We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walworth
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding venue”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding here on 16th August 2014. The staff are amazing, and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble in the run up and on the day. Our guests have all commented on what a lovely venue it was and how the rooms were clean, food was fantastic and how seamless the day was.

We stayed in the Ascough Suite which was lovely. Four poster bed and everything you could need. Very clean and very cosy.

In the months leading up to the wedding we visited the castle quite often to show people where it was and on each occasion we stayed for the carvery, which has be said is amazing. Fabulous value for money and really tasty. Everyone we have taken there has been very impressed with the food.

Our main contacts for the wedding were Lou and Surinder who were most helpful. A special thank you to them for helping us to have such a fantastic day. We can not wait to go back for our complimentary stay on our first anniversary.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennybarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    244
    130
    79
    30
See reviews for
144
460
20
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed in the Ayscough Suite, and took the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast option. For the dinnder you get to choose from 3 or 4 different meals OR get a $20 Credit for anything else on the menu.
The wifi did not work at all, front desk said it was entirely down and that they couldn't reset the modem because it was locked away, so it wouldn't be back till morning.
They have a REAL COOL Dungeon that they told me is used for special events such as Hallowe'en Parties, and is possibly going to be set up for "Dungeon Weddings" in the future.:)
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go all the way and stay in a 4 Poster room.in the Castle itsself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webby56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Went to the hotel to eat several months ago and was very disappointed. After some initial confusion, Rachel Swain, the manager got on the case and put in place a complementary meal to be taken when next possible for my family. We took this offer up on Sunday and I am pleased to say that the organisation (we were expected and a table was reserved), food and drinks were really good. Its easy to write when you are disappointed and not follow up on what happens next - so I'd like to say 'Thank You' to all that helped get this in place.
It appears that our initial situation was a 'one-off' and this would probably be re-enforced by the amount of people having Sunday lunch there - it was pretty busy. Thanks again to Rachel for sorting it out - give it a go, especially for Sunday lunch. I'll go again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFC_1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Dropped in here for lunch as just moved I to the area, had a fabulous carvery lunch, which was excellent, I have food allergies, so have to be careful where I eat.... The food here was fresh, and tasted amazing, and a snip of the price of anywhere else ...a real excellent find

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Only called in for lunch so cannot comment on the bedrooms. The lunchtime carvery was well worth the visit. Everything was beautifully cooked and tasted delicious. Well worth the very reasonable price they charge. Full marks to the chef and the very pleasant staff in the restaurant. The building itself is a beautiful place to walk around in peace and quiet. So tranquil. Whilst meandering around the place we were allowed to take some beautiful photos using the castle as a backdrop. With the beautifully decorated function room it makes for an excellent wedding venue. With free parking a truly enjoyable few hours can be spent in the castle and the grounds if the weather is fine - as it was for us. A great place to take oversees visitors. We will certainly be returning to sample the carvery again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willum65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Went for one night last weekend. We had decided to get a room with a four poster, which turned out to be a good choice because it was lovely, quiet and characterful. We had a lovely drink in the lounge, dinner in the restaurant and breakfast was also hearty. The staff were nice although the place was full with pre- wedding guests, which provided some light entertainment. You can see from the reviews that the cheap rooms aren't so good so I can recommend paying that little bit more!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed on the 9th August to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Lovely hotel, helpful and friendly staff. Although our castle room was on the small side, you get what you pay for. We were a little deterred by some reviews but very much enjoyed our stay. Restaurant food was lovely and good value. Would recommend to others and happily stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heyjude1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walworth
20.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
4.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
789 reviews
2.8 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
764 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel

Property: Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Address: Walworth, Darlington DL2 2LY, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington > Walworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darlington's only castle hotel, nestled in 18 acres of lawns and woodland yet only 5 minutes drive from J58 the A1(M). It is the ideal location for your overnight stay and is perfect for both business accommodation, meetings and conferences, as well as wedding receptions and romantic getaways. We have 32 individually designed bedrooms and complimentary Wifi access throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Darlington
Darlington Best Western
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing