We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$446
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$401
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$470
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$443
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
D'bulakan Boutique Resort(Ubud)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Saraswati(Ubud)
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bunga Permai Hotel(Ubud)(Great Value!)
US$28
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$689
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amandari(Kedewatan)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,676)
Filter reviews
1,676 results
Traveller rating
1,220
284
81
56
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,220
284
81
56
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsayung river pool villabirds nestour honeymoonduplex villatwilight dinnerprivate poolriver frontla view restaurantbutler servicepersonal butlergolf cartevery hourspent nightsafternoon teariceamazing experiencean amazing view
Filter
Updating list...
1,076 - 1,081 of 1,676 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My husband and I visited this hotel to begin our Eastern experience and I was wowed from the start! We both travel frequently but the room was something else! We had a private plunge pool, fantastic views across the Ayung river valley from our balcony, an inside sitting area, huge bathroom with rose petals in the bath (!), and gorgeous bed, again, sprinkled with rose petals! The butler service made it even more relaxing and right from our welcome by the incredibly friendly staff, with a flower garland, I knew we'd enjoy it here. The restaurant and dining experience is excellent, spa facilities brilliant and the hotel being a short distance from the beautiful Ubud, you really couldn't ask for more. I would highly recommend this hotel; we loved it. Thank you KKB!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Han A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

it's a charming hotel with a fantastic view of the tropical forest.
people are very friendly
The Spa is the best in the world I've ever done,
I've done 6 treatments (once per day ) in the SPA and my favorite is the one in the top of the mango tree at sun set. Very professional !
the restaurant is excellent with a breathtaking view.
The reception is very nice. Villas are magnificent and comfortable. Sophisticated decoration.
The staff is very kind and your butler proposes you every day full of activites to make you discovering the area. Not the time to miss in ubud!
The best hotel I've made.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kercoquen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Very nice villas.. and dedicated butler service.. nice private getaway..

the staff goes out of their way to help u and make ur stay comfortable..

Nice spa too.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaulikThakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

It was a fantastic experience. We never experience such beautiful place before. The surrounding with nature is unbelievable, the service perfect and the spa fantastic.
We stayed for 2 nights for our honeymoon and the staff, especially butlers did their best to satisfy all our request. We had the surprise t have a flower bath in our villa and a nice cake as honeymoon gift.
We highly recommend this hotel. We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danmel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We booked to go and stay at Kupu Kupu for the first 4 days of our honeymoon. We were looking for the Wow factor and having read many other reviews on here and having looked on the website we were confident the resort would provide this.
We upgraded from our orginal booking of the Duplex Villa to an Ayung River Pool Villa to make the honeymoon as special as possible. I had been in contact with the management at the hotel for months in advance and was reassured we would be looked after and would be given a great room and that they knew it was our honeymoon!
On arrival at the resort there was confusion at reception as they could not find out if any if there was any rooms left! We were then told "we do have one left" and so we could "have that one" which did not fill us with confidence.
We then arrived at the Villa and were hugely disappointed. The balcony was tiny, the sunloungers were completely soaked and one was broken, the romantic petals in the bath looked as if they had been there for about 2 weeks and the inside of the villa was damp.
The next day we discovered that the villa gets no sunlight throughout the day and so is always dark. Therefore we could not spend the day there and instead had to use the communal pool, so we did not really need or use our plunge pool. Also it meant the sunloungers never dried out throughout our 4 days stay.
We had been told that we had a "butler" for our stay who was to look after us, after he showed us around the villa, we never saw him again?
Whilst the room was such a huge disappointment (it looks NOTHING like the website!!) the staff were excellent, they were smart, efficient, polite and very very welcoming.
Unfortunately our next hotel was booked up otherwise we would have left early if we could as it was an expensive and disappointing start to a honeymoon.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonKelster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews