We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than centreparcs if looking for something different that's cheaper.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Micheldever
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Better than centreparcs if looking for something different that's cheaper.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have only just discovered forest holidays and we are very impressed and we are not impressed easily, we wanted something convenient modern but very family orientated. This is a good alternative to centreparcs if you had enough of that holiday model? The staff are great and we did not feel the need to leave the site once. The hot tub under the trees moonlight is just bliss.

thanks for a great holiday with all the amenities needed. Will come back for sure.

July 2014

Room Tip: Golden oak is a very good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent break at Blackwood Forest. I am so pleased you enjoyed it and we managed to impress you. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    175
    56
    16
    10
See reviews for
274
221
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Peace is liberty in tranquility - need I say more! What a truly relaxing environment where the phones don't work and you can just relax in the forest and be with nature (and your family) Self-catering par excellence!

Room Tip: 1-60 lodges take your pick
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your eloquent review. I am delighted you enjoyed your break at Blackwood Forest and I do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Me, my fiance & our doggie have just come back from a mini break here. (fri-mon) the area is stunning, the cabin looks beautiful and the hot tub is awesome! The staff are very friendly & the walks you can go on are amazing! (look out for the abandoned cottage) only down side was throughout our stay we suffered from rolling blackouts/power cuts. One on Friday night, two on Saturday and two on Sunday! when we asked at reception about this apparently it was down to Southern Electric and the issue was out of there hands! although to compensate for this they were very kind and extended our checkout for an extra 2 hours. Would defiantly recommend & shall defiantly return.

Room Tip: For couples, the golden oak cabins are spot on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent break at Blackwood Forest with your wife and doggie. We’re pretty darn pleased you liked it! Apologies for the power cuts which, as you say, were sadly out of our hands. I’m pleased to hear you would return and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and a friend have just returned from a 4 night stay in one of the silver birch cabins and we didn't want to leave. everything from the swift and informative checkin, the courtesy knock to check everything is ok, the facilities, staff, service, and location was brilliant! I checked the other reviews before booking and they dont do this place justice. The cabin was clean, comfortable, very well equipped, not overlooked by others and was so peaceful and the perfect place for relaxing. The hot tub of course added to the experience and was well maintained during our stay. The forest retreat was great for freshly baked bread in the mornings and forgotten essentials and for relaxing with a quiet drink early evening. This location is perfect for visiting portsmouth, the new forest and winchester with lots to do. Go on, book yourself a stay here, you wont be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kaz_H77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent break at Blackwood Forest. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay and found everything as you had hoped. Blackwood Forest is ideally located as you say, and even London is only a train journey away. I do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We previously stayed at Blackwood Forest for a midweek break and enjoyed it so much that we came back for a full week - it was definitely worth the extra 3 days as it allowed us to take advantage of the location (we visited Winchester and Marwell zoo) and had some relaxing days in the forest. The cabin was really well equipped and the hot tub was amazing! All the staff were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Welcome back! Thank you for your review; I am delighted your week-long holiday was as enjoyable as your previous break at Blackwood Forest and I hope you will continue to stay with us in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed last weekend with my husband and his family in one of the Golden Oak lodges. The cabin was truly beautiful, well equipped, clean and very comfortable. The robes and slippers were an added bonus to helping us feel completely relaxed.

We loved the hot tub which was cleaned every day and likewise used by us every day. All the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. The retreat was great to head to for lunch and for an early evening drink before heading back to our cabin for dinner.

We also hired some bikes, which proved to be great for the tracks in the forest that were all very well marked out to keep you on track - no fear of getting lost in the woods here! On Sunday, we tried archery - well worth it and great tuition by our instructor Eric.

All in all, it was a great weekend, great site and a great tranquil escape. We all left feeling very relaxed and sad to be leaving so soon - we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you can, definitely book a golden oak, but I'm sure the others are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HFB1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your weekend break at Blackwood Forest. It sounds as if you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed some of the onsite activities too. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hastings
Level Contributor
114 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed in the golden oak lodge with tree house which had 5 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 2 ensuites and a hot tub, everything in lodge that you could possibly want, others have mentioned that it's expensive yes compared to some other lodge holidays it is, but having stayed in a few this is by far the best that we have stayed in, and will be booking again for next year. Reception were always very helpful and the fresh bread which you can pre order for each morning was wonderful, reception was open from 08:30 till 20:30 each day the bar has peroni and a cider on draught and bottled beers as well. Daily newspapers also sold here. Not every paper was available but I'm sure if you asked they would order your choice. Staff were all very helpful. I took my grandson on a trip with the ranger, we done the night vision trip which was great to experience the forest at night in total darkness, We found early morning was the best time of day to see the Deer I found them every morning whilst walking the dog, we did see them also at various times during the stay but you need to be very quite. Great relaxing holiday and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edthered7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent break at Blackwood Forest. I am pleased you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay – it sounds as if the freshly baked bread was a particular hit. We look forward to seeing you and your family again next year.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Micheldever
3.5 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,102 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,109 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,286 reviews
8.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire

Property: Forest Holidays Blackwood Forest, Hampshire
Address: Larkwhistle Farm Road, Micheldever SO21 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Micheldever
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Micheldever
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackwood Forest site in Hampshire offers the chance to holiday in one of 60 luxury woodland cabins, hidden deep in a 270 hectare beech forest. Many cabins have hot tubs on the decking! Leave the world behind as you pass beneath the towering Blackwood Forest beeches and enjoy the unique Forest Holidays blend of nature's wonder and life's little luxuries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing