We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rockliffe Hall Hotel - Brilliant”
Review of Rockliffe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rockliffe Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Faultless without being over the top from booking in to out. Spa, room, bar and restaurant all first class. Staff are brilliant and natural - obviously very well trained. Setting is glamorous without being overstated. New and modern mixed with old and interesting. Car parked for us on arrival - and parked near front door on departure. Spa is luxurious. Food excellent quality along with service and setting. All in all a very romantic one night stay.

Room Tip: I think they all overlook the golf course so not an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,823 - 1,829 of 2,726 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Lovely break in the miserable bit after Christmas. The food was delicious. Our bags were stored for us then taken to our room when it was ready. We just had to go and enjoy the spa. Which we did. Best place to be on a cold, wet January day.

The rooms were well appointed and comfortable, with the exception of the pillows. If you can, take your own. The Brasserie staff were great and arranged a special meal for my vegetarian daughter.

I loved the massage and facial that were part of the deal, thanks to Hannah.

However, some problems as to what was included on the voucher we had which was handed in but unavailable when we came to leave so if you have a voucher, take a photocopy as well as original when you go. Would certainly go again.

Room Tip: Check the pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We enjoyed a Spa Day and decided to extend to have an overnight stay and enjoyed dinner with friends in The Orangery (reviewed restaurant separately). Everything from start to finish was of a very high standard. Staff were friendly and attentive without being over the top and we enjoyed lunch in The Brasserie. The spa itself is outstanding and the rooms very well equipped, spacious and comfortable. Breakfasts were amazing in the excellent Orangery and great views. Food and drink generally are on the expensive side but on a par for an hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed with my business partners and our wives for one night. It would be very hard to fault the ambiance of the Hotel, elegant, luxurious conversion of the old hall resulting in a sophisticated hotel with a superb spa. Staff could not have been more attentive or helpful and the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed.
Lunch in the Brasserie was good and again staff were excellent
Really so far so good. However the Orangerie restaurant was a disappointment for some of our party. This was a fairly big sitting of 10 people and it's hard to please everyone all of the time.
I shared chateaubriand and found it cooked as I like it (rare) and tasty. However others had the same and were not impressed.
I think this is an issue of expectation. The restaurant is aiming for a Michelin star ( or so I am told) and the foodies in our party expected more.
Take from that what you will. Perfectly nice meal from my perspective. However others would have been happy with the food had it been in a less renown restaurant. They smiley expected more.
The lobster was , I am told, a bit over cooked.
I would also very much commend the restaurant staff for listening to my colleagues concerns and doing all they could in terms of additional treats , like cheese for the table and an amendment to the bill.
Despite the amendment the extensive and excellent wine list made this a good cover for the restaurant !
Unfortunately the lack of attention to detail was still evident at breakfast.
A nice touch of the hotel reserving a table for the 10 of us without being asked . However some details of breakfast we're disappointing , under cooked toast and some requests lost in translation . Again cannot really put finger on it but it just wasn't quite 5 star , food not cold but not quite hot enough, coffee with dregs in it , just minor but if the restaurant is going to reach the very high standard of the rest of the hotel it simply has to do better. I am sure it can, it's nearly there , a superb environment and I really want rockcliffe to be a nationally renown hotel. The area needs and deserves it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Beautiful hotel in a lovely setting and excellent staff. We ate in all three restaurants and vegetarian options really let the place down. First night we ate in the clubhouse only one veggie dish available and they didn't have any. While they did give me other options I ended up with something that I could have easily made at home. Second night (New Years eve). Was a taster menu in the orangery. Two courses I was given a fish dish in error and the whole menu was just rich creamy with very little taste to it. A vegetable would have been very nice. Third night we ate in Brasserie and risotto was very nice except for the cold dollop of creme fraiche. Spa treatments were lovely but not sure I would revisit as the veggie food was unimaginative and bland

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forget_itelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My friends and I shared an amazing spa evening at Rockcliffe Hall. From walking through the door to our departure we were made to feel special. Total relaxation in a truly stunning setting. Beautiful facilities and friendly staff. Can't wait to book again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVI82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We visited Rockcliffe hall for a spa morning, treatment and a 2 course lunch in the brasserie, whole experience was wonderful from Start to finish, service excellent, spa is pure luxury and food excellent, will definitely visit again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGoody2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurworth-on-Tees
21.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
7 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Coatham Mundeville
835 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
197 reviews
9.3 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockliffe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockliffe Hall

Address: Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington > Hurworth-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hurworth-on-Tees
Price Range: £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rockliffe Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rockliffe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockliffe Hall Hotel Hurworth-On-Tees
Rockliffe Hall Darlington/Hurworth-On-Tees

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing