We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Saraswati(Ubud)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,654)
Filter reviews
1,654 results
Traveller rating
1,203
282
79
55
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,203
282
79
55
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsayung river pool villabirds nestour honeymoonduplex villatwilight dinnerprivate poolriver frontla view restaurantbutler servicepersonal butlergolf cartevery hourspent nightsafternoon teariceamazing experiencean amazing view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
664 - 669 of 1,654 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Kupu Barong after spending a week in Seminyak. We were excited to spend a few nights relaxing in this beautiful location and in the newly opened jungle retreat before heading home.
However from the outset things didn't go well. It took over an hour to check in and their was a communication barrier which was frustrating. The jungle retreat was still under construction on our arrival when it was suppose to be completed prior. The room was unfinished (toilet door wouldn't close, rendering on walls not complete and the air conditioner was leaking all over the floor, they had to come and fix it twice throughout the night). The advertised rooftop pool was still 2 weeks away from completion. Not what you expect when pay over $250 per night . After complaints to the manager about the construction noise they agreed to move us for our 2nd night subject to availability.
At checkout our bill included taxi services from previous room occupants.

On a positive our butler and massage was excellent and the service from them was lovely.

We have traveled all around the world and stayed in varying levels of hotels, we are rarely disappointed however we feel this was a continuing disappointment which has lead to this review.

Overall a let down, way over priced and would not recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Matt P,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comment with the other travelers.

I regret that you did not spend an unforgettable stay conform as what you were expecting at Kupu Kupu Barong.
It is true that the second building of the Jungle Retreat is not complete yet and that is why we sell our deluxe suites currently only under a pre-opening offer.
I assume that the different inconveniences you faced were disappointing for you, but this unfortunately what a pre-opening can present.

The price that you paid for the room only is not exactly the one that you indicated as this price was including a trekking activity for 2 persons that we replaced by a cooking class (without surcharge and value 2 times the trekking).

As you mentioned, we offered you a complimentary upgrade to one of our pool view suites for your second night.

One more time we strongly apology for all the things that disturbed your stay. We would be happy to welcome you again during your next trip to Bali and you could measure our improvements.

Sincerely,

Kadek
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon and were blown away with the room and the stunning view!!!! We stayed in the Ayung River Club Villa (#42) and it was absolutely gorgeous. The view of the river is magnificent and the infinity plunge pool was unreal! All the staff were so friendly and so helpful. We certainly felt very special - honeymoon cake, flowers, flower bath! The twilight dinner is a MUST! Also the birds nest breakfast. Bring lots of insect repellent, as it is to be expected that there will be bugs. Our room had bug spray and a wall plug. We would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KtGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear KtGB,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your honneymoon at Kupu Kupu Barong. It is true that our Ayung River Club Villas offer a very nice view on the Ayung River. We are glad that you enjoyed also your twilight dinner at our lobby pond and that our guest service reached your expectations. We would be very happy to welcome you again for another experience at Kupu Kupu during your next stay in Bali.

Sincerely,

Kadek
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We went there in December 2013 for honeymoon and we were staying at the Ayung River Pool Villa. According the the staff there, our room was the room that had most perfect view to the Ayung River and we couldn't agree more. The view was breathtaking since we can see Ayung River directly from our private pool. The food were also great, and the staff were very helpful. They also provide shuttle from hotel to the Ubud market. we love the privacy we get while we were staying there and definitely would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Ayung River Pool Villa number 28 has the most perfect view
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lilia_indah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear lilia_indah,

Thank you very much for your kind comment ! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Kupu Kupu Barong and that you liked your villa and its view. It is very important to us also that you did appreciate our services ; we accord a huge importance to our guest satisfaction.
We hope to welcome you again during your next trip to Bali.

Sincerely,

Kadek
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed there for three days for our honeymoon in villa number 1(ayung pool river). For the hospitality, we rate 8,5 out of 10 because all the staff made us feel welcome from day-1 till the last day.

the atmosphere in the villa was very peaceful(away from the main road)and the villa was very private, therefore it is so comfortable for a couple to have a romantic getaway.

The room was clean and so comfy, however, the balcony was so smelly(it smells of animals) and dirty(lot of dry bamboo leaves). So, we couldn't sit in the balcony to enjoy the view. Therefore, for us it's not recommended for you to stay at villa number 01.


Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jaka_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Jaka_17,

Thank you very much for your review.
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at Kupu Kupu Barong and that you liked your room, our facilities. Our apology concerning the smell and we found the source already, our team try to solved this matter and also the bamboo leaf either, we will cut some which is over layer on the roof.
It means a lot to us when our guests appreciate our service and plan to come back. We would be very glad to welcome you again at the Hotel during your next Trip to Bali. Thank you

Sincerely,


Kadek
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We went here for part of our honeymoon and it was incredible. I haven't ever been anywhere with more accommodating staff. Our room was done in a tasteful local and quirky style and was really clean. There is a great hotel bus service into the town where there are plenty of restaurants and shops. You can even get a lift on the golf buggy up and down the hill although the walk is worth doing for the view of the valley. It is slightly cooler up here due to it being in the mountains and the pool was freezing but gorgeous.

Would definitely recommend this hotel. We didn't get an upgrade to a private little pool but if you can they looked amazing.

Room Tip: If you can get one with its own pool. Ours had a view of the pool though which was lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Night217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Bec W,

I would like to thank you very much for your nice comment.
We are very happy that you spent an unforgettable honeymoon at Kupu Kupu Barong.
One of our priority is to reach our Guests expectations and truly satisfy them.
We are sensitive to your comment which means a lot to us.

We would be really glad to welcome you again during your next Trip Bali.

Sincerely,

Kadek
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews