We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY EXCEPTIONNAL...”
Review of Amandari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amandari
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kedewatan
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY EXCEPTIONNAL...”
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Amandari is a gem, more than an hotel, this is a philosophy.This is the kind of rare place where you'll have a taste of what means "nirvana". We stayed in a lot of exquisite resorts and let's say we're truly Amanjunkies but Amandari has something very special. At any time we're planning to stay in Bali, there is no other choice than choosing Amandari for our time in the marvellous village of Ubud and our last stay has exceeded, again, all our expectations:

*Check in/Service: Right away you arrive at the airport, everything is perfectly organized and this is truly the umbeattable Aman touch. Before to go though the immigration check point, a very efficient agent does everything for you about the visa process and then he helps you to use a fast track to avoid the very long queue at the immigration of DPS Airport. He takes care of your baggages and escorts you to the exit where an Aman driver is waiting. You don't have to worry about anything, just relax and enjoy... For your journey from the airport to Ubud, a very comfy limousine with Batik pillows and Ipod system is well prepared and after the classic oshiboris, your very elegant driver will offer you a drink (water, sodas or beers). It takes and 1h15 to join Ubud but if you need any information about anything you can see along the road, the driver will be more than happy to provide you all the details.
On arrival, the beautifully smily Amandari family is waiting with Liv, the exceptionnal GM, the one who makes of this very exclusive resort, one of the most fabulous place in the world. But, as usual, there is always something in more at Aman, this little detail which will make the difference and in front of all these faces full of smiles coming from the heart, two little balinese girls are greeting you with flowers petals and at this moment, you have a real emotion.
After this beautiful welcome which can be better, you'll be escorted to your superb villa always with the same kindness, the same professionnalism, the same heart and you'll realize there is nothing compared with the excellence of the service at Amandari...

*Design/Confort: Last year, Amandari was celebrating his 20th anniversary but design at Amandari is so timeless... Each corner of this marvellous property is a symbol of esthetism. Everything is really beautiful and it's full of little details so appreciable. Originally built with the best materials, Amandari design is a symbol of what is Bali. This is "simply elegance" and much better than a lot of resorts who have decided to be trendy, Amandari is like a "Grande Dame" only appreciated by people who like the real life and the beauty of the world. Your villa will satisfy all the expectations and the choice of Aman not to put any TV is right... There are so many things to look, listen and do around. Why watching TV when you have this stunning view on the ricefields or on the Ayung gorge; What can be more great than listening the noise of the tropical forest... But if you really need music, you'll have your Ipod station which is really enough. And what to say about the marvellous privacy of your huge villa, with comfy sofas at the corner, excellent bed and a large private pool... This is just PERFECTION and not any other resort can rivalize with what you'll get at Amandari.

*Food: Amandari could be ranked n°1 for restaurant in Bali. On the exquisite decor of the restaurant overlooking the forest and the main pool where Balinese musicians are playing gamelangs, a delicious food will be served to you. There is the choice between Indonesian and International but whatever your choice, everything is truly delicious. We have had a memorable dinner and we really enjoyed to spend Nyepi at Amandari. Why to go out when you know the very best can be served in your hotel. And after a dreamy night, the very best breakfast will be delivered to your room from an extensive choice. We had a smmoked salmon salad with avocado and it was just great to change from the regular menu offered in most of the hotels.

Atmosphere: Timeless and just wonderful, you'll have the impression to be in a family place where perfection is at every corner...

Conclusion: Amandari is each year a little bit more perfect. Thanks to Liv and all the adorable Amandari family, a part of our heart is yearly staying in this ultra exclusive property. We can't wait to return back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    31
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
63
150
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Arrival:
We had booked Amandari’s escorting service upon arrival at airport which meant that were met before passport control and guided through in a very quick way while a representative was taking care of our visa-upon-arrival and all other practical things. Soon we were in the car where cold towels, cold drinks, little snacks and a very friendly driver (who was with us during the whole stay for all excursions) took us to Amandari. There we were met by a number of staff, including little local girls who threw flower petals to welcome us. The actual check in was in our villa, which turned out to be a very nice upgrade from a village suite booked to a pool suite. Fruit, welcome drinks and some very nice local gifts was waiting for us in the villa. The villa was all we could wish for: Very charming, efficient aircondition, spacious, comfortable bed and lots of storage space for the things we had brought with us. Beautiful flowers and big, delicious and beautiful fruit display in the room.

Activities:
We had booked the classical Bali package which included one activity per day and the Amandari-team really over delivered in making our activities very special:
- I had two massages in the SPAs. The therapists had magic hands and made me feel completely pampered and relaxed.
- This first day, the driver took us to see the wood carving experts in two different places followed by a quick stop at the monkey forest so that our son could feed the monkeys.
- The 2nd day we had the traditional cooking class. It started with an early visit to a local market where we had to buy (and bargain) for ingredients for our cooking class later on. A very colourful market with lots of exciting things to see and no tourists except us. With a basket full of vegetables, herbs and spices, we were taken to a local home close to Amandari where a chef and two other staff from Amandari would teach and assist us in the cooking. All the different steps was explained for us and soon the most wonderful smells would come from the kitchen. After the meal preparation, offerings were prepared and we were taken to the family temple to take part of the ceremony. Following this, we walked back, but instead of going back to where the cooking had taken place, we were taken to a wonderful bale with a fantastic view where everything was prepared for us to be able to enjoy our own meal in the most fantastic way. A really memorable day.
- The last activity we had was rice field trekking. An easy, children friendly, trek through the rice fields where our ranger would explain about flora and fauna, make sure we had water when needed etc. At the end of the trek, the driver would wait and take us to a great bale where our breakfast was prepared. After the breakfast, we went to bali bird park which was really well done and where we had a great time – not just for children!

Food:
As part of the classical Bali package, we had complimentary breakfast which was a wonderful ala carte breakfast: everything freshly prepared to order, among which the best French toast I have ever had in my life.
Also all the other food at Amandari was great. The Indonesian food is the best indonesian food we have ever had (and we have had a lot of that). It was authentic, it was a spicy as we wanted it and we enjoyed and enjoyed and enjoyed
One evening we had booked a special meal: The Balinese feast incl. suckling pig and a number of other specialties served in a beautifully decorated bale after entertainment by local girls. Wonderful food, view and service.

General things:
- Very efficient in villa dining. My morning coffee was brought in no time or put outside at our dining bale to be ready for me when I wake up. Also all other meals was brough quickly and tasted fantastic, as mentioned above.
- Good gym according to my husband.
- SPA did not look as great as many SE asian newer spas, but the treatments I had were great.

Overall:
I had almost forgotten how wonderful and personal the Amanresorts can be after a number of years where we have been staying at other luxury hotels. Many hotels are training their staff to answer "it's my pleasure" all the time and ask continuously if you are enjoying your meal/day/whatever. The staff at Amandari feels genuinely interested in getting to know you so that they can pamper you the way you prefer. I loved to be back and this will not be our last Amanresorts visit. The very personal and friendly service where your wishes are read and your expectations over exceeded. It was absolutely fantastic and all of us enjoyed every minute of it. They know how to please adult guests and also are wonderful with kids. Thanks to GM Liv and her team for making our stay such a memorable experience. We can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Excellent service, but hotel was built in the late eighties, and it's showing its age. We were upgraded to a two-story pool villa, which was nice. Except the interior design was pretty terrible. The living room was almost completely empty of furniture, and cushions on the sofa-beds were stained. The pool is sketchy at best, and overlooks a rice paddy, with telephone lines strung across it. No TV, which I guess would be appropriate for a seculded jungle paradise, but the neighborhood is no longer that. Buildings and shops everywhere. Had a TV brought in, which made the room look even weirder. Like a college dorm room. We moved to Four Seasons after one night, which is a decade younger, and has some cool Frank Lloyd Wright-esque design, and more dramatic surroundings in general. No service there, basically. But compensates by being cheaper. And we were upgraded to a nice Riverside Villa.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Qwerty9874433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We stayed for five days at a time when the hotel was not busy,however it is a place so well designed that full it would not be an issue. The hotel up graded us as there were so few tourists ,sadly for the island when we were there. We did not expect the up grade but of course appreciated it none the less and found the effort of the hotel to look after us a genuine focus. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are a high end tourist .

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpandrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

The three nights we spent at Amandari during our honeymoon this summer will always be a treasured memory. Magical is really the only way to describe Amandari. From the incredibly gracious staff, to the breathtaking views of the Ayung River, to the soft Gamelan music playing each night in the lobby, this hotel is like nothing I have ever experienced before or will likely experience again. It is not Westernized and it is not sleak and modern, rather it is quintessentially Balinese. Amandari truly compliments the warm culture and history of Ubud perfectly (and the 4 nights we went at Amanusa really complimented Amandari - see that review). And boy is it elegant!! Like other Aman resorts, the staff is sublime and each guest is truly treated like royalty. This is a very special place and I couldn't be happier with our decision to spend part of our honeymoon here. The only downside is that after staying at Amans, we've seen the best and now nothing else compares!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

I agree with many of the other reviewers that the resort and rooms could do with some updating. That said, we stayed here on honeymoon (and also at Amankila) and had a wonderful time. Staff couldn't have been more helpful - even offering to take up to temples and celebrations during their time off. The setting is beautiful and the whole place is very peaceful. We found a real sense of staying with a 'family' and were amazed to find that many of the staff had been with the Amandari since it opened 20 years ago. We were warned off staying at the nearby Four Seasons by our travel agent who said it is quite sterile and corporate there. I think this is right - Four Seasons tend to be very polished whereas this was more charming!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

After staying in Amankila and Amanusa, I love Amandari the most which surprised me due to its mixed reviews here.

Yes, many people may find the furnishing dated but most places in Amandari I have seen are clean. Its garden and pool is gorgeous and the alleyway between villas are very charming and village like.

The best part of Amandari is the service of the staff and the tranquil surrounding. Its convenient location and the excellent driver means that you could go to Ubud more often than in Amankila and Amanusa (no free shuttle to town). Ubud is definitely more beautiful, serene and cultural than Southern Bali.

The hotel staff and Ubud people generally are the most polite and down to earth I have met. From the reception to the gardeners, everyone is ready to smile to you whenever you pass by them.

The pool villa itself is huge (although Amanusa's pool villa is even bigger) its nice open air bath tub and chairs. You can see villagers going on with their life nearby from your villa.

This is overall the best hotel stay I have ever had. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexMcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kedewatan
2.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 196 in Ubud
1,036 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#14 of 196 in Ubud
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#1 of 196 in Ubud
1,120 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
0.2 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amandari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amandari

Property: Amandari
Address: Jl. Raya Kedewatan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Kedewatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kedewatan
#2 Family Hotel in Kedewatan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kedewatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amandari 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amandari (meaning peaceful spirits) is located in the village of Kedewatan, on the fringe of Bali's cultural capital, Ubud. Perched on an escarpment high above the winding Ayung River gorge, this resort follows the design of a traditional Balinese village. Pebbled walkways link the thatched-roof suites, each of which has its own walled garden. Amandari provides a unique setting from which to experience the cultural richness of Bali's artistic centre as well as its mountainous region to the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Amandari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amandari Hotel Kedewatan
Amandari Hotel Ubud
Amandari Resort Ubud
Amandari Bali/Kedewatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing