We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Accomodation”
Review of Pine Cliff Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Cliff Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Location and Accomodation”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very clean and well kept cottages. Friendly and helpful owners and staff. Many hours spent at the beach with kids playing on the inflatable trampolines. Indoor pool adds a nice option for cooler days or when people need a break from the sun. My children would have liked greater WiFi access.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We wanted to experience Canadian cottage country and the wonders of Algonquin Park but with indoor pool and games facilities in case the Easter weather was unsettled. This place was just perfect! Our cabin overlooked the immaculate beach, which we had mostly to ourselves the resort was so quiet at this time of year. The pool was very well maintained and again, mostly empty as was the games room and basket ball court. We had a family tournament which was great fun - basketball, table tennis, pool and table football! Algonquin park was stunning and we enjoyed a snowy hike in glorious April sunshine. Best of all, the sunsets on the beach overlooking the lake with a glass of fizz were stunning. Well worth the drive from Toronto! And as a family from the UK we are converted to the joys of cottage country.

I am sure this place has a very different atmosphere in summer and would feel busy but it does exactly what it should and very well.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 which overlooked the beach. Lovely in the quiet season but may be a thoroughfare in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizanddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We were welcomed by a roaring fire in our fireplace and a clean comfortable cabin. The pool and hot tub were much appreciated after out door activities. All the amenities of a big name resort but hidden away. Very relaxing and a great place to just chill.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobThomas90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We rented Cottage 1 for a couple of nights in September. We arrived fairly late one evening; it was dark and raining fairly hard.
When daylight came, we were able to see what a lovely spot we had chosen. The site wasn't very busy (it was out of season, and midweek), but the people we did see were very friendly and welcoming. The site has a nice beach, and some lovely views across a lake; we waited for sunset and were rewarded with some nice photos.
The site owner couldn't have been more helpful; we had a problem with one of the door locks which was taken care of immediately; we were left with the impression that nothing was too much trouble.
One thing we found a little strange; the dividing wall between two of the bedrooms didn't meet the ceiling; one was aware that every sound could be heard by the occupants of the room next door. This only applied to two of the rooms, all the others were fine.
Overall, we enjoyed our brief stay and would love to go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We rent a cottage here for 1 week every year. Members of our extended family have been coming here for over 20 years. We have been to other places, but they pale in comparison. We made use of all the activities: Outdoor activities; we rented a boat & went fishing, played beach volley ball, horse shoes, & basket ball and also went swimming at the beach. Indoors: we shot some pool, played table tennis and went swimming in the salt water pool. We looked at the fitness room, but who's kidding who - it's a vacation ;) The kids look forward to returning the next year...the same day we are leaving! Kind of says it all.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dad0ftheyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We just spent three nights in Cottage 4 at Pine Cliff Resort--which we were able to do because it's still considered the 'off season.' I think you can only get it for a week over the summer. The price was great, our cottage was fantastic, and there was only one other cottage in use because of the time of the year and the fact that it was mid-week, I guess. Sounds like it could get busy in the summer months, with lots of kids running around, which was not the type of holiday we were hoping for. We were thrilled with how quiet it was, and the fact that we had the whole place to ourselves.

We played beach volleyball (quite a work-out for two people who aren't very athletic and spend more time chasing the ball than volleying it), went swimming in the salt-water pool (the temps never passed 20°C so there was no river-swimming for us), played ping-pong and foosball, went for walks around the RVs, and played with the resort dogs, siblings Lenny and Austin (Lenny came over for steak one evening--we loved her and she loved our steak). The owners/staff were very friendly and helpful.

Definitely a great place for active families with kids. If you're looking for a quieter trip, I'd recommend going off-season--it was positively tranquil. We didn't turn on the television once and managed to get through a couple of books and more than a few card games.

I would definitely go back, maybe with family this time in a bigger cottage (or rent a couple of them side-by-side for a week), and will highly recommend this resort to others. A short drive to Barry's Bay to replenish supplies, and there is white water rafting nearby.

We stopped at the Bonnechere Caves on our way back to Ottawa, another fun excursion for a family. I also recommend the Wilno Tavern for pierogies!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

My friends and I stayed here while visiting another friend in the area. It was easy to find, picturesque location and the cottage was beautiful inside. We really appreciated having the comforts of home such as comfortable beds in separate rooms, a well equipped kitchen, BBQ, fire pit and a TV with Treehouse! The best part for our group was having common seating areas (indoor and outdoor) so that we could all sit around and visit in comfort without having to go to a restaurant or sit in a motel room. We didn't use the pool, but it looked like it would have been fun if we had. We all agreed that we would gladly stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PastyPrairieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combermere
1.8 mi away
Hush Lodge & Cottages
Hush Lodge & Cottages
#2 of 7 in Barry's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
19.6 mi away
Sands on Golden Lake
Sands on Golden Lake
#1 of 1 in Golden Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
14.6 mi away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#1 of 4 in Madawaska
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Barry's Bay Golf Resort
Barry's Bay Golf Resort
#7 of 7 in Barry's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
10.7 mi away
Sunny Hill Resort
Sunny Hill Resort
#1 of 7 in Barry's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
17.4 mi away
Goldenville Cottages Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cliff Resort

Property: Pine Cliff Resort
Address: 21 Allingham Lane | Box 99, Combermere, Ontario K0J 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Combermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Combermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Cliff Resort, located in the Ottawa Valley near the east gate of world famous Algonquin Park, is on the Madawaska River by Kamaniskeg Lake and offers waterfront cottages year round as well as camping during the May-October season. Pine Cliff Resort has a long list of facilities which includes an indoor saltwater pool and hot tub. Cottages feature fully equipped kitchens and gas barbecues on the deck. There is also a private boat launch for those bringing their own vessel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing