We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Rockliffe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rockliffe Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Quite simply the best hotel I have ever been to or stayed at anywhere in the world. The service in the restaurants and bars was simply outstanding. In the Spa the butler looked after all our needs and the facilities offered evrything you could dream of.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are outstanding. We had a Junior Suite in the New Hall which was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,798 - 1,804 of 2,687 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

We arrived at the reception and very kindly shown through to the conservatory area by one of the reception staff. We had our tea in the morning room which was very nice and relaxing with cosy chairs to relax back into after eating a little too much at once. The food was delicious, the service impeccable ! What more could you ask for?
Thank you Rockcliffe Hall for a very nice afternoon, we will be returning often I hope.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Constantly impressed by the many little touches that really make Rockcliffe Hall live up to its five stars.
Staff were superb and we enjoyed the fantastically presented food in the Brasserie. Could definitely have spent longer using the first class spa facilities!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Rockville Hall is superb. So much attention to detail from a pre-stay courtesy call to umbrellas for walks outside between centres. Brilliant staff, an exceptional Spa and wonderful food. Go on, spoil yourself and stay here

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanForster176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend arrived at rockcliffe hall a little earlier than check in time therefore our room wasnt ready. We used up a bit of time visiting the brasserie for some lunch.. was faultless along with the service! We were very impressed. We then went to collect our bags which we were met by the concierge which took our bags straight to our room. We were guided to our room to find we had been upgraded from the tiplady lodge to a superior room by my parents which was a lovely suprise and oh my word the room was amazing! Never stayed in a room like it. So spacious and clean! The beds I must say are unbelievabley comfortable! The spa facilites were fab and I have stayed in quite a few spas and the rockcliffe beats everyone by a mile. The next morning we had our breakfast in the orangery - great service again and food was lovely! Im already looking forward to returning back already.. maybe treat myself to a treatment next time as the treatment rooms looked lovely!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I booked this for my boyfriend for his birthday. On arrival I was told we would be staying the oldhall room although I had booked a new hall room. When I mentioned this I was told we had been upgraded but I am not sure if that is entirely true. The room was lovely and huge! The bathroom was fab and they had left a card with some chocolates for my boyfriend which was a nice surprise for him.
The spa was really good, plenty of different things to do and we spent the whole afternoon in there.
We were really disappointed with the restaurant though - we decided to try the Orangery as we had heard the chef was amazing. However when the bill came to £140 for 2 people and we both left starving I was really disappointed! The portion sizes were so small that we had finished 2 course within 20 mins of sitting down! The dessert took a long time to come and was really nice when it finally arrived but my boyfriend ended up getting some cheese and biscuits just to feel a little bit more full. The food was nice but we've eaten so many nicer meals for half the price! The service was way over the top and the atmosphere was uncomfortable. The look of the restaurant was nice though.
At the end of our stay I paid for our room with cash but my credit card was still charged (for room and drinks we had in the spa) and refunded a few days later which was not ideal!
I would go back as the room and spa were lovely but the restaurant ruined what would have been a perfect trip away!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank po2983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had afternoon tea at Rockliffe Hall to celebrate my husband's birthday yesterday. It was faultless. Very good service from friendly professional staff. The food was delicious and well presented. It was served in the Orangery which is a beautiful room with impressive views over the golf course and rest of the estate. We are going to a Christening there in a few weeks and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurworth-on-Tees
21.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
7.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
7 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
2.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
898 reviews
4.8 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockliffe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockliffe Hall

Address: Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington > Hurworth-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hurworth-on-Tees
Price Range: £188 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rockliffe Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rockliffe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockliffe Hall Hotel Hurworth-On-Tees
Rockliffe Hall Darlington/Hurworth-On-Tees

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing