We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$452
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$405
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$585
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$473
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$288
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
D'bulakan Boutique Resort(Ubud)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Saraswati(Ubud)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bunga Permai Hotel(Ubud)(Great Value!)
US$31
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$697
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amandari(Kedewatan)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,655)
Filter reviews
1,655 results
Traveller rating
1,204
282
79
55
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,204
282
79
55
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsayung river pool villabirds nestour honeymoonduplex villatwilight dinnerprivate poolriver frontla view restaurantbutler servicepersonal butlergolf cartevery hourspent nightsafternoon teariceamazing experiencean amazing view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,066 - 1,071 of 1,655 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2009

From: Mr & Mrs Al-Zahrani
Dubai, UAE

It was our first time to stay in KKB but the hospitality we received from the staff were truly commendable. As their customary practice we were provided with a Butler who personally attended to our needs which made our stay more comfortable. Its breathtaking atmosphere and tranquility added more spices to our romantic escapades!!

If you are in search of a very private and exclusive place to stay for a brief period where you can relax or be away from the maddening crowd and the hassle of a city life, undoubtedly Kupu Kupu Barong (KKB) should not miss your lists of choices!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beijingoct25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We came to Kupu Kupu Barong on June 2009, during our honeymoon vacations. We came all way from Greece but it was definitely worth it!
The wonderful experience began with a warm welcome of a “Cambodja” flowers necklace and a welcome drink that it was taste like paradise!
We stayed at an Ayung River Pool Villa, having our private heated pool and a magnificent view of Ayung River and forest. We dined at the Infinity Pool during sunset and it was one of most romantic times of our life… We also had a relaxing massage on Mango Tree Spa…
All personnel had a big smile all the time and were very helpful and kind. They made our honeymoon more special with their hospitality and wiliness to make as feel comfortable every single minute. Even when we had an issue with our travel agent, they took over the situation and they arrange everything for us.
All facilities were better than we had imagined, and we never expected to feel like home, so far from it… The day we left, they gave as traditional presents to remember our stay there.
We will never forget the days we stayed at Kupu Kupu Barong. And we will definitely come back one day to live again this dreamy experience. We are definitely recommending this hotel, not only for honeymoon but for any kind of vacations.

Panos & Anna Stergiopoulos
Athens, Greece

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaDespotidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I first noticed Kupu Kupu Barong from the Ayung River while white water rafting. I resolved to check it out during my next trip to Bali. I am glad I did, as Kupu Kupu more than met our expectations. The staff is very good and so is the food. This is my first holiday ever that I was satisfied just to stay at the hotel. I stayed in an Ayung River pool villa and we had everything we needed at our villa. The changing light and the quiet at night was good for us. My wife and I both said that every future trip to Bali will include three nights at Kupu Kupu.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChasKruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We have recently returned from our third trip to Bali and stayed four nights at Kupa Kupa Barong Villas. From first contact until the time we left we could not fault the staff or hotel. Unlike other places I tried to book on line, the staff at Kupa Kupa Barong replied quickly to my initial request and gave details of the best accommodation for myself and husband and our twin daughters aged ten. We booked a two room villa with its own plunge pool and outdoor, but covered marble bath and bathroom. We were collected from the airport and transported in complete comfort (iced towels and cool drinks) to the villas after arriving late at night. The girls were amazed at how beautiful the accommodation was, they had the whole downstairs floor with easy access to the plunge pool and we had a king sized bed upstairs. When we arrived the bed had a huge welcome sign made of rose petals on the bed - it was all like something out of a fairy book. Nest day we enjoyed a gorgeous breakfast which was included in the rate and took free shuttle into Ubud. We spent the afternoon in lovely pool and were treated like royalty by G'day the pool bar attendant and our personal butler Saustiker.

The hotel has lots of lovely features, the restaurant is great and not too expensive, every afternoon they serve free afternoon tea, including cakes, sandwiches and pastries and fresh juice or tea and coffee. All staff including the gardeners were always saying hello and happy to help.

We would stay here again. We think the hotel is suited to couples or couples traveling together and small families who are looking for something special and whose children are happy to experience something a little quieter that a big resort type hotel. You would probably be best here with a stay of around four days to a week, but depends on personal preference, thee is plenty to do if you want to explore.

The best part was definitely the outstanding accommodation and service.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fender101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We are a Danish family of 4 - 2 teenagers - who has spent 3 days in villa 27 og 28. We had the most wonderfull view of Ayung River and the rice-fields below. We enjoyed the luxurious Villa with our own pool, cooking class with the hotel-chef, treatment in the tree spa, breakfast in the villa or at the restaurant and the butlers, who took care of all our needs. The staff were all very kind and took very good care of us. The teenagers were glad to have acces to the internet, but it was a bit slow.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berg-nielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews