We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stay at the windmill”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
La Chapelle-Themer, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ChrissieF...
Fareham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay at the windmill”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at the Moulin. Everything we needed was there and it was comfortable, relaxing and beautiful.

The outside area is quiet and there is nobody close to disturb you, it is only a short walk to the village where there is a small restaurant which we didn't have time to visit.

We would thoroughly recommend if you want to stay somewhere away from crowds and heavy civilisation. However you need to prepared to travel to get anywhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review the windmill. I hope you will come and visit again some time. With very best wishes.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally k
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful windmill”
Reviewed 14 December 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Hi , we stayed at the windmill , for a week in August ....had an enjoyable stay - very quiet picturesque village , relaxing . Bathroom & bedroom decorated to a high standard - very peaceful - a few roosting birds in attic - to be expected in a beautiful old rustic building - caused us no stress or problems whatsoever , all very clean and well maintained ....excellent location for visiting the vendee area of France , would highly recommend for a quiet relaxing holiday ! Beautiful sky , every star visible ! Found the owner prompt in any communication - thank you !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2016
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review the windmill.
Maybe you will come and visit again some time. With very best wishes.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrigFairy...
brig
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fairytale”
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We both loved everything about our stay..The windmill is beautifully restored and has a truly magical atmosphere. Waking up to the sun rising through the wooden sails was like being in a fairytale. It is situated in a peaceful village with interesting trips nearby. Really hope to come back soon. Please don't change a thing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very romantic
Liked least: Only that we had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2016
Thanks for your kind, encouraging words. I look forward to helping you plan your next visit. All the very best, Sally x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielj82
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“RUINED OUR HOONYMOON ”
Reviewed 3 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and myself have had cut our honeymoon short in your windmill. Over the almost 2 days in your property , our experience in the windmill has been very disappointing. To begin with in the early hours of Monday morning (around 2am) we heard something scratching within the windmill and went to investigate, upon arriving in the kitchen I found a rodent scratching at the side of the extractor fan trying to get through a small hole that looks to have been there for some time. Thankfully it wasn't able to get into the kitchen. An hour so later the fire alarm then went off. Thankfully it was a false alarm. After informing the owner, we were told that it was impossible for us to hear anything in the kitchen and what we was saying was not true and we were being called liars. She also said it was 'unfortunate' the fire alarm went off. In the early hours of Tuesday morning (around 1:30am) I was awoken by the same sound of scratching and walking around but this time it was directly above our heads. I listened for a while to make sure it wasn't the rain or wind making the noises and again I heard the same sound . I tapped the ceiling and heard several possible rodents run over my head to my horror. I do understand that we are in the country side and rodents are a part of life and the possibility that there may be times when they are seen on a ground floor level but being on the top floor I would not expect them to be above my head when we are trying to sleep. When we contacted the owner we were told that the noises we were hearing were definitely not rodents but birds. This was repeated several times during the conversation very loudly I might add, over the top of me speaking . I was trying to explain that they are definitely not birds and that it may need investigating but the owner was not prepared to listen to me and kept cutting me off every time I tried to speak. The fact that rodents or birds are in the attic above the bedroom is not only unacceptable but incredibly unhygienic. We had booked the property to relax and unwind on our honeymoon after a busy few months of work, study and bringing our wedding together. At this point me and my wife was so stressed and uncomfortable about the rodents we slept in the car for most of the night (something the owner added she wouldn't recommend doing in November). The general maintenance of the property was unacceptable too, The week before the stay, the owner contacted us to inform us that the DVD player was not working, we weren't too happy about this as we relax watching films, but we had time to sort out bringing a laptop with us. What was disappointing was to find when we got to the windmill after a long drive a note on the table to inform us that plugs were not working and bulbs were out in the bathroom, especially when the owner was at the windmill the week before our stay, so I feel she had plenty of time to resolve theses issues. It was a reduced rate booking but we have been saving for a while for this honeymoon as it's our first break away for 2 years and we were looking forward to exploring this part of France having not been before. To have all these problems is not what we were hoping for. Because of the possible rodent problem we took the hard decision to move to other accommodation after only 2 day at the windmill. This was taken out of our spending money that we had worked hard to save for! To begin with the owner said she will give us a full refund. We then found out 6 days after speaking to her we were only getting 50% back. She stated this was due to billing for cleaning and to investigate the problem. I find this absolutely disgraceful. This whole experience has ruined our honeymoon and were are both very upset with the way we have been treated and the experience we have had at the windmill. The owner is uncooperative, rude, frequently changes her story (she told us she was there for 7 days, but told my dad only 4 days. Told us she'd owned the property for 15 years, told my dad 9 years) and appears to have an answer for every problem or detail. My understanding is we are not the only people who have had an issue as she confessed so herself. This was NOT the romantic getaway we expected to start our married life.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2016
I have owned the property for 15 years but it was only rented out for the last 9 years.
Saying they were awoken by a mouse scratching in the kitchen when they were 3 floors up in the bedroom, and that it waited there whilst they went to investigate...is extremely unlikely! I have had the property checked and there is no sign of rodents anywhere. I have experienced birds in the roof void as it is not possible to close the space where the roof sits on the walls. The clients provided no evidence of any of the issues they have stated. I have two guest books full of excellent reviews and to have this put on TripAdvisor is disappointing. I refunded 50% and have an email from Mr Jackson accepting this. I take people's comments very seriously when they are warranted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Croydon
Reviewed 6 April 2011 for a stay in August 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rochester
Reviewed 21 March 2011 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Unique
Liked least: No bells & whistles
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles A romantic getaway
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing