We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,118)
Filter reviews
3,119 results
Traveller rating
2,468
384
165
57
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,468
384
165
57
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course spa facilities cocktail bar first class afternoon tea amazing spa golf club five star hotel out of this world spa experience mood lighting birthday treat star service tasting menu whole experience special occasion second to none
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 3,119 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

we went on Saturday the 8th of march my daughter booked for my birthday,we arrived at 11:30am, and we had 1st class service from the gent that opened the door to the lady that booked us in, she went on to book the garden spa,and our evening meal.
we went to the spa and the service continued to overwhelm us clean well spoken staff throughout.
we enjoyed the whole experience, we were booked for our evening meal at 6:30 but wanted our meal for 6 instead not a problem in fact it was like private dinning, 1st class.
breakfast still amassed us service food quality and staff again were greati have allreadt booked to come back with my husband in the summer.

Room tip: stunning and very high end
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear stephknowles,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Rockliffe Hall experience with the Tripadvisor community. What a fantastic birthday treat from your daughter.

Your kind words have been shared amongst the team, all of whom are delighted to hear that the level of service provided by the team was ‘1st class’ and that you were ‘overwhelmed’ by your experience.

We couldn’t be happier to hear that you have already booked in for another stay in the summer with your husband and very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott
Chief Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a 2 night break at Rockliffe Hall in a New Hall room which was really, really comfy. Had time in the Garden Spa - well worth it & very relaxing. Ate in the Brasserie one evening & enjoyed tge food very much.
All in alk we had a very relaxing few days away & look forward to the next stay.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 793dennish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 793dennish,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Rockliffe Hall with the Tripadvisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us.

How wonderful that you were able to take time to unwind in the spa during your visit. We are pleased that you particularly enjoyed your Spa Garden experience.

Your kind comments have been shared amongst the Brasserie team, whom are overjoyed that you enjoyed your dining experience with them.

We are delighted that you plan to return to Rockliffe Hall in the future and very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott
Chief Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hit & miss

All in all a good visit/stay, but admittedly quite hit & miss. Stayed for 1 night 9th-10th March with my partner for a spa day with overnight stay and evening dining at The Orangery.

Pros
- Great welcome by the front of house staff, very helpful and informative. Showed us to our suite and explained all the pertinent info with regards to our stay.
- Superb spa facilities (probably the best we’ve used in the North-East). Beautiful spa garden and thankfully we hit lucky with the weather so enjoyed the outdoor infinity pool and jacuzzi.
- Grounds very well kept and beautiful external surroundings to match the hotel.
- Room facilities were excellent, great views and all the facilities you’d want for the price you’re paying. TV in the bathroom a particularly nice touch.
- Partake in fine dining relatively infrequently but was impressed with the selection and quality of food on the a la carte menu at The Orangery, coupled with excellent staff knowledge on each of the dishes and available wines.

Cons
- Service timeliness not up to standard. My biggest issue with the whole visit was that despite first class politeness and helpfulness of staff. The timeliness of both service across the spa and Orangery left us disappointed. Firstly the spa garden, it took us 30mins to eventually catch a member of staff to order a bottle of prosecco, it would be better to have someone in the spa garden readily available and ensuring that all guests have everything they need, instead you have to wait next to the hot drinks/ soft drinks station for someone to pass by. Not ideal, moreover a snack menu would be nice in the spa garden. We spent most of our day in the spa but had to leave to get something to eat from The Brasserie, which at tea time had a very limited menu. The food was good but the options available to choose from were quite poor (3 cold sandwich choices with crisps). The most disappointing of all however was the timeliness of service at The Orangery. Our reservation was at 8:30, we arrived around 7:45 to enjoy a couple of drinks before we ate, whilst the friendliness of the bar staff was excellent, 8:30 came and past and we were still waiting to be seated in the dining area at 9:00. All the while no communication from staff regarding the delay. At 09:05, we asked how much longer it would be and were compensated with a round of free drinks, nevertheless it was another 20 mins before we were eventually seated and whilst we received an apology from the bar staff no apology was offered by the restaurant front of house. What was particularly annoying was that another couple who also had a reservation at 8:30 but arrived at 8:50 were seated before us. The disappointing service continued in the dining area where the length of time between, ordering food, ordering wine, and being served each course was quite frankly unacceptable for a meal that cost £151 for 2 persons. By the time we were served our starters it was 9:50. Again, I reiterate the friendliness and politeness of staff was exemplary, but the timeliness of everything was extremely poor. Sadly, this continued at breakfast the next day, again having a wait (albeit shorter) to be seated and long delays between ordering hot drinks and food and actually being served.
- Drinks prices. As with any 5* hotel you expect to pay a premium for drinks, I think however asking £6.50 for a Birra Morretti is a bit extreme and leaves a sour taste in the mouth. £4.50 would be closer to the norm in my opinion and far more reasonable. Moreover £9 for a single gin and tonic, probably also needs some revaluation.
- My only other comment on the otherwise helpful bar staff was that whilst waiting to be seated in the dining area we sat for 25 minutes with empty drinks. A little more attentiveness to who does and doesn’t have an empty glass wouldn’t go a miss.

Probably would return to the hotel but don’t think we’d eat at The Orangery again. Service the major let down.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lloydt858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear lloydt858,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Rockliffe Hall with the Tripadvisor community.

Your kind comments have been shared amongst the team, all of whom are delighted to hear that throughout your stay you found them to be ‘helpful and informative’.

How wonderful that you were able to take the time to relax and unwind in the spa during your visit. We are so pleased that you found the facilities to be ‘superb’ and that you particularly enjoyed your time in the Spa Garden.

We appreciate all feedback, both positive and constructive, as this allows us to improve as a resort moving forward. Please be assured that your comments have been shared amongst the relevant members of the team, whom will of course take your feedback on-board.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back to Rockliffe Hall in the future.

Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott
Chief Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed for 3 nights in the 2 bedroom Armstrong Suite. We have been frequenting Rockliffe Hall 2/3 times a year for the past 6 years; during this time we can see that it has declined in many areas, including dining, customer service, staff, cleanliness and general up keep of rooms and furnishings. We believe that the standards of a 5 star hotel you expect , are not there anymore as they once were.

We was on this latest visit, very disappointed, and here’s why ...

Checking in was usual, collected the room cards and headed to the 2 bedroom Armstrong Apartment. As we have been many times before we did not need escorting there by the concierge which was kindly offered.

We found the apartment to be tired, dusty and not particularly clean. The bath/shower silicone sealant had black mould on parts of it and was far from clean or hygienic.
The Kitchen floor tiling was cracked in places and had large areas of grout missing between the tiles. The kitchen sink Tap was loose and wobbling around when in use.
All of the furnishings in the apartment are very tired; the sofas bottom out as they are well past usable and comfortable. The TV in the lounge area would not turn up and therefore could not be heard, it was reported but knowbody came to fix it.
The Hallway wooden floor is covered in thousands of heal marks and looks tatty.

Breakfast dining is somewhat limited now and can only be ordered from the kitchen; gone are the days of fresh fruit , croissants, fresh yogurt, breads, meats , etc ... from the central continental style buffet table. If you enjoy, eggs , fish , and toast your laughing! When my wife asked the waiter if they have cereals , the waiters response was yes, then he walked off and served other customers with coffee ? He never informed her of which cereals or that he could go and get her some , just left in the lurch ... very poor service indeed !

The Brasserie dining experience was poor , we ordered 2 steaks for our main medium to well. When they came you could not even see them on the plate as they were covered by a mushroom ? The steaks were ridiculously tiny ! Frazzled and tuff , the quality of the steak was terrible, like and old rubber sole. Words fail me for a five star hotel !

To top it off the last night of our 3 night stay the fire alarm malfunctioned at 00:30am and scared the living daylights out of my wife and I, whom had been asleep in bed since 10:30pm ! 20 minutes later it was switched off and reset. We found it hard to settle after this, let alone get back to a decent nights sleep.

Upon checkout we informed them of our poor nights sleep due to the alarm going off. The response was ‘ it’s just one of those things and cannot be helped ‘ !!! We will ensure it doesn’t happen again , sorry for any inconvenience !

There has obviously been some serious problems and serious cut backs at Rockliffe Hall, at best it should be a four star hotel as it certainly is not worthy of five stars anymore. We won’t be rushing back in a hurry if at all , there’s far better 5 star hotels that are much more deserving than Rockliffe Hall .



Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank garbutt007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear garbutt007,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Rockliffe Hall with the Tripadvisor community. It’s great to receive feedback from regular guests.

We appreciate all feedback, both positive and constructive, as this allows us to improve moving forward. Please be assure that your comments have been shared amongst the relevant members of the team, whom will of course take them on-board moving forward.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back to Rockliffe Hall in the future.

Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott
Chief Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and myself visited rockcliffe hall for a 2 night break and we had a fantastic time. The hotel is top quality and the staff are superb. We had a beautiful ground floor room between reception and the spa. We are on the 2nd night in the brasserie and it was excellent. We had an inclusive dinner but the menu was a little limited so we ate off the a la cartel menu. I had t bone and the wife had a fish dish they were both superb. The staff in the brasserie were really friendly and very attentative. The breakfasts in the orangery were super and the spa including the spa garden experience was super. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed rockcliffe hall and Cannot wait to return

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank X5997GHkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear X5997GHkens,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Rockliffe Hall with the Tripadvisor community.

Your kind comments have been shared amongst the team, all of whom are delighted to hear that you found them to be ‘superb’.

How wonderful to hear that you were able to take the time to relax and unwind in the spa during your stay. We are so pleased that you found it to be ‘super’ and that you particularly enjoyed your time in the Spa Garden.

The Brasserie team are happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with them and that you found the team to be ‘friendly and very attentive’.

We are overjoyed that you plan to return to Rockliffe Hall in the future and very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott
Chief Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews