.0 mi away
Maryculter House Hotel
Maryculter House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maryculter
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 28 in Stonehaven
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crawfield Grange
Crawfield Grange
#8 of 28 in Stonehaven
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lairhillock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairhillock Lodge

Property: Lairhillock Lodge
Address: Netherley AB39 3QS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Netherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Netherley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lairhillock Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lairhillock Lodge where you will find a clean modern room with a comfortable bed and a functional en-suite bathroom with walk in shower. You’ll enjoy your stay in our rooms, where comfort and modernity go hand in hand with each other. At Lairhillock Lodge we know you want your stay with us to be hassle free, that’s why we keep it simple. This means you get a good night’s sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lairhillock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lairhillock Lodge Netherley, UK - Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing