We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$444
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$391
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$468
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$443
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
D'bulakan Boutique Resort(Ubud)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Saraswati(Ubud)
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bunga Permai Hotel(Ubud)(Great Value!)
US$28
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$744
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amandari(Kedewatan)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,678)
Filter reviews
1,678 results
Traveller rating
1,221
285
81
56
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,221
285
81
56
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsayung river pool villabirds nestour honeymoonduplex villatwilight dinnerprivate poolriver frontla view restaurantbutler servicepersonal butlergolf cartevery hourspent nightsafternoon teariceamazing experiencean amazing view
Filter
Updating list...
736 - 741 of 1,678 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I was there in december 2010 actually, and every thing was just perfect for a honeymooner and for ppl who want to relax and enjoy the beauty of ubud ,if only they heated the private pool in the villas that would be great .. and for the service although the place is very beautiful if we r back it will be for the great service we had from all the stuff,thanks

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HElBassiony14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear HElBassiony14,

Thank you very much for your comment. I am very thankful that you share your appreciation about our resort with the other travelers. Regarding your suggestion about heating the water of the private pool, this is not yet planned but this is something that we still want to consider. Thank you again for your review and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at Kupu Kupu Barong.

Sincerely,

Kadek
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have been to Bali many times over the past many years but no other hotels left us with a lasting impression than Kupu Kupu Barong. We stayed in Ayung Club Villa during our first stay and we wanted to have the same room again during our second visit at Kupu Kupu Barong. When we checked in, we noticed the layout and furniture were different so we requested the front desk to check their record if this was the room we stayed in last time. While they were checking, they told us that we have to pay for the upgrade if indeed the previous room that we stayed in is the club villa. We told them we are okay to pay the difference as long as we get back the same room we stayed in 4 years ago.

We left the front desk while they were checking and went for our lunch outside the hotel. When we returned 2hours later, the front desk gave us the new key as they have moved our luggage to the same room that we stayed before ( they found our record!) and told us that they have given us a complimentary room upgrade, nice surprise!

We were so happy to be in the same big spacious room with a wonderful view of the Ayung river. The room comes with complimentary afternoon tea but we realized we missed the timing so instead we prepared our coffee in the room. We called the service desk to bring us some fresh milk for our coffee. When the staff came with the milk 15 mims later, she apologized for making us wait as she was waiting for the kitchen to prepare a special cake for our return visit to the hotel. We were so touched by the kind gesture from the hotel!

We ordered room service for our dinner and the food is extremely tasty and well presented. Though Kupu Kupu Barong food is not cheap, but given that we frequently come across disappointing food in hotels, we felt it was worth the price given the quality of food was good.

Not only were we impressed by the beautiful room layout and serene surroundings of the hotel, the extra human touch and sensitivity of its staff truly makes this hotel a real star! We left the hotel with a even more beautiful memory than our first! Good job Kupu Kupu Barong ;)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joy-holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Joy-holiday,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are glad to know that one more time you enjoyed your stay at Kupu Kupu and that you even preferred your second stay. This means a lot to us, because we understand that even after one time, the Hotel still has lots of surprises to offer.
We really focus our work on the quality of our service and reading such a review is always giving us more and more happiness and motivation to exceed guest's expectation.

We will be of course more than happy to welcome you back for a third time to your second home Kupu Kupu Barong.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Kadek
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Bagi yang ingin memiliki pengalaman menginap di hotel tradisional khas bali ubud kupu-kupu barong adalah jawabannya. Kami memang berencana ke ubud dan tidak sengaja mendapatkan tawaran dari teman yang tidak jadi menggunakan paket honeymoonnya. Ketika sampai di hotel kami di sapa dengan sangat ramah oleh staffs, dan proses check in yang tidak terlalu lama kami menunggu sambil memandangi pemandangan hijau di depan kami, kami menginap di duplex vila no.3, kesan pertama vila ini sangat tradisional dan bernuansa kayu, kami memiliki private pool di depan kamar kami dan perlengkapan mandi yang cukup baik. kekecewaan kami ketika menemukan closet tidak stabil, dan goyang bila dipakai, tidak terdapat bidet maupun jetwasher, kami telah menyampaikan kepada PR hotel pada saat breakfast semoga ini segera diatasi karena menimbulkan ketidaknyamanan. siaran televisi jg kadang hilang dan muncul pada waktu kami menginap disana. Sarapan kita dapat memilih american, continental dan asian cuisine dan kami merasa rasa masakannya kurang enak dan fruit salad nya juga tidak segar seperti buah yang direndam. Diantara kekurangan tersebut kami memiliki kesan baik terhadap pelayanan yang sangat ramah dari staff-staff di hotel tersebut, semuanya sangat ramah dan terdapat PR yang bertanya kepada kami setiap pagi bagaimana liburan kami di hotel ini. Semoga ulasan ini bermanfaat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsriandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014
Google Translation

Dear Mrs. Riandy,
Terimakasih atas ulasan ibu selama tinggal di hotel kami yang tentunya sangat bermanfaat untuk kemajuan hotel kami dimasa mendatang,

Kami minta maaf apabila closetnya tidak stabil pada saat digunakan, engineering team kami sudah menangani dengan mengencangkan scrup closet tersebut, dan kami akan memasang jet washer diseluruh villa, yang mana pada saat ini kami perioritaskan di Club villa kami.

Mengenai fruit salad team kami mempersiapkan ala minute dengan buah yang fresh dan dengan cara penyajiannya dituangkan sedikit orange juice untuk memperkuat aroma buah tersebut, sehingga fruit salad kelihatan seperti terendam, terimakasih sekali atas ulasannya fruit salad ini dan tentunya kami akan membahas hal tersebut dengan team kami yang mana team di dapur kami di pimpin oleh local chef yang handal.

Sekali lagi kami mohon maaf atas ketidak nyamanan selama menginap di hotel kami.


Salam hangat,
Kadek Merta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Spent 3 of my 6day honeymoon trip to Bali here. A bit far from the Ubud Palace/marketplace and even from the main road. But the villas, the comfort and the surroundings make up for it. Breakfast choices are limited but really good.
I pre-booked for the Romantic Dinner, though pricey, the food and the ambience was totally worth it. The chef personally attended to us and ensured everything was as its best.
We used the Hotel cabs for our day trips. The driver who came with us on the first day spoke better English and was very helpful.

The room was decorated tastefully. The huge TV on the living room was good. The thing that killed everything else is the view onto the river near by. I was actually a bit surprised there weren't much insects around causing any inconvenience. One small inconvenience was the lack of enough charging points.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thanashyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Thanashyam,

One more time, let me congratulate you for your honeymoon.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced nice moments like the Romantic Dinner and could enjoy our shuttle service to Ubud. I will ensure that the staff know about it.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the lack of charging points, this will definitively help us to improve our service. We will provide some at the lobby and our butlers will be ready to assist our guest’s needs.

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Kadek
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My frind and I stayed at Kupu Kupu Barong from Mar.1 to Mar.3. We love EVERYTING at Kupu Kupu. Villa No.2 is amazing, it has privacy, great view and it is close to lobby area. The room is not big or grand, but it is very comfortable and lovely. The building is bali style, the traditional decoration and modern equipment makes it perfect. Love the bed, sofa bad, bath tub and flat TV.

Since it is in forest, we had concerns about the insects. And we did find many big ants on the balcony, but the room is clean. The staffs did the room twice a day. When we had dinner, they came to close all windows, drew the curtains and lighted the mosquito dispeller.

The staffs are very nice and friendly. One day we went back the villa and found a chain of keys is left on our door, fortunately people pass by cannot see it. I hope the staffs to be more careful. Besides this, the service is excellent.

The food is a surprise. I did not have high expectation for restaurant in hotel. But it turns out pretty good. Everything tasted fresh and good, and price is reasonable.

We enjoyed a free spa, which is great. We both thought it is better than Banjar. Wifi worked well. Free shuttle bus to Ubud center every hour till 5PM, and the driver provided good suggestion.

What a wonderful place! I will come back!

Room Tip: Villa 2 is great, but not for swim. Villa 4 have a big pool, but not very private, good choice for family with children.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janee5012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Janee5012,

Thank you so much for your very nice review.

It is always such a pleasure to know when one of our Guests really liked and enjoy your stay at Kupu Kupu Barong.

Regarding your keys incident, this seems to look like an exceptional absent-mindedness, but I will ensure that this mistake does not happen again.
We never stop to focus on our services' improvements and I would like to thank you for giving us the chance to benefit from your feedback.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed our food at La View Restaurant and your massage at our Mango Tree Spa by l'Occitane.

We hope to see you again during your next visit to Bali.

Sincerely,

Kadek
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews