We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Perfect in Every Way...”
Review of Rockliffe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rockliffe Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Was lucky enough to spend 2 nights here....and having no idea what it was going to be like was completely taken in by not only the size of the place but also the quality of the accommodation and the service by the Staff.
Situated in wonderful grounds alongside the golf course, this huge Hotel ticked all the right boxes.
We really Couldn't fault any of it.We had one of the apartments set away from the actual hall and that was perfect for our needs.Dinner one night in the 'Club House' was excellent and was great fun looking out onto the 18th Hole! And then spent the following day at a family wedding there where everyone was thoroughly looked after by the management & staff (well done to you all)
Breakfast was really good too (ignoring the soft toast and over done poached eggs) and so will definitely recommend this Hotel for a special occasion and would love to come back for more.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,586 - 1,592 of 2,636 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We decided to splash out for our anniversary. From arrival to departure we were treated to a life of how the other half live. Fabulous suite with French windows opening onto a small patio area leading to a beautiful garden over looking the golf course. An afternoon of pampering in the spa followed by a delightful dinner in the Orangery Restaurant. Valet parking and luggage portering topped it all off. Time to start saving to do it all again next year

Room Tip: If staying in the new hall, ground floor rooms have patio and garden access whereas 1st floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have stayed a number of times over the years and cannot fault anything, I think Darrell (see recent review) is so very lucky! We had super weather so were able to make use of the outside area by the spa - a bigger area with proper loungers might be an idea to consider - as well as our own private patio (ground floor room in the new wing) and a stroll through the grounds. In addition to the lovely buildings and facilities, the staff here make it, this is obviously one of the reasons a stay here isn't the cheapest. They are always around when needed but not "in your face", the training regime is to be commended.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ASH696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Lucky enough to stay in the hotel 3 nights a week for almost a year as part of working in the area.

The rooms in the new wing are the biggest I have ever stayed in, in over 40 years of travelling. The decor and furniture is of an excellent quality, all the facilities you could want. The TV at the end of the bath was something new for me, as was having a toilet room separate from the bathroom.
The views from the rooms was of beautiful countryside.
The staff where all friendly and helpful, without being pompous.
The only minor criticism would be the menu was a bit limited when staying for a long period, but if on a short break like most people it would be excellent. However, one of the restaurants was willing to make off-piste salads for me if they had the ingredients in.

Excellent hotel, can't recommended highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Our booking enquiry was handled with speed and expertise.

We arrived late afternoon to be greeted at the door by David and Angela. David very graciously parked the car and took our bags to the room. Angela welcomed us at the door and have an escorted tour of the key areas of the hotel.

Our rate for the 2 night stay included an upgrade to a suite in the Old Hall and dinner on one night of the stay.

We had room service (very good) on the first night.

A unused meeting room was provided on request. A small charge of £50 was made to cover the use. My only complaint was being asked to vacate the meeting room as we'd only requested it until 12.30 (it wasn't being used and we weren't using any additional facilities) - I thought this was a bit petty.

Lunch in the clubhouse was good and the service was fine in view of the fact it was reasonably busy.

2nd night we had dinner in the Orangery. This was great. The staff were attentive and friendly without being intrusive. The food was perfectly prepared (Dover sole) and the wine was very good.

The grounds provide an excellent stroll as well as a golf course.

Spa treatments live up to their reputation and are to be recommended. The gym was a little crowded for my liking and some machines require a key to operate. Thanks to a friendly gymster taking pity on my plight to get the machine to operate I was under way. However, the bustle of the gym was too much for me and I left after 30mins.

The suite? Just perfect!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desertfox50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I attended a 4 day meeting here recently and initial impressions were good as I drove up the driveway to be presented with a lovely looking estate.
Positives: rooms are well proportioned and decorated. The beds were very comfortable and separate dressing area was appreciated.
The spa is absolutely gorgeous, with wonderful pools and saunas etc.
negatives: I genuinely feel like we were passed from pillar to post throughout the week. The initial meeting room was good but the constant music coming through the in room speakers was not ideal. The second meeting room was an awful room for a meeting venue, the room was too light with no way of closing blinds so I spent the majority of the 3 days struggling to see the PowerPoint presentation. In many occasions we were not allowed access to communal areas due to them "being used by other guests" the drawing room was off limits most of the time as was the cocktail bar so there really was no where to sit out with our meetings.
I could let all of the above negatives slide but the worst thing for me was the food. The afternoon tea selection was poor and the chips served to is on a daily basis were not cooked properly. This is appalling for a supposedly 5 star hotel.


Gorgeous rooms and facilities do not make a 5star hotel, you also need good food and impeccable service.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank infinity23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here as a belated gift to ourselves to celebrate our Silver Wedding. We were welcomed most warmly and looked after extremely well by Angela and Jack. As we had arrived earlier than check in time, we expected to simply spend some time enjoying lunch until our room was ready and the Brasserie was duly booked for us however we were extremely fortunate that soon after, our room was ready so before we knew it, we were escorted to our room, lunch booking was duly “tweaked” and we were settling into a beautiful junior suite.

Our two nights in the hotel were exceptional, with continual support from many members of staff (particularly Jack) who simply dealt quietly and efficiently with any small query or question. The Orangery was lovely for dinner (albeit fine dining which might not suit all tastes) and excellent for breakfast with the service again being of a high standard.

The Spa was simply one of the best my husband and I have been to and I had a wonderful facial that I would recommend most highly.

Our only slight moan was the “Clubhouse”. We couldn’t book the Friday evening as there was a function on and when we tried to eat there on the Saturday evening, the member of staff made it extremely obvious that they were busy and they really didn’t even want us to have a drink to pass the time never mind allow us to book a table. In the two days we were there, this was the only example of poor service that we encountered.

All in all, a wonderful stay at a superb hotel, so much so we have already booked to go back !

Room Tip: View from our Junior Suite at the back of the new hall looked over the golf course - wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurworth-on-Tees
7.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
7.0 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
9.3 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
2.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockliffe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockliffe Hall

Address: Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington > Hurworth-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hurworth-on-Tees
Price Range: £191 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rockliffe Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rockliffe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockliffe Hall Hotel Hurworth-On-Tees
Rockliffe Hall Darlington/Hurworth-On-Tees

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing