We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a curate's egg - good in places”
Review of Rockliffe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rockliffe Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Like a curate's egg - good in places”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was on a boy's golfing weekend and we stayed in two of the houses on the estate.

Accommodation
Perfect for what we wanted. The houses were well fitted out, but we didn't self cater. Can you imagine what it would have been like? But we did watch the World Cup

Restaurant - the Orangery
I would avoid. It's just not quite there and is masquerading as a top eatery. My chateaubriand was inedible - I left most of it. The service was erratic - some of the staff have not been trained and some have. And there was an incident when it came to the bill. This was a lesson on how to alienate your customers

Restaurant at the golf club
Good although again the service was variable. On the first day we waited an hour for breakfast. We learnt from this and on the second day, all went well. We had dinner on the second night which was fine. The service was good on this occasion

The Golf
The course is great, the staff were very helpful and know what they were doing. And after all, we did come for the golf. The golf team should train the restaurant team in customer service.

Would I go back - yes. Would I eat in the Orangery - definitely no. The golf club - yes

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samuel04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,909
    305
    123
    35
    35
See reviews for
374
1,247
25
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have stayed here twice in just as many months.....and we loved it! First time we had a Tiplady lodge which was amazing and so spacious!! The second time we has and old hall room....which was gorgeous! Gorgeous bathroom with a TV in it!! Both time we ate at the Clubhouse....the steak is up there with the best we have had....!! Will continue to come here often!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlou34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Staff are very welcoming loved the fact you get shown to your room. Our first room was fab in tip lady lodge, had seep rate seating area and 2 TV's. Spa was great too. Unfortunately the bath plug broke a few hours after we arrived so unable to use bath. We were offered a room change, however the second room was not as nice as the first so spoilt our stay. I thought we might have been upgraded rooms with moving or offered a free drink at least. But no nothing which was disappointing with it being a 5 star hotel. We had a lovely meal in the clubhouse. We went to cocktail bar the cocktails are 10 to 12 pounds very expensive and not worth the money. Breakfast was average I've had better especially at £25 each. Luckily we booked through secret escapes so our breakfast was included in the price.

Room Tip: Tip lady lodge rooms in middle of building nicer than end rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenCraigSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

4th time at Rockliffe Hall and it just gets better. From the minute you arrive you are welcomed and looked after. The suites are very spacious with lovely verandas, overlooking the well maintained grounds. The rooms and bathrooms are spotless and very well equipped. The beds are very comfortable, and the linen lovely and fresh.

The swimming pool is great for the children being 1.2 metres deep, enabling them to swim, or be helped to learn to swim in safety, theres also an infant pool.
The dinner and breakfasts are excellent and the service from the staff spot on. Everyone is attentive and friendly, and are great with the children.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Rockliffe Hall was by far one of the best Spa days I have had from beginning to end it oozed luxury and the Butler service was perfect. A totally chilled day and I would thoroughly recommend it. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here for one night for a birthday celebration. From the moment you arrive to when you leave this is truly a 5 star experience. Staff are incredible, setting and grounds are beautiful, room was amazing - huge and well appointed, including easily the most comfortable bed we have ever stayed in. The spa, which was the main reason for the stay, was absolutely top notch - if maybe not quite the best spa I've been to (aqua sana in centre parcs).

Didn't dine of an evening but breakfast was of a very high standard.

All in all this wasn't just a night stay but a truly unique and relaxing experience, really topped off by the staff. Will absolutely be returning, probably the best hotel I have stayed in, and a bargain at it's standard rates frankly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrShed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

On arrival we were treated like royalty and taken to our suite where champagne and chocolates were waiting for us . The suite was gorgeous and had incredible views We dinned in all 3 restaurant and the food was fantastic and all the staff were knowledgable about the menus and wines . The spa treatments were wonderful ensuring we were relaxed and feeling beautiful . I will defiantly be back as this hotel and spa is truly the best and every member of the staff were professional helpful and very friendly

Room Tip: All the rooms had fantastic views of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurworth-on-Tees
21.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
9.3 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
12.8 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockliffe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockliffe Hall

Property: Rockliffe Hall
Address: Rockliffe Hall Hurworth-On-Tees | County Durham, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington > Hurworth-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hurworth-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rockliffe Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rockliffe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockliffe Hall Hotel Hurworth-On-Tees
Rockliffe Hall Darlington/Hurworth-On-Tees

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing