We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa day exceptional experience”
Review of Rockliffe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rockliffe Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was my third visit to the spa and it did not disappoint. The facilities are excellent, the customer service second to none and the food delicious. The best spa I have ever been to in this country

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,579)
There are newer reviews for Rockliffe Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,609 - 1,615 of 2,579 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just come back from a fab afternoon here with the girls from work . Ive been here several times for afternoon tea but I thought this time it deserved a review . Although the cakes/scones are always amazing it was nice this time to get a cheese scone (for more savory) , last time we got a sausage roll along with the sandwiches but this time we got a small quiche instead of a sausage roll (which was delicious) . Also last week I phoned Rockliffe to ask if it would be possible for them to incorporate a Tiramisu into the desserts, for one of the girls birthdays . We arrived today to find it on the menu! So a big thankyou to Rockliffe you certainly wouldn't get that hospitality in alot of places. You have once again exceeded expectations :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I have just attended my friends hen party, a very civilised champagne afternoon tea in a private room. We were made to feel very welcome and the lady that looked after us today was very pleasant and helpful. The afternoon tea was delicious and we were well taken care of by all of the staff we encountered. The hotel itself is immaculate and well appointed with a nice luxurious feel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Booked a 2 night stay last minute without really knowing much about this hotel ..... What a fabulous find. Absolutely everything about it was outstanding from the great staff to the beautiful spa facilities. We were staying in Tiplady House which we loved - very luxurious. Only thing we can't comment on is the food in the Orangery as we didn't eat there but if it's up to the standard of the rest of the hotel - it would be worth a try. We used the hotel as a luxury base to explore the North Yorkshire dales and it was ideal for this .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pixcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was the second time I visited Rockliffe, after a slightly disappointing first visit. The first time I came with my girlfriend, there were a couple of events that left us slightly disappointed.
I wrote to Rockliffe and detailed the factors I did not feel were up to standard, the main event being, no hot water in our room which resulted in us being moved rooms mid-stay. To their credit they wrote back immediately and in the end, they offered me a complimentary upgrade to a New Hall Junior suite and hoped they could provide an experience more fitting to their five star reputation. I booked up and me girlfriend and I returned last weekend.....so I will write this review reflective of my thoughts of Rockliffe overall and both stays.

Arrival is a dream, very quick, professional and welcoming. We were offered a drink and then taken to the room. I have seen three rooms during my two stays. A Tiplady Lodge - which was very good, spacious, clean and luxurious, although a little bit out of the way from the main hotel and spa, which is fine if you don't mind a 1 minute walk - nothing major in my book. An Old hall double - this was my least favourite room, it felt confined, not as much space as the other rooms, it was uncomfortably hot and I could hear noise from other rooms during the night. The best room of the three and the room I stayed in most recently, was a New Hall Junior Double. We stayed in room 20 and it was a fantastic room, true five star standards. It was very spacious, we had a nice living area, patio doors and outside seating area with great views of the golf course, a spacious bathroom (tv, wet room shower, large bath), dressing area, large bed and large TV, amongst other facilities, all of which are very high standard. Location wise, it was perfect and you realise why people might not like the Tiplady Lodges as much, we were literally opposite the spa, about 4 feet away from the front door, this was very convenient and added to the overall standard of our stay.

The spa is one of the best I have been to and definitely one of the best in the North East. They have 4 or 5 different saunas, everything is modern, clean, spacious and the service of the spa staff was very attentive and professional. There is complimentary fruit juice and a wine bar so it’s easy to have a few drinks by the pool. It was disappointing that on both stays, we have been unable to find a good bed, all had towels on (even though they didn’t look like they were being used) and the second time we visited the main spa room was boiling hot, too hot for me! Maybe make sure you get to the spa early to get secure a bed - German style!

The brasserie is OK. Don’t expect 5 star service or food. It is cheaper than the Orangery and not the same standard. The Orangery is fine dining and we had a very good three courses there, the prices match the reputation, but it is quality food and service of a standard I expected. Very good wine menu also. I cannot fault the meal we ate there; it was five star in my opinion. The Brassie on the other hand, was nothing memorable.

The cocktail bar is great, great service, great menu, but again, pretty pricey per cocktail.
Breakfast in the orangery was great both times, very good, we both agreed it is one of our favourite places to have breakfast. The food is a high standard and the selection is extensive. The view in the morning and the atmosphere, it was just great in every way.

Over my two stays at Rockliffe I can say, this is a 5 Star establishment and it lives up to its great reputation. Expect what you pay for, it is expensive but it is of a very high standard. They certainly are proud of their standards and are making efforts to keep their standards high and address any problems or concerns guests raise. As with everywhere, there are things they can improve on, but overall, I would recommend Rockliffe to anyone and I can say confidently, it is one of the best, if not the best spa break I have ever had.

We will be back.

Room Tip: New Hall Double Suite - Fantastic room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just returned from a session at the wonderful Rockliffe Spa which is part of this luxury hotel. I booked for a luxury manicure and pedicure. I was greeted immediately on arrival and once the booking was checked, I was shown to a nearby seating area and waited only a few minutes before my therapist arrived. I was then taken upstairs to the therapy rooms. In an atmosphere of scented calm, my manicure began. What bliss! From the application of polish to the mandarin scented, exfoliating scrub applied to my arms and hands followed by a soothing moisturiser, the whole experience was marvellous. The beauty therapist was extremely pleasant and gave helpful tips throughout. Then on to the pedicure. I was taken to another room, again offered refreshments and magazines, then oh, what joy! A warm footbath in a throne-like chair, nails buffed and polished, feet massaged, exfoliated and nourished with an enriching cream...absolute heaven! My tired feet have never felt better and when I left , I truly felt as if I was walking on air! I will definitely return for treatment there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GwynethG306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Myself and my boyfriends mum went for the spa day as a present we were given. We arrived early to have a coffee and were greeted and our bags were taken straight to the spa area for when we needed. On entering spa we were taken to the brasserie for brunch which was amazing and very unexpected to be given soo many options. All service was amazing on looking after us from start to finish, the spa is amazing with opportunity to relax or try out the facilities. A bar serves fruit juices or prosecco for extra cost or you get served water or iced tea around the pools. There was a fire alarm evacuation which we know has to be followed but my partners mum had to leave the building during a facial, no extra time was offered for the time she lost which is what spoiled her treat as this was her first ever spa day, we did ask if anything could be done like a free drink or to take off 1 pool drink cost and felt we were asking for much more. It's a shame the service ended as soon as we were leaving. But apart from that experience with the spa reception at the end everything else was great. Fantastic massages also.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank blueeyesNortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurworth-on-Tees
21.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
12.8 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,096 reviews
9.3 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
804 reviews
9.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,269 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockliffe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockliffe Hall

Address: Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees | County Durham, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington > Hurworth-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hurworth-on-Tees
Price Range: £190 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rockliffe Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rockliffe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockliffe Hall Hotel Hurworth-On-Tees
Rockliffe Hall Darlington/Hurworth-On-Tees

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing