We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dream wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rockliffe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rockliffe Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“dream wedding”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We could not have wanted anything more, our wedding was an absolute dream. Rockliffe Hall itself is such a beautiful hotel when stunning grounds, between the bridal party we stayed in four different types of room. All of which were very spacious, clean and had a real element of luxury. The spa is fantastic and has good facilitites. The food at Rockliffe is excellent, we enjoyed the best afternoon tea I have ever had, great room service and the boys headed to the clubhouse, despite this only being a two minute stroll the hotel arranged transport to and from. During the whole wedding experience every member of staff could not do enough to help and were all so friendly. The day ran to perfection and we honestly cannot thank the hotel enough for ensuring it was this way. I would advise anyone who is planning their wedding to visit Rockliffe Hall. I would also recommend the hotel for breaks.We strectched our wedding budget slightly to have Rockliffe but it was worth it and we are so glad we did. If you book rooms a few weeks in advance you can get them for a bargin price however at full price they are still worth every penny. The suites are fantastic, we have stayed in three different suites and each has been great. On arrival at the hotel a month after the wedding for my birthday we were greeted and told our room had been ugraded to a suite, there was then chocolates, champagne and a birthday card waiting. Another perfect stay, again with great service.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,867
    300
    119
    35
    34
See reviews for
362
1,219
25
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in.
I booked the 'Midweek Gourmet Getaway' offer as a surprise for my wifes 40th birthday and coupled it with a 'Dreamy Arrival' spa package at a total cost of £370, not cheap but it was worth every penny.
The staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them and we were made to feel comfortable and special from the moment we arrived. The concierge took us through to reception to check in whilst he parked our car and brought our luggage in. The receptionist then took us along to the spa and introduced us to the staff there who gave us a welcome drink before explaining all of the spa facilities to us. The spa is fabulous and the food in the Brasserie was excellent.
Our room was stunning, we had an 'Old Hall Suite' as part of the package overlooking the golf course and like the rest of the hotel it was spotlessly clean and fabously equiped.
We had dinner in the 'Orangery' and again the food and service was exquisite we could not fault a thing.
After breakfast in the morning we again made use of the spa facilities before we had to check out at 11am.
We could not fault this hotel, the staff, facilities and food were all exceptional, its not cheap but it is definetly worth every penny and we cannot reccommend it enough.
Hopefully we will be returning later in the year for our anniversary!

Room Tip: From what we saw there are no bad rooms at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dromore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Booked a last minute stop after leaving a filthy hotel. Blew the budget on a £250 per night suite. Wow have never stayed in such an amazing place. Apart from a snooty doorman the staff were exceptional. They were so friendly, accommodating and professional. The hotel was spotlessly clean. We tried out the spa and gym - what an amazing place. Breakfast was equally impressive- only niggle is that they pour the OJ (freshly squeezed)for you, so you have to wait to have your glass refilled. Have never seen so much fresh fruit choice. I had a vegetarian fry which was delicious - even came with baked beans!, my husband had the eggs Benedict, which he said was delicious. They also serve fresh tea- made with tea leaves. Hubby was really impressed as he is a tea snob!. The grounds are as immaculate as the hotel, and after checking out we spent an hour in the drawing room relaxing. The price is a bit over the top, but I couldn't fault any aspect of the service. I hope the management acknowledge how wonderful their staff are as this really made the break exceptional.

Room Tip: Check out their website for offers. Any of the rooms are beautiful, but the rooms in the old part ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Me and My partner work hard and spend very little time really together. Rockliffe was a treat for us both
and what a treat. I can only say it was worth every penny.

We stayed in room 204 in the older part and it was fantastic. No other word can express our stay. great room great service and great attention to detail by the staff. The food the Spa the Golf all the facilities were excellent.

From the greeting in reception to check out Rockliffe is on our list to return.

If you are looking to top up the brownie points then you will not fail booking a break at Rockliffe Hall.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAGLORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We booked the couples day but unfortunately they misheard the booking date as 24 March and not 24 February so we had to have it changed, as by the time we received the confirmation there were no places left on the Monday. Misheard the choice of drinks in the restaurant too, but it didn't spoil a lovely day. Unfortunately although we were booked for 4.45 massage they didn't come down for us until 4.55 by which time we had waited in a cool lobby with wet clothing and there was no apology for this. Before you used to wait in the relaxation lounge where it was warmer, so don't know why this has changed. But nevertheless we had a wonderful day.Everyone was very friendly and seemed to take an interest in you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clipstone
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Hey, I've been fortunate to stay in some of the finest hotels in the UK and this place takes some beating - The rooms are better than Gleneagles & that's saying something.......throw in the pool & thermal suite & you have great value for money! I 1st stayed with work and now go back with the Mrs - Treat yourselves & get yourself to Rockcliffe!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wardmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is by far the best hotel I have visited anywhere in the UK maybe even the World. The hotel is run by superb friendly staff who cannot do enough to help, our check in on arrival was swift and our room (New Hall Superior) was absolutely fantastic, a massive room, huge bed, 2 sofas, huge flat screen TV, separate dressing area, a large bathroom with shower and bath plus a TV in the wall to watch while you relax in the bath and a patio opening up on to the golf course and surrounding gardens.
The Spa is very good, a very nice sized normal swimming pool with pool side bar and reclining chairs, then an aqua therapy pool with Jacuzzi style jets located all around its edges, 7 various steam rooms and an igloo room to cool off. We spent several hours in here and felt totally relaxed when we left.
Evening meal in the clubhouse was superb even getting there was luxurious, leaving the hotel reception we were taken by a chauffeur to the Clubhouse (which could have only been a 5 minute walk) and on arrival we were met by very professional and very polite staff, the food was superb, they even produced a separate menu for my wife due to gluten free dietary needs. There was a lovely singer there as well that evening which just made the experience all the more romantic.
Breakfast in the Orangery was as expected by now very good, again superb staff and a great choice of breakfast options.
Overall we did not want to leave this Hotel and we have no hesitation in recommending it as it is a wonderful place to relax and unwind. We will be back...Soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrantandMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurworth-on-Tees
21.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
9.3 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
12.8 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,029 reviews
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
1.0 mi away
Clow Beck House
Clow Beck House
#5 of 21 in Darlington
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockliffe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockliffe Hall

Property: Rockliffe Hall
Address: Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees | County Durham, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington > Hurworth-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hurworth-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rockliffe Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rockliffe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockliffe Hall Hotel Hurworth-On-Tees
Rockliffe Hall Darlington/Hurworth-On-Tees

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing