We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of Rockliffe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rockliffe Hall
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel and the service it provides is top notch in my opinion. The spa experience was sublime and the food was delicious. My husband and I felt like everyone went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. The rooms are gorgeous and the beds are so comfortable. I whole heartedly recommend this hotel. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunkythunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,909
    305
    123
    35
    35
See reviews for
374
1,247
25
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

I visited the hotel with my wife to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary.
We were met by a very friendly doorman who offered to take our luggage and park our car. We were then ushered in to the reception area where our check-in was handled in a very slick manner and then handed over to Jim who personally escorted us to our room where our luggage had already been delivered and my dress suit and my wife's dress hung in the wardrobe. The room was palatial in size and resplendent in its sumptuous fixtures, fittings and decor. Every luxury was catered for with even a fridge provided which an unusual added extra and a useful addition. After settling in to our plush surroundings we dressed and made our way to the cocktail lounge where we sampled a house special creation in readiness for our visit to the hotels flagship restaurant The Orangery to sample the tasting menu expertly created by the resident house chef - Kenny Atkinson of Great British Menu Final Banquet fame. The meal was perfection personified with each course being expertly presented and full of mouth watering flavours and textures. Although the headline price seemed a hefty one after sampling the friendly, informative service from the attentive but not over attentive waiting staff and tasting each of the 7 courses it seemed a small price to pay for dining perfection. I believe I can offer that level of appreciation after dining in some of the finest restaurants in the UK namely - The Ivy, Gordon Ramsey's - Claridges & Boxwood Cafe, Gary Rhodes - 24, Oxo Tower and Locanda Locattellis .The following morning after enjoying a further chill-out in the in-house spa we enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast in The Orangery which offered us a wide range of options from Continental to Full English with extra touches such as fresh smoked salmon and ham as well as fresh pastries and fruit. Once again check-out was super swish and seamless with the added extra finesse of free bottled water for your homeward journey.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YummyJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed at Rockiffe hall for one night for our wedding anniversary and from the moment we pulled up in the car, we felt very welcome and very special! They catered to every detail and made our eveniing extra special. Staff are very friendly and helpful, our room was fantastic. The spa is amazing, restaurants exceptional and breakfast amazing!! Cannot fault one aspect of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melwood2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Just back from a two night stay at Rockliffe and overall really impressed. We could not get into our usual hotel in the Lakes so decided to try this one given the mostly impressive reports from Tripadvisor. Staff were very friendly and attentive from the moment we pulled up at the front door. Spa experience was excellent with a couple of really good treatments from excellent therapists.

Had our two young children with us and although staff were great with them, felt many of the guests were looking down their noses at them especially in the pool area despite sticking to the children pool times and ensuring their behaviour wouldn't irritate me if I were there for a quiet relaxing time.

Brasserie food was really good with attentive service but to be honest its a little overpriced compared to similar Hotels we have stayed in the UK (especially the wine, where you should ask for the main restaurant wine list which is much better and has wider and often cheaper options)

Really disappointed that despite emailing the hotel and pro shop before we arrived and then again when we were at the hotel they couldn't fit me in for a lesson so my golf is still as bad as it was before i arrived.

Final comment for Hotel management is to have look at breakfast which we felt fell short on the variety of cold buffet compared to other hotels in this price bracket. (i note similar comments on this from other guests)

Ps Hotel free Wifi doesn't work poolside!

We will come back but probably without the children to make more use of the Spa and dine in the Orangery.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed here for one night last year but felt this didn't let us make full use of the facilities so this time we stayed for three nights on the 'come dine with us' offer and are so pleased we did. We had the most luxurious, relaxing time and enjoyed eating in the different restaurants. Loved the fine dining experience in the orangery. It is expensive but worth every penny (or pound) as far as we are concerned.

Room Tip: New hall rooms are huge and well designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The spa and hotel is a wow factor .The staff amazing very friendly and helpfully . We were booked in for afternoon tea not the best for £20 pp bread wasn't fresh or scones .I think it had been pre made and just been sat in the kitchen till we came along ! But the food we had at the wedding was very good it stood up to the reviews . One very amazing place worth the visted .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed overnight as part of a spa break and it was superb. The staff are wonderful, it was a pleasure dealing with them from start to finish. I must give special mention to the cocktail barman who 'persuaded' me to try the sherbert sour (I could happily drink those all night; but apparently they are so potent that I probably wouldn't make it past three!) Our room (New Hall Superior) was lovely - not quite perfect because we did not have a balcony. Having said that, it was a little nippy to sit outside anyway. The spa and treatments were also excellent. Brasserie food very good and breakfast excellent - I tried to help myself to juice (silly me). Apart from a mysterious bottle of wine that appeared on our dinner bill (we drank bottled water, a coke and a lemonade) the food service was flawless. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurworth-on-Tees
21.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
9.3 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
12.8 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockliffe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockliffe Hall

Property: Rockliffe Hall
Address: Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees | County Durham, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington > Hurworth-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hurworth-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rockliffe Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rockliffe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockliffe Hall Hotel Hurworth-On-Tees
Rockliffe Hall Darlington/Hurworth-On-Tees

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing