We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury”
Review of Rockliffe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rockliffe Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Top-notch hotel, luxurious, fantastic rooms, great spa. A little pricey. Tip - when ordering a glass of wine, ask for the house wine. If you don't, they give you an expensive one without even asking, at around £15 !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyHFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,970
    313
    128
    37
    35
See reviews for
391
1,285
25
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

this was a birthday treat. It is easily the most indulgent weekend away we've had. the concierge met us, parked our car and delivered our bags to the room (so glad we packed our stuff in a suitcase as it's usually in Tesco carrier bags) The staff were all attentive. The food was fantastic. The spa treatments were so relaxing. The spa had so many pool and sauna options. (not sure I liked the igloo which is a freezing version of a sauna. Each to there own! )Breakfast was lovely. We have eaten and relaxed and felt pampered. it has been such a lovely weekend. I cannot fault this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank j2cru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My husband took me to Rockcliffe recently for my 50th birthday. We had been before for meals in the orangery but this was our first time in the hotel. The whole experience was superb and surpassed anything we had experienced anywhere else in the past. The champagne chocolates and card in the room were gorgeous, the room beautifully appointed and the surroundings outstanding. The tasting menu itself was delicious and we could not fault the care and attention from waiters, sommelier or bar staff. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. My husband pronounced that if the black pudding had been a woman he would have married it! Funnily enough I understood. The full body massage in the spa was incredible and the spa itself far outstrips any other within the north east. Altogether a truly wonderful experience and one I can't wait for an excuse to repeat.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HeatherSt091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Beautiful location in an interesting building but the inside is contemporary and bordering on quirky in places. Luxurious rooms and in honestly it was the single most comfortable bed and pillows I have ever experienced in a hotel in my life. The spa was outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Just home after another stay at Rockliffe Hall. It's the most amazing place to stay with the most amazing staff, food and attention to detail you will ever experience.

There is nothing you could do to make it better, in my opinion. I wish I could keep it all to myself but you have to try this hotel and you will not be disappointed. I intend making this a regular visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Wonderful 3 night stay at Rockliffe Hall
Food was really very good -ate in the Clubhouse by the golf club and each meal (3 in total) were 5*
I imagine the food to be equally as good in the other 2 restaurants
Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and fabulous service
We have visited a number of 5* hotels and felt the quality of food at Rockliffe was definately the best
The service by all staff was friendly and faultless
If you want traditional rooms in the old hall you will be disappointed as the decor is definately modern - but it works well
The spa is excellent and the stain glass windows are beautiful when the sun shines through them.
Didn't try any treatments unfortunately but I do plan to come back and take advantage of what I expect will be first class treatments to match the food and service in this hotel
A clean , well run , friendly, helpful and 5* for everything !! Hotel
Give it a go !!
Would defo recommend a stay here .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cvm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Rockcliffe Hall spa is the best we have been to by far, I had a resurgence facial my therapist was Hannah, it was AMAZING I have a facial once a month, this is the best I have by far. The actual spa, is lovely, we used all treatments zones particularly liked tropical room with heated tiled beds.
Plenty of comfortable loungers to chill in spa and pool area. The staff could not do enough for us very attentive.
Lunch in the Brasserie was excellent I really recommend the Mushroom soup so yummy very filling,. Mum and I had a lovely day out will definitely be going back in fact counting the days.

Room Tip: Didn't stay over sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JALID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurworth-on-Tees
21.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
12.8 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,057 reviews
9.3 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,137 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
2.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockliffe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockliffe Hall

Property: Rockliffe Hall
Address: Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees | County Durham, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington > Hurworth-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hurworth-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rockliffe Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Rockliffe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockliffe Hall Hotel Hurworth-On-Tees
Rockliffe Hall Darlington/Hurworth-On-Tees

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing