We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rockliffe Hall
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clow Beck House(Darlington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Coachman Hotel(Darlington)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,793)
Filter reviews
2,793 results
Traveller rating
2,218
346
146
48
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,218
346
146
48
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursecocktail barspa facilitiesafternoon teafirst classamazing spagolf clubfive star hotelon arrivalout of this worldspa experiencemood lightingbirthday treatdressing areastar servicespecial occasionwhole experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,512 - 2,517 of 2,793 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The grounds, hotel and spa were beautiful. The food was exquisite. The rooms were great, but the staff are what really made this an excellent outing. They were friendly, professional, kind and a real pleasure to be around. I was impressed at the standard of service provided with such great attitudes. They were as ready to welcome us and enjoy our company as we were to to meet them!

Room Tip: The grounds, hotel and spa were beautiful. The food was exquisite. The rooms were great, but the staff are what really made this an excellent outing. They were friendly, professional, kind and a real pleasure to be around. I was impressed at the standard of service provided with such great attitudes. They were as ready to welcome us and enjoy our company as we were to to meet them!I've stayed in the separate buildings before, but was in the new hall this time, and every room has been of a good standard and comfort.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

went for afternoon tea, it was a present from family for our anniversary. it was a lovely sunny day and we were delighted that we could go that day. straightforward booking. lovely greeting from all staff we met. attentive and very pleasant female member of staff, so sorry i cant remember her name. food very good, tea lovely and just a delightful afternoon. it was very clever of them to have arranged the excellent weather and birdsong too!

would highly recommend to all

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmf24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Went for a birthday treat for a friend and stayed in the tiplady lodge which is next to hotel and it was absolutely fantastic. The hotel and grounds are stunning, although staying the lodge it was equally as luxurious as the hotel itself and in fact better because it felt like we were staying in a luxury aparment with amazing views. We ate in the brasserie which was relaxed with lovely food. The spa is first class, totally relaxing with a fantastic assortment of spa rooms. Throughout the hotel and spa the service is exceptional and very relaxed, you don't feel out of place and are made to feel very welcome. Food and drinks you could probably say are expensive but this is a 5* luxury hotel and compared to other places - the service/food and facilities included in our overnight break was fantastic vfm. A very special place if you are looking for a luxury treat.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms have great views, very quiet and slightly lower cost than staying in the main part of the hotel but with all the luxury you would expect of a 5* hotel
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banno70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My wife and daughters went for a birthday treat to the spa , they then had tea in the brasserie where the food and service was first class.
We have been back to the brasserie since for an evening meal and again were highly delighted with the level of service.
thank you ,

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edward b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We had an upgrade to one of the best suites in the hotel, due to a special offer along with a meal in the Orangery which consisted of the Tasting Menu (6 courses). The staff were as lovely as last time, very attentive and having pre-arranged with the Resort Team, our ETA along with car registration, Concierge were waiting for us when we pulled up to the front entrance. We were shown to our room by Bibi - a very professional and friendly front-of-house team member.

Room (Laird) –an image was sent prior, was just what it `said on the tin' - luxurious and large complete with crystal chandeliers, on two levels. The wardrobe was not as generously sized as in the New Hall rooms but this is immaterial. We did spot some spider's webs but I guess this is to be expected in an old building, the culprit was found languishing AWOL in the bath, no doubt lapping up his own share of the luxury! There were fluffy robes and a fabulous comfy bed with crisp, white cotton bed linen and enough gizmos to keep techno-enthusiasts occupied forever!

We ventured down to the spa, pool and hydro-pool facilities. Love this place! Although fairly busy, there were plenty of guisers in the hydro-pool room, hide-away specialist saunas and igloo areas where people were disappearing to and the pool is a generous size so one can have a good swim work-out. It's also immaculately clean. We didn't feel crowded at all and it was very relaxing to be able to enjoy a lovely glass of champagne around the pool afterwards. Splendid!

The Tasting Meal in Kenny Atkinson's Orangery was simply superb, complimented by a real pianist playing in the background and extremely professional and attentive staff. Wines choices were excellent. It is encouraging to see an English wine on an English hotel wine list (an early review grumbling about a lack of French wines springs to mind, not every good wine is French!) and we opted for the red Devon Kenton - young but extremely palatable. Also tables well spread away from other diners - we felt very relaxed and the subtle lighting added to the ambience of this original Victorian feature of the Hall. Scallops beautifully executed and the duck course with fois gras was delicate and full of flavour without being `in-your-face'. Lamb taster was how lamb should be - pink and tender and accompanying vegetables cooked to perfection. Puddings: not a rhubarb lover but was pleasantly surprised by the crème brulee in which this was the main ingredient. If rhubarb was done like this every time, I would be very happy! The chocolate and cherry final pudding taster was to die for - just yum! Attention to detail just spot-on with everything. Husband is an ex-chef, very critical when he goes out for a meal and will point out the slightest thing. He thoroughly enjoyed himself.

Thumbs up to the dress code policy in the Orangery (no jeans or trainers) - nothing more off-putting and disrespectful than guests turning up in such to dine in a top-class restaurant and we aren't snobs. Other luxury hotels – take heed! A mention of staff member here was Robert Green - charismatic, lovely member of staff whom I remembered from the Brasserie last year.

We finished off with a brandy in the Cocktail Bar where the young barman was trying his best sales techniques to tempt us to `sample' the most expensive one by the glass! Credit to him but we opted for a much modestly priced but very good Hennessy.

Breakfast was excellent with a good sized portion of smoked salmon and scrambled egg - lovely and moist - no eggs bouncing off your fork here!

On checking out - we did have a slight issue with the voucher which was given to us as a present - we found the deposit for the room had been put onto my credit card, despite being told that the deposit could be used against the voucher with the remainder of the voucher paying for our stay. We were also told that we had £80 left to spend on the voucher which could not be used at any other time. However when we pointed out that the voucher would cover the majority of the stay with drinks and extras to pay, (the whole point of using the voucher in the first place!) this was resolved without any more fuss. I had even clarified this with the Resort Team beforehand with the original booking. Credit card was refunded with said deposit but I do feel this should not have happened.

This has not deterred us, we would definitely stay again but just a little more attention to communication within departments and voucher payments/deposits should be clearly flagged up on the hotel booking system.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank POH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews