We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under New Management”
Review of Hotel Pelagos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pelagos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agios Minas
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Since Sept. 25, 2011 - The Hotel has come under new management - Staff has changed; and furnishings, food and wine services have been improved --- This should be noted in relation to some of the bad reviews posted previously -----It should also be noted that Agios Minas (Saint Minas) is a beachfront resort area in the city and municipality of Chalkida Evia in Greece.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea, the higher the better view. There are four levels
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
4  Thank tomravenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

Our 3 day trip here was exceptional. I had visited this hotel several times in the past on seminars or business meetings years back. We wanted to relax this time, and at the same time not go too far from where we live. A look on the reviews on TripAdvisor made me hold back at first, but in the end I booked out of curiosity.

I find the bad comments on TripAdvisor totally unfair, and I truly believe they come from people who want to harm the hotel; from people who really don’t know what they want, or are never satisfied with anything, no matter what! So, I urge people not to trust anonymous comments, especially if they come from those who have one or two reviews only. It is obvious why they do it.

Pelagos is an old hotel but it is a hotel that will never lose its good-will no matter what! It is ideally situated only 4 kms from Chalkida on a hill overlooking the open sea. The word “pelagos” actually means open sea and the views from up there, are breathtaking. There are several fish restaurants within a short distance, less than a mile.

Our room #219 was normal in size very clean and comfortable with all the necessary amenities of a 4* hotel. The balcony was big with a marble table and two chairs and we could see the open sea and the beautiful gardens with palm trees, oleander plants, olive and pine trees, and colorful bougainvilleas. The chapel of the hotel is in the garden for couples who wish to get married here. The décor in the room was simple but stylish. The bathroom was not big but clean with bright white towels and a bathroom robe found in the big wardrobe. There was a mini bar with a bottle of cold water as a treat from the hotel, and a bottle of home-made liqueur. There was a safe, and different toiletries, even a jar with cotton and a razor, a brush for clothes and shoe polish. There was an electric mosquito repellent, but throughout our stay we did not see a single mosquito in the round area.

There is an outdoor Jacuzzi by the swimming pool but since there was the beautiful sandy beach below which we could not resist, we skipped it completely. I have to mention that the sound of the waves on the coast could be heard in our room each night and it was magic. For this reason we kept the balcony door wide open and there was no need to have the air conditioning on.
The grounds are clean and cared and the boys at the swimming pool bar area, Stelios and George were professionals, extremely helpful and very polite. You will find local cuisine mostly here and we had lunch at the hotel each day. Fotini, the young lady at the reception desk, Dimitra and Rena the two ladies who cared for our breakfast each morning, surely do their work well. They were always with a smile and ready to help.

The owners Mr. and Mrs. Alexandrou are noble people and they seem to be loveable and this is something I noticed through our short stay. People keep coming back and I came across many who are customers for more than 15 years. In some months from now the hotel is going to change hands and the children and relatives are going to takeover the business and I truly want to visit it again when this happens. I am anxious to see the difference.

Breakfast was more than adequate with all sorts of different things to choose from. I loved the fresh thick orange juice each morning, and my French coffee. There were different home made marmalades, crisps and crackers, a variety of bread and cheese, honey with walnuts, boiled eggs but not omelettes. If you want an omelette you are charged some extras. The room does not include coffee or tea facilities so you can order for 3 euro. Internet connection is however free of charge.

The hotel looks like an Art gallery, thanks to Mrs. Fani the owner and heart of the business in all these years. I really don’t know why this might bother some people. It is done with style and love and somebody would expect to hear only positive comments. It shows the sensitive side of a noble lady who adores art and beauty.

I recommend the hotel to people of all ages who love good local food and want to find tranquility and enjoy the Greek hospitality. Try the hotel’s wine if you come here. I wish I could spend more days and I would love to visit it again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We stayed at the hotel at last weekend of august' 10.
The decoration was absolutely bad taste and you could see everywhere photo frames and various old items inside room which were put to make atmosphere look like home but instead made it very bad taste.
The breakfast is not a breakfast at all you have a choice of 4-5 types of bread which is 3-4 days old the best and cheese and ham together with flies and insects which are all over the hotel breakfast room.
The pool is inadequate and poor and the beach aside is not so nice...i would not go to swim there.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antonchalat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Falsely advertised on their website as a friendly hotel the minute you aproach the reception you get treated like dirt! The decoration of the hotel is beyond tacky, the facilities seem to be very old, so you can imagine the smell inside, the hotel staff is totally unprofessional and very unfriendly, the hotel comprises of a maze of corridors and there is no one around to offer directions. The location and the view is very nice but the pool and beach are barely ok!! The restaurant bar and breakfast lounge is horrible and the breakfast itself hardly matches a four star hotel. The town of Chalkida is hardly 3Km away as advertised, its more like 13Km away, so don't try it on foot!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank savman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

Clean rooms and restaurant but the most bixxare decoration i have ever seen.The hotel seemed like an antique shop whith millions of old things everywere.. From statues to photo frames ans pictures....In any case i thought it was quite expensive for what it offered.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marikoThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

outstanding location of that hotel makes all disadvantages much more smaller. It is situated on a small hill facing small but romantic beach. Room service was good. Don't like the food. It was a little bit ordinary for me. It is a place for quitet weekend

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_from_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Πέτρος Σ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Minas
0.4 mi away
Almira Mare Hotel
Almira Mare Hotel
#3 of 6 in Khalkis
56 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paliria Hotel
Paliria Hotel
#1 of 6 in Khalkis
126 reviews
11.8 mi away
Palmariva  Beach Bomo Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hara Hotel
Hara Hotel
#2 of 6 in Khalkis
70 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lucy Hotel
Lucy Hotel
#4 of 6 in Khalkis
154 reviews
14.0 mi away
Grand Bleu Beach Resort
Grand Bleu Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Eretria
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelagos

Address: Agios Minas 341 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Greece > Euboea Region > Agios Minas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agios Minas
Price Range: £94 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pelagos 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pelagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing