We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to relaxc”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Micheldever
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent place to relaxc”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived and checked in, located our cabin and shortly after was greeted by Kate who guided us through the controls for the heating etc and anything else we needed to know for our stay. We saw her on numerous occasions and each time she was so helpful and friendly a definate credit to the company and the site itself. We were so relaxed after two days we felt like we had been away a week. If you want any sort of contact with the outside world though then pay for the entertainment package with WiFi or be prepared to go for a walk to find cell reception, but for us this was perfect as we are constantly contacted by work and wanted to avoid it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent break at Blackwood Forest. It sounds as if you managed a complete break away from the pressure of work, which is great to hear. I will make sure that Kate sees your kind comments; she will be delighted to have made a difference. I hope you will return when you are next in need of a break.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    180
    57
    20
    10
See reviews for
286
228
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Forest Holidays never fail to delivery. Wonderful lodge, peaceful setting. Pure relaxation and escapism.

We went for a Silver cabin, usually go for Golden Oak assuming they are the best of the best, but the Silver was just as good, the only difference is the lack of log burner and towels. So no big deal and will certainly book Silver ones again in the future.

Lodge was well equipped, clean, tidy and comfortable. The site is peaceful and well laid out. The retreat well stocked.

At the weekend there we could a hear a group who were clearly enjoying themselves and this seems to be the theme at the weekends as have had this in the various sites we've been to, but it wasn't that disruptive and if it wasn't for the tranquil peace and quite it would probably go unnoticed.

We love the Forest Holiday experience, and are booked into Thorpe Forest, Norfolk in the next few weeks - already looking forward to it :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PG2013Oxford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your most recent break with us at Blackwood Forest. I am pleased that you enjoyed another relaxing break away from it all. We look forward to seeing you at Blackwood Forest very soon.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our 4th visit to the Blackwood site in only 9 months.

We first discovered the site last August and instantly fell in love with the place.

We're a hard working professional couple and this holiday is perfect for us. We get to spend some quality time together away from technology and enjoy the outdoors.

There isnt a lot to do at the site, which is perfect as it forces you to relax. Eating the delicious farm products for breakfast, enjoying a stroll around the forest, enjoying a morning coffee or evening wine in the hot tub, relaxing on the sofa with a book/film.

The staff are exceptional and always welcome us back and ask us how we are. It has a real family feel to the site and were always delighted to see the same faces on our return. We have never experienced any issues with cleaning as stated in some of these reviews.

We have seen the site in all 4 seasons and really don't know which is our favourite. Lounging on the terrace in the sun, trying to avoid the hailstones whilst in the hot tub in autumn, freezing in winter whilst dashing from the hot tub to the door or seeing the bluebells in the spring. This site has it all!

Thank you. Were due back in December, but I think we will have another trip back before then!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your latest well-earned break at Blackwood Forest. I am delighted that you have found a place that you can truly relax from your busy lives and just enjoy your surroundings. I have to agree with you about the seasons too; the forest changes and always has something to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in December…or sooner!

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My friend and our husbands booked a Silver Birch Cabin for the 4 of us for a stay in during March 2014. After previously staying at the Forest of Dean site in 2011, I was really excited to introduce my friend to the Forest Holidays resorts. The Reception Team on arrival were very helpful and the courtesy knock once you check in is a lovely touch. Within an hour our husbands were in the hot tub but noticed it was leaking. There aren’t any phones in the cabin to call Reception (and you won’t get any signal on your mobiles) so they had to jump out to walk to the Reception. Within half an hour the hot tub was almost half empty but the Maintenance Team were so helpful and were with us within minutes of our husbands returning. The hot tub needed a new pump and the Maintenance Team initially told us we wouldn’t be able to re-use it until the following morning. I have to say, 5* service from the 3 members of the team who were working in the dark by phone light to fix it for us! After such an effort I found it hard to be disappointed and we managed to get in around 9pm - it was lovely and warm and worth the wait. The weekend itself was lovely and relaxing; the forest itself is so quiet and the cabins are well spaced for privacy. We went to the Go Ape Adventure Park on the Sunday which was great fun. If you would like to go, make sure you pre-book your slot and check the Forest Holidays website as there is a discount code available which is an additional bonus. The facilities in the cabin are outstanding and the beds are very comfy. We paid extra for the entertainment package to include Wi-Fi and film selections, which were all very good. My only niggle was on the morning of departure - check out is at 10am but the hot tub was emptied 9am. Whilst this wasn’t a huge problem, a courtesy knock to check that we weren’t hoping for one last dip would have been appreciated. All in all, I would highly recommend Cabin Holidays and I look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: We had Cabin 21 which was on the end of the row so meant we had more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottie1487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following you recent break with friends at Blackwood Forest. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend, particularly as you were introducing your friends to it too. It sounds as if you enjoyed the hot tub, once it was fixed. I imagine it was a priority to drain on your day of departure to ensure it was in full working order following the repairs. Your feedback is noted however and a small word before commencing would have been courteous. I do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just wanted to add a whole-hearted endorsement of recent reviews. We stayed with our two children (both under 4) last weekend and had the most wonderful and relaxing time. The location is simply gorgeous, the hot tub was a real bonus and was very therapeutic at the end of busy days! The cabin itself was spacious (the children loved running up and down) and very clean. The kitchen was well stocked (a larger frying pan would have been useful, but this is a very minor point). There was also a broom and dustpan and brush in case we needed, and a bottle of washing up liquid although I had brought our own based on previous reviews! In terms of activities, we didn't try any of the forest ranger activities this time but did take a walk in the forest as well as trips to Peppa Pig World and JJ's soft play in Basingstoke - both recommended if travelling with small children. We were surprised how relaxing the break was given it was self catering after all, but everything from check in to check out was so easy, there's a large Sainsbury's 25 mins' drive away if you forget anything and the cabin is generally well stocked, so it was like being in a very relaxing and luxurious home from home. We hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_E000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your very positive review following your recent family break at Blackwood Forest. I am delighted you enjoyed a relaxing holiday- quite an achievement with two children under 4! The hot tub sounds like it helped, and I am sure Peppa Pig played a part too. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Every year, we have a Christmas holiday log cabin holiday. Previously we have stayed in the Forest holiday cabins in Cornwall, but last Christmas we chose the New Forest one.
I cannot recommend Forest holiday enough. The cabins are beautiful, the hot tubs and wood burning stoves fantastic and waking up in the forest each morning is wonderful.
At Christmas, you can have a real Christmas tree top decorate on your cabin, there's carol singing and the reception is beautifully decorated.
We spent our days exploring the woods on foot and on bikes with our two young children, then warming-up back at our cabin... it's very easy to barely see any other people for the whole of your holiday, so it is wonderful quality family time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for leaving a review. I am delighted to hear how much you have enjoyed your Christmas breaks with us and we are very grateful to you for recommending us. It sounds as if Blackwood Forest worked out well for you this time and I hope we will see you again this year.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Me, my husband, young daughter and Labrador stayed here as it was one of the few nicer log cabins that had a hot-tub and allowed dogs. When we arrived it was spotlessly clean and the hot-tub was ready to go and there was a starter pack for the log burner. The kitchen was well supplied with everything you could need to cook up a quick meal. The main living room area was large, but cosy. We liked the way the cabins were staggered, so it gave you a feeling of privacy when on the decking/hot-tub area. The site had a small shop and snack bar. The shop was well stocked with all the things you might need and a few selections of the nicer types of ready meals. We did, however wish the snack bar offered a few more meals, as they were really more of a hot or cold sandwich/microwave meal offering. But there were a few very nice pubs near by (driving distance) especially the Northbrook Arms which we had lovely food in a real nice old pub atmosphere - the staff were very friendly too. Overall we had a lovely break, a real get-away-from-it-all experience (the dog loved it too)!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent break at Blackwood Forest. I am pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. It’s a great opportunity to bring the dog on holiday as there are lots of walks and dogs do love forests! I hope you will be staying with us again on the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Micheldever
8.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
14.0 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,322 reviews
3.5 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,147 reviews
8.5 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Barton Stacey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire

Property: Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire
Address: Larkwhistle Farm Road, Micheldever SO21 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Micheldever
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Micheldever
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackwood Forest site in Hampshire offers the chance to holiday in one of 60 luxury woodland cabins, hidden deep in a 270 hectare beech forest. Many cabins have hot tubs on the decking! Leave the world behind as you pass beneath the towering Blackwood Forest beeches and enjoy the unique Forest Holidays blend of nature's wonder and life's little luxuries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing