We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Dove Inn

The Dove Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dove Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Micheldever B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yatton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed at this place a couple of nights ago. Food was very good, lunch and dinner. Room was big and very comfortable. Mine hosts were great and friendly locals. Pool table and fab juke box. Will definitely be back for more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    22
    7
    11
    8
See reviews for
26
37
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were given a friendly welcome by the staff who did not know at the time that we were staying overnight. Our room was clean and tidy although a bit chilly as the radiators were not working properly. First class food with an excellent varied menu. One of the best breakfasts we have had at any hotel. A good friendly atmosphere and ideal for a quiet break away or somewhere to be used as a base for driving around as very remote.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HobbitLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I visited here with some friends for a spot of lunch of friday. Wow what a change from last year! Seems like the management are really picking up. The atmosphere was lovely. The staff were so attentive and helpful. Nothing was too much hassle. We ordered a variety from the lunch menu which was superb. Seems some decorating has been done since our last visit and what an amazing improvement. All fresh and bright. The food came out beautifully decorated and in very good time. Food was all freshly cooked and great value for money. With the fire on it gave a really homely country feel to the place and with duck and chickens free range outside seemed a real asset to the place. We will definitely be returning. Thankyou for all the staff and management at the dove for such a wonderful afternoon. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Marhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Dove Inn used to be a great place to have lunch when you have booked your car into Micheldever Tyres. The food was good and honest giving good value and the service was very good and at the same time your new tyres were fitted at great value for money.
I understand that it changed hands about a year ago!
It is now none of the above, the menu is limited and not particularly enticing, the food is poor and not value for money, and the service fits in to all this!
The only good thing is that the tyre service is still very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parvs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stopped for lunch at The Dove Inn, Micheldever Station today. The establishment has obviously seen better times. It is a pub with restaurant and I think some accommodation dating back some 100 years of mixed architectural parentage. The service was well meaning but best described as amateur. We chose the carvery and ordered some drinks. The drinks arrived at our table, which was already bestowed with a drinks tray swimming with liquid, they were served having been spilt and therefore the glasses were wet and 'sticky'. The furniture in the establishment was eclectic, certainly any thought of matching was not entertained. Much of the furniture and fittings were of dark wood that maintained a sticky texture.
The carvery was centered around two meats: beef and gammon, the latter advertised to us a pork. The food was adequate but some of the vegetables were not hot. The pork/gammon was poor, the outer skin was served and it was dry.

We were charged £30 for this meal, a price that quite frankly well beyond the standard of the establishment or the food.

My advice: if you want a meal go to the Northbrook Arms in East Stratton or the Woolpack in Totford

If asked to describe the Dove Inn in one word: Sad.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Was down for a midweek break at forest holidays and kept returning to this great developing pub. The chickens set the scene as you come in and a great first impression from the outside - staff were welcoming and acknowledged us straight away despite being busy and the fact they welcomed our dogs even better!! Food was consistently excellent thoroughly enjoyed all our meals (we were a party of 5 and not one complaint!) On our last night visiting we got to meet the Landlord and Landlady who were both lovely and clearly putting all they could into the business to try and restore it back to its former glory - but with food service like this it clearly won't be long until it is - will definitely be back again when we next pass!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciespoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A welcoming country Inn, very convenient to many Hampshire attractions and towns, yet come back and stay with the chickens! Brilliant !
Its an ongoing project for new owners, and they are turning it into a fabulous place!
Cleanest white linen, thoughtful bedrooms, and a building full of character.
Thanks to Sharon & Chris, very friendly !
Very good food, freshly cooked, don't expect instant ! good food takes time.
One evening 2 local riders stopped with their horses, to have a beer, no not the horses! the people! but such a sight to see, like a shot from a movie!
Yes we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Micheldever
3.0 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,098 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,105 reviews
3.9 mi away
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
Days Inn Sutton Scotney North
#13 of 13 in Winchester
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Barton Stacey
9.0 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#3 of 13 in Basingstoke
727 reviews
2.6 mi away
Northbrook Arms
Northbrook Arms
#16 of 53 in Winchester
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dove Inn

Property: The Dove Inn
Address: Andover Road, Micheldever SO21 3AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Micheldever
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Micheldever
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dove Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing