We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 and done...”
Review of Hotel La Pacifica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Pacifica
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Canas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1 and done...”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night on a recent trip to Costa Rica. That's about the length of stay that I'd recommend. Don't come here if you're expecting amenities. No bell hops, no room service. There's a pool that needs to be tended to, and the rooms are basic. It was pretty clean, although the power went out.
The restaurant was decent but slightly overpriced. All in all, this is the kind of place that you go to because a) you've just landed and need to sleep after a long flight, or b) you're going someplace better.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcusohicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    70
    31
    5
    5
See reviews for
58
61
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The grounds are a safe distance from the main road and secure, especially if you are driving a rental. The staff are very friendly in the restaurant. The food was average, yet in comparison with the other hotels and restaurants we dined in throughout Costa Rica, we found it wasn't as good, cost the same, and the portions were signifiantly smaller. We only spent one night there. The rooms are large and minimal in accomodations. You will get exactly what you need. Soap, towels, sheets, and nothing more. It has a rustic look but could use a little bit of modernization. You must wear flip flops in the shower!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYY_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The rooms at Hacienda La Pacifica are located in large attractive grounds with a lot of trees; we had good views of the wildlife and saw quite a few birds. Our room was one of a pair of habitationes, we had a shady tiled patio with sliding doors to the room and with rocking chairs to relax in. The bedroom was roomy with a good sized wetroom. The a la carte dinner menu had plenty of choice, we particularly enjoyed the delicious tilapia from their own estate, and the service in the restaurant was excellent - they even had insect spray on hand when I forgot to spray my feet before walking across to dinner. There were white tailed deer in the grounds, and the population of howler monkeys in the area means that they are often seen in the trees of the grounds and heard even more frequently! There is a river trail accessed from the grounds, this was very good for birds. Next door is the restaurant Coribici, they do great guided raft trips on the river.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane47uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My husband and I stayed for 1 night between destinations. We were in room 26.
The room has a twin and a double bed. We kept the bathroom door closed as there was a sewage smell coming from the shower. We could have dealt with that but upon returning to our room after a disappointing $100 dinner in their restaurant, we felt like we were sleeping on the grounds of a high security prison.
Guards walked laps every 10-15 minutes all night. We were amazed that they even searched the vehicles about every hour. I booked this hotel after getting advise on TA to do so and now regret that. I'm not sure if this is a high crime area or if we were the ones they were watching, but I would never stay here again. Plus it was one of the most spendy places we stayed...at almost $100 dollars for the room and $100 dollars for an undercooked steak and chicken Plate.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnboxermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I have stayed at the Hotel Pacifica on many occasions and have always much enjoyed the friendly atmosphere, good food and beautiful grounds. The swimming pool is simply blissful!

I can strongly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet getaway which isn't too far off the beaten track

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We stayed for 2 days, the location and rooms are perfect, the service is really poor and they don't appreciate the clients, waitresses gossip each other about every client and even talk bad at your back, one waitress even insulted us, the manager told us that we can't play in the pool and the people from reception also will gossip about you, the place is perfect but I definitely I won't go again....

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zack24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. This was the most beautiful accommodation during our vacation in Costa Rica. The rooms are really rustic and nicely decorated, bathroom is really nice and clean and you have your own terrace. We didn't use the swimming pool because it was raining a lot during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelholic80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canas
2.9 mi away
Hotel Cana Brava Inn
Hotel Cana Brava Inn
#2 of 3 in Canas
41 reviews
20.4 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
787 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Canas
#3 of 3 in Canas
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
659 reviews
19.0 mi away
Heliconias Lodge
Heliconias Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
92 reviews
23.4 mi away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Liberia
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pacifica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pacifica

Property: Hotel La Pacifica
Address: 5km NE de la ciudad sobre la carretera InterAmericana, Canas 5700, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Canas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Canas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pacifica 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pacifica Hotel is a place to revive traditions. It is also to remember our social and environmental responsibility. It is located in Costa Rica, surrounded by a warm dry rain forest. It is visited by exotic birds and deers that live nearby. Be our guest, and have an experience about Guanacaste. You will have a first class gastronomic folklore at Hacienda La Pacifica Restaurant. Enjoy also your stay taking some of our tours: rafting, floating, palo verde boat tour, agroindustrial activities (organic rice, tilapia), and riding horses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel La Pacifica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda La Pacifica Hotel Canas
Hotel La Pacifica Costa Rica/Canas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing