We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year newbuild”
Review of Lairhillock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lairhillock Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Netherley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed here for New Year, and i have to say it was very good. It is a recently built purpose made building, clean good sized rooms and the most important thing to tick the boxes for me, has very good showers in the en-suite!

If you are looking for oldy worldy quaintness then head into the Old Town in Stonehaven, if you want modern, clean and easily accessed then come here.

Only slight let downs could be the breakfast, buffet style, and plenty of it but maybe not the best raw materials. Very handily there is a pub with restaurant next door (separately owned i believe) beds could be slightly bigger as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blair A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Lairhillock Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights over Hogmanay. I had stayed once before when up in the area for business so was happy to stay again.

It doesn't have the typical appearance that the word "lodge" conjures up in your mind. It does resemble a modern hospital ward on first appearance! The decor is minimal but functional. Rooms are spacious and comfortable although, like other reviewers have said, the tv could be slightly bigger. The bathroom was spotless but does have a sensor light that goes off with inactivity so I did fund myself in the dark at one point after simply standing enjoying the large shower.

Breakfast is done as a buffet rather than cooked to order, which isn't to everyone's taste, but it does mean you can have as much or as little as you want. Housekeeping are discreet and will normally sneak into your room to straighten the bed etc while you're having breakfast.

There isn't any entertainment in the hotel beyond the lounge with tv, PC and vending machine but the Lairhillock Inn next door does lovely food and is very comfortable to spend the evening in.

Stonehaven is 6 miles away and we had a lovely time at the Hogmanay celebrations and enjoyed being able to come back out of town for bed! We also stayed over on 1st January and were the only guests! With the owners living next door it did seem a little eerie to be there on our own, especially as all the lights in the lodge are on sensors. But it was very peaceful.

All in all, I would stay again but you definitely need a car to be able to get out and about.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingerbelle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This randomly located hotel was surprisingly busy and really rather good.
The modern purpose built hotel located between a house and the pub/restaurant offers a good value stop over.

Helpful and friendly check in with some useful information and shown to my room.
The room was spacious very clean and modern with tv, tea making and a good bathroom. There was some noise from the room next door which was surprising for such a modern building.

The breakfast would benefit from a few easy improvements but was ok overall.
I ate in the restaurant across in the other building. I really enjoyed it here, nice and warm on a cold night with real fire, some good beers, pleasant atmosphere and very good service. The food was very good.

Would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

If you are seeking a remote location then this is the place for you.That said Lairhillock is only a ten minute drive from the town of Stonehaven or twenty minutes from the city of Aberdeen. It is a very modern and spacious building, "purpose built". Sadly the heating in our room hadn't been turned on prior to our arrival, and given that it was the month of October it was very cold. The owners may want to consider that as first impressions last! The room itself is well equipped and very clean. If it is good food and beer that you seek then there is an excellent old inn next door with an adjoining path which is well lit at night. Sadly the breakfast is akin to motorway services with food prepared and kept under a hot plate, coffee from a vending machine and self service for toast! Accommodation is excellent but the breakfast is not worthy of £40 per night per person. Just a liitle safety note, the escape plan on the back of the room door has a very little drawing of the building which would be useless if ever needed (hopefully never). I am surpised the regulatory authorities allowed it to pass.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My partner and i really enjoyed out recent weekend stay at the Lodge. Front of house staff were extremely friendly and accommondating and the breakfast offered something to everyone. The lodge was simple but the rooms had everything you needed, they were large, modern and clean. We would recommend the Lodge to our friends.

Only negative would be the tv could be heard in the next room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Have just spent a three night stay in this hotel. A family run hotel with the owners living in the house next door. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. The shower was powerful and hot water plentiful. The only thing that bothered me was that there were no drawers in the room and no doors on the wardrobes. The first room we were shown to had a very wobbly toilet seat. Moving us was no problem and we were given wine chocolate and crisps as a 'sorry'! Breakfast was good but some items were cold. This is perhaps something that should be looked at. Staff were all cheery and helpful. The inn next door was excellent for food too! Will use this hotel again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firball2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Booked in here at last minute on way home from a few days in Glasgow. Wish I'd booked sooner as price had increased from when I originally looked well in advance (£60 to £85). However still relatively reasonable for Aberdeen (or near Aberdeen) prices midweek. Quite a new property, very clean, modern décor and furnishings but a bit bland. No artwork in room to break the plainness (and believe me I normally like things very minimalistic). Very small TV in our room but this may vary as I noticed someone else said they had a big TV. Very quiet location which should have ensured good sleep quality, however the partition walls must be very thin as I was kept awake with noise from the adjoining rooms (TV and resident voices from one side and snoring from the other). Also the fan in the shower room automatically comes on, as does the lights when you walk in so I also heard this from the adjoining rooms in the middle of the night. We had just come from the Hotel Indigo in Glasgow which only cost £109 for DINNER/B & B so it was a hard act to follow as the luxury/comfort/quietness (despite being in the centre of Glasgow) could not be compared with at all. Having said this, Aberdeen and surrounding area prices seem to be much more expensive and this was the best overall value we could get for this particular date. Breakfast was OK but I agree with many of the other comments, the bacon WAS like cardboard. Apart from the 17 or so rooms and breakfast dining room, there was also a residents lounge with free access to one pc, a larger TV on the wall than in our room, a snack/drink machine and some tables and chairs. Again very bland but very clean. The only other facility is the Inn next door which we didn't visit but is apparently quite good for food etc. I believe this is a separate enterprise. My opinion is that it's fine for a one night stay when passing through but not much to do here for a longer period and quite out of the way if you don't have a car (one couple arrived by taxi with very large cases). Beds/bedding were comfy although just double and not king size.

Room Tip: At end of building so you only have one neighbour to hear through partition wall.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelasmith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Netherley
0.0 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
486 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
0.0 mi away
Crawfield Grange B&B
Crawfield Grange B&B
#6 of 27 in Stonehaven
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 27 in Stonehaven
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodside of Glasslaw Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lairhillock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairhillock Lodge

Address: Netherley AB39 3QS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Netherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Netherley
Price Range: £60 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lairhillock Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lairhillock Lodge where you will find a clean modern room with a comfortable bed and a functional en-suite bathroom with walk in shower. You’ll enjoy your stay in our rooms, where comfort and modernity go hand in hand with each other. At Lairhillock Lodge we know you want your stay with us to be hassle free, that’s why we keep it simple. This means you get a good night’s sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lairhillock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lairhillock Lodge Netherley, UK - Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing