We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,118)
Filter reviews
3,119 results
Traveller rating
2,468
384
165
57
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,468
384
165
57
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course spa facilities cocktail bar first class afternoon tea amazing spa golf club five star hotel out of this world spa experience mood lighting birthday treat star service tasting menu whole experience special occasion second to none
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 3,119 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am completely mesmerised by the Rockliffe Hall! Stunning establishment, beautiful spa and every single staff member provided exquisite customer service from the moment I arrived. I felt taken care of and relaxed. Would definitely recommend for anyone wanting a luxury experience and fabulous customer service!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakub K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jakub K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Rockliffe Hall with the Tripadvisor community.

Your kind comments have been shared amongst the team, all of whom are overjoyed to hear that you found the level of service delivered by the team to be ‘exquisite’.

We are so happy to hear that we were able to make you feel ‘taken care of and relaxed’.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back to Rockliffe Hall in the future.

Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott
Chief Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed on the foodies heaven break in a new hall junior suite. We added on the "arrive in style" spa garden and the wine paring with our taster menu. All in all this makes for and EXPENSIVE overnight, but believe you me never was there more truth to the old adage "you get what you pay for!"
The room was beautiful, big and comfy. A huge bed, a sofa each a desperate dressing area a "rain" shower and seperate bath with a TV! 1st floor rooms like ours are on a level with and yards from the orangery at one end and the spa at the other. They also have a beautiful bay Vinson looking over the lawn and golf course and a small private patio outside.
PERFECT!
The arrive on style add on allows you to use the spa for several hours before check in with 2 hours in the spa garden area included.
The spa is brilliant with everything you'd expect from a 5 star spa plus a pool you can actually swim in. The spa garden took it to the next level with refreshments sofas heated tiled body shaped beds and the real stars a sauna with floor to ceiling windows and the same glorious view as the room and a hydrotherapy infinity pool that with the sun out made Darlington feel like the Dalaman!
Altogether this made our arrival afternoon feel like a relaxing day out rather than a rush to get everything done before dinner.

Speaking of dinner.....
If you're eating in the orangery it has to be the tasting menu and if you can the wine parings. Dietary restrictions can be catered for and changes (no fish for my wife) came with there own unique wine paring. Some of the dishes might not be what you would normally order but they may well end up being the highlight of the night what Richard Allen can do with beetroot and goats curd is nothing short of spectacular! The wine parings were perfect for each dish but at the same time wildly different to each other and in some cases their entire character was transformed by the food! The thing that pushes the wine parings concept from "maybe" to "must do" is the theatre and insight provide by the wonderful Daniel Jonberger. The complex and distinctive wines were described so perfectly and with such eloquent enthusiasm that you really tasted considered and savoured every drop and marvelled at how it married to it edible partner He may of course have just totally "Derren Brown-ed" me but if he did let me tell you I don't mind mate!
The pre dinner cocktail bar G&T menu was great and the post dinner espresso martini and old fashioned (a good judge of any decent cocktail bar) after were more than up to scratch all served attentively in a cosy and friendly environment.

Finally Breakfast.
It was really great.
I'm not sure what could have made it better. Perhaps a broader continental selection with some cold meat fish and cheese. Or perhaps just not coming at the end of a cavalcade of brilliance! I suspect at any other hotel I'd have raved about breakfast. Perhaps it's the ultimate compliment that the great breakfast is the low point to a stay at Rockliffe.

Now...
Time to start saving for next year!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pathfinder144395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Pathfinder144395,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Rockliffe Hall with the Tripadvisor community. What a wonderful review to read.

Your kind comments have been shared amongst the team, all of whom are delighted to hear that you had such a brilliant stay with us.

How wonderful to hear that you were able to start your stay with a relaxing visit to the spa. We are so pleased that you found the facilities to be brilliant and that you felt that your Spa Garden experience took your visit to ‘the next level’.

The Orangery team are overjoyed by your comments regarding dinner service. We are delighted that you particularly enjoyed Richard Allen’s signature beetroot dish.

Daniel is so pleased to hear that his wine pairing heightened your Orangery experience and that you enjoyed the ‘theatre and insight’ that comes with a wine pairing experience.

How wonderful to hear that you plan to return to Rockliffe Hall in the future. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott
Chief Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

we went on Saturday the 8th of march my daughter booked for my birthday,we arrived at 11:30am, and we had 1st class service from the gent that opened the door to the lady that booked us in, she went on to book the garden spa,and our evening meal.
we went to the spa and the service continued to overwhelm us clean well spoken staff throughout.
we enjoyed the whole experience, we were booked for our evening meal at 6:30 but wanted our meal for 6 instead not a problem in fact it was like private dinning, 1st class.
breakfast still amassed us service food quality and staff again were greati have allreadt booked to come back with my husband in the summer.

Room tip: stunning and very high end
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear stephknowles,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Rockliffe Hall experience with the Tripadvisor community. What a fantastic birthday treat from your daughter.

Your kind words have been shared amongst the team, all of whom are delighted to hear that the level of service provided by the team was ‘1st class’ and that you were ‘overwhelmed’ by your experience.

We couldn’t be happier to hear that you have already booked in for another stay in the summer with your husband and very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott
Chief Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a 2 night break at Rockliffe Hall in a New Hall room which was really, really comfy. Had time in the Garden Spa - well worth it & very relaxing. Ate in the Brasserie one evening & enjoyed tge food very much.
All in alk we had a very relaxing few days away & look forward to the next stay.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 793dennish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 793dennish,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Rockliffe Hall with the Tripadvisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us.

How wonderful that you were able to take time to unwind in the spa during your visit. We are pleased that you particularly enjoyed your Spa Garden experience.

Your kind comments have been shared amongst the Brasserie team, whom are overjoyed that you enjoyed your dining experience with them.

We are delighted that you plan to return to Rockliffe Hall in the future and very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott
Chief Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hit & miss

All in all a good visit/stay, but admittedly quite hit & miss. Stayed for 1 night 9th-10th March with my partner for a spa day with overnight stay and evening dining at The Orangery.

Pros
- Great welcome by the front of house staff, very helpful and informative. Showed us to our suite and explained all the pertinent info with regards to our stay.
- Superb spa facilities (probably the best we’ve used in the North-East). Beautiful spa garden and thankfully we hit lucky with the weather so enjoyed the outdoor infinity pool and jacuzzi.
- Grounds very well kept and beautiful external surroundings to match the hotel.
- Room facilities were excellent, great views and all the facilities you’d want for the price you’re paying. TV in the bathroom a particularly nice touch.
- Partake in fine dining relatively infrequently but was impressed with the selection and quality of food on the a la carte menu at The Orangery, coupled with excellent staff knowledge on each of the dishes and available wines.

Cons
- Service timeliness not up to standard. My biggest issue with the whole visit was that despite first class politeness and helpfulness of staff. The timeliness of both service across the spa and Orangery left us disappointed. Firstly the spa garden, it took us 30mins to eventually catch a member of staff to order a bottle of prosecco, it would be better to have someone in the spa garden readily available and ensuring that all guests have everything they need, instead you have to wait next to the hot drinks/ soft drinks station for someone to pass by. Not ideal, moreover a snack menu would be nice in the spa garden. We spent most of our day in the spa but had to leave to get something to eat from The Brasserie, which at tea time had a very limited menu. The food was good but the options available to choose from were quite poor (3 cold sandwich choices with crisps). The most disappointing of all however was the timeliness of service at The Orangery. Our reservation was at 8:30, we arrived around 7:45 to enjoy a couple of drinks before we ate, whilst the friendliness of the bar staff was excellent, 8:30 came and past and we were still waiting to be seated in the dining area at 9:00. All the while no communication from staff regarding the delay. At 09:05, we asked how much longer it would be and were compensated with a round of free drinks, nevertheless it was another 20 mins before we were eventually seated and whilst we received an apology from the bar staff no apology was offered by the restaurant front of house. What was particularly annoying was that another couple who also had a reservation at 8:30 but arrived at 8:50 were seated before us. The disappointing service continued in the dining area where the length of time between, ordering food, ordering wine, and being served each course was quite frankly unacceptable for a meal that cost £151 for 2 persons. By the time we were served our starters it was 9:50. Again, I reiterate the friendliness and politeness of staff was exemplary, but the timeliness of everything was extremely poor. Sadly, this continued at breakfast the next day, again having a wait (albeit shorter) to be seated and long delays between ordering hot drinks and food and actually being served.
- Drinks prices. As with any 5* hotel you expect to pay a premium for drinks, I think however asking £6.50 for a Birra Morretti is a bit extreme and leaves a sour taste in the mouth. £4.50 would be closer to the norm in my opinion and far more reasonable. Moreover £9 for a single gin and tonic, probably also needs some revaluation.
- My only other comment on the otherwise helpful bar staff was that whilst waiting to be seated in the dining area we sat for 25 minutes with empty drinks. A little more attentiveness to who does and doesn’t have an empty glass wouldn’t go a miss.

Probably would return to the hotel but don’t think we’d eat at The Orangery again. Service the major let down.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lloydt858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockliffe_Hall_Hotel, Chief Executive at Rockliffe Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear lloydt858,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Rockliffe Hall with the Tripadvisor community.

Your kind comments have been shared amongst the team, all of whom are delighted to hear that throughout your stay you found them to be ‘helpful and informative’.

How wonderful that you were able to take the time to relax and unwind in the spa during your visit. We are so pleased that you found the facilities to be ‘superb’ and that you particularly enjoyed your time in the Spa Garden.

We appreciate all feedback, both positive and constructive, as this allows us to improve as a resort moving forward. Please be assured that your comments have been shared amongst the relevant members of the team, whom will of course take your feedback on-board.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back to Rockliffe Hall in the future.

Kind regards,
Eamonn Elliott
Chief Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews