We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the rice fields of Bali”
Review of Amandari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amandari
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kedewatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I visited this hotel more then 15 years ago and came back during a two month trip thru Asia in January 2013 . The resort managed to put me in the same suite I loved so much the first time and I loved it even more this time . Although the island changed a lot in the meantime , Amandari is still an oasis of tranquility , spirituality and culinary perfection . Every activity is tailored to the guests desires and preferences. Nothing but perfect in any way

Room Tip: Agung suit with private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyingplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Thank you Aman staff for remaining consistent with quality and service. LOVE the fact that I cam return in five years and see 85% of the SAME staff in an industry where staff move often to the "latest and greatest" opening.. Siddarth runs a great Ubud-centered community-service staff and the fresh blood with Natalia in the front, coupled with the traditional mainstays of Dewi, Sentosa, Wayan, Sempru, Sariyani make the front office a dream. Sang our driver and guide was the best we've EVER had at Amandari, and the updates to all of the guest rooms, without sacrificing the Balinese style village feel of the property make a refreshing touch. True, there are MORE modern properties in Bali, but those technologically-advanced places have no space in Ubud...where charm, tradition, and village-feeling permeate the place. I'm glad there are still no tvs, that the authentic wooden spiral staircases continue, and sarongs and slippers are still gifts. Our private Balinese priest blessing changed our life, and Amandari was able to arrange white-water rafting for my 85 year old companion by Sobek, the country's leading specialist, when their cut-off age for this event is 60.... Only Aman can make magic, and truth be told, years after opening they are NOT resting on their laurels.

Room Tip: Villa 15 is quite simply, the room to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank globaltravelkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

From the road that leads to the resort you would not think that a tranquil paradise can suddenly exist just off a busy road.
When our driver turned into a small street we suddenly have been thrown into a beautiful place surrounded by vegetation
The Amandari is a very small resort and that's what made the experience personal. The check in was done in the villa, the lady has explained the facilities and the activities of the resort in less the 5 minuets and left us alone. 10 minutes later, while we were already catching up the sun by our private pool, a gentleman walked in with a welcome amenity (a chicken curry pie!).
The resort offers 'pre dinner' entertainment almost daily, complementary morning yoga classes 3 times a week, and complementary transfers (at any time) into Ubud town centre. We had the chance to experience a Balinese BBQ dinner which was delicious.
Generally, I would suggest to stay at the Amandari for at least 3 nights. We also had the pleasure to meet the lovely Assistant General Manager, Natalia.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank napa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Amandari, one of the pioneer of the Aman collection didn't loose any part of its panach and it's a luxurious but discreet gem wonderfully located high up to the ayung river.
Actually this new stay at Dari is not something new for us since we stayed there several times already cause far from being a simple hotel, amandari is an authentic Balinese village offering to the lucky guests not only a very cultural experience but a family as well. Each single member of the amandari is simply fantastically nice, kind, smily and you'll feel totally pampered. All of them know who you are, what you want to do, what you want to eat and this anticipation is absolutely impressive.
Amandari provides maybe the most excellent service we saw in a luxury property. Thanks to the pretty new gm siddharth, everyone seems to be happy and the whole village is exceptionnaly well maintained and manicured. Rooms are huge, especially the duplex suites, some offer stunning views and several have a pool of a very reasonable size. I just regret the bathroom a bit tight and not comfortable if you travel with big baggage.
During our stay, all the amandari family organized for us a memorable dinner under a romantic bale and food cooked by a young and talented chef is maybe one of the best of all the amans, a pure delight.
So you can expect to be surprised by the most adorable family and you can be ready to fall in love for this very special Aman with a soul

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our 2nd stop on our Bali & Beyond trip. So different from Amanjiwo, which was fabulous but equally amazing. We arrived at the airport and sailed through as Aman staff deal with everything. We sat in the awaiting car, and then the luggage came . Fantastic !!!
On arrival at the hotel the staff all greeted us charmingly and we were shown to our Valley view villa. It was enormous!! I felt like i wanted to have a party in it !!! They had decorated the outside with white flowing flags and flowers, to mark a honeymoon or anniversary, as ours was. They then brought us a lovely type of pastry chicken pie and a welcome cocktail drink. This was most appreciated as we arrived late at night and it saved us going to the restaurant when we were tired! They think of everything.
All the food is amazing, and a nice touch in the afternoon by the pool is complimentary afternoon tea and local made cakes. Whilst this is going on the children from the local village come each day to practice Balinese dancing with their teacher, and some of them play music. very sweet.

There are so many excursions to try, that one can simply not do everything!! On our first day we took a tour with Sang our guide, who was most lovely with us, to the early morning market, then walking on from there through the paddy fields, amazing, as it was quiet and sun was just coming up, onto a coffee factory where we sampled possum pooh coffee, and then had a picnic breakfast in a bale, high up in the forrest. That was amazing. The Aman staff set up the lovely picnic seating and the food and left us to eat and enjoy the view! From here we went to the Monkey Forest which was such good fun as you can get really close to the monkeys. We also attended a Balinese Dance show in the village which was interesting. from here you can walk into the village of Ubud with its lovely clothing and jewellery boutiques and onto see the Palace. A fabulous diverse day!
On another day Sang took us to see the Batur Vocano which is high up and very picturesque there. We then went to the Ceking rice terrace, a must see, and then onto Gunung Kawi Sebatu. it was beautiful. there are many more tours and excursions that you can try too.
One afternoon the hotel was holding a Full Moon Ceremony with the priest at the hotel temple and guests were invited to join in. We had to dress in our sari type wraps and sashes, which we took to reception and the staff helped us to put on properly. They really are very helpful. It was very nice to see how they do the offerings to the gods with the flowers and fruits etc and we got blessed with holy water and rice! a new experience for us ! The GM sat with us all and its something i will always remember.
Whatever you choose to do, you will have a memorable time.( Oh, and there is a great restaurant in village called Bridges, owned by an Aussie Chef. Wonderful food also, and get a table overlooking the bridge!)

We had a phenonenal time at Amandari !!

Room Tip: i would say all the rooms are good, we had a valley view which was lovely, and close to the receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunseekerli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Title says it all but there's a 200 char min here so I have to fill in the blanks. Where to start. The villas are exquisite. The daily fruit divine. The staff exceptional. Wonderful experiences we had: prayer at on site temple, hiking down the winding stairs to the river, exploring rice fields all over the island, the food on site -- breakfast especially was phenomenal -- and of course Ubud is amazing. Would probably return. It's pricey, but these folks get how to make your experience memorable. We also stayed at the coveted Amankila and have to say that we preferred Amandari (which is rare). We acutally missed it once we left for the Amankila and also while we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ostramundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

They picked us up from the airport without queueing for the passport control and after two hours we arrived at Amandari. Firstly we stayed there for 4nights and then for 4nights to Amankila, in October of 2010.

I could feel from the beginning of the ride that something special would come up. I was right!! We arrived on the middle of a jungle and there was standing Amandari. Words are not enough to describe the location, the surroundings, the whole experience in general!!! In one word unique!!!

The room with the private pool was big and comfortable, food and breakfast very good, service professional.... perfect. Extra activities like, biking, trekking, rafting, guided visits, breakfast in the forest make your stay unforgettable!!!

The only negative I can find but I do not know what the hotel could do about that is the tail after of some employees or an employee I do not really know... Sometimes I could see them behind the bamboo fences, 1-2 times I pursued them but no chance...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konstantinosss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kedewatan
0.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
1,084 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Pita Maha
The Royal Pita Maha
#1 of 5 in Kedewatan
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#40 of 199 in Ubud
1,026 reviews
1.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 199 in Ubud
1,938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amandari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amandari

Address: Jl. Raya Kedewatan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Kedewatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kedewatan
#2 Family Hotel in Kedewatan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kedewatan
Price Range: £415 - £985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amandari 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amandari (meaning peaceful spirits) is located in the village of Kedewatan, on the fringe of Bali's cultural capital, Ubud. Perched on an escarpment high above the winding Ayung River gorge, this resort follows the design of a traditional Balinese village. Pebbled walkways link the thatched-roof suites, each of which has its own walled garden. Amandari provides a unique setting from which to experience the cultural richness of Bali's artistic centre as well as its mountainous region to the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, MrandMrsSmith, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Amandari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amandari Hotel Kedewatan
Amandari Hotel Ubud
Amandari Resort Ubud
Amandari Bali/Kedewatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing