We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rockliffe Hall
Nearby Hotels
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clow Beck House(Darlington)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Darlington Hotel(Darlington)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,833)
Filter reviews
2,833 results
Traveller rating
2,247
353
147
50
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,247
353
147
50
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursecocktail barspa facilitiesafternoon teafirst classamazing spagolf clubfive star hotelon arrivalout of this worldspa experiencemood lightingbirthday treatdressing areastar servicespecial occasionwhole experience
Filter
Updating list...
2,770 - 2,775 of 2,833 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2010

I stayed at Rockliffe Hall for one night with my husband, two children (aged 6 & 8) and my parents. The hotel is beautifully decorated to the highest standard, and the staff and so welcoming, friendly and professional - we really couldn't fault a thing. Our bedroom was stunning and very spacious, the attention to detail of everything was perfect. And the kids thought the tv in the bathroom was fab! We dined in The Organery that night and had the most delicious meal, an experience in itself. Again the staff and service throughout was outstanding. I would definitely recommend this hotel and The Orangery restaurant to anyone. The only downside was having to leave!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana_k_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

We stayed at Rockcliffe Hall for a pre Christmas break and thought it was amazing. On arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful, we were shown to our suite and shown how to use the mood lighting and tv etc.. The suite was spacious and spotlessly clean with views over the golf course. We enjoyed afternoon tea in The Orangery, an evening meal in the Waterhouse Bistro and drinks in the Cocktail Bar which were all excellent and reasonably priced. We also fitted in a vist to the spa which was the nicest spa I have been to. Breakfast was served in The Orangery and there was an excellent choice of both hot and cold food. On checkout we were given a goodie bag whch included drinks and snacks for the journey home. I would definitely recommend the Rockliffe and look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineH2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

This hotel may have a 5* AA rating, but its service is well below that level. We booked this trip for a short break and Spa day as it was only 20 miles away and pre-paid for all meals & treatments – so imagine my surprise when they presented me a large bill for the food and Spa treatments upon check out & Yes the argued with me over it until I informed them of their package deal that I had pre purchased.

Arrival very good, room looked impressive and very clean, but there it stops. Main TV did not work, so we called reception they did fix it, but then TV in the bathroom did not work and then main TV issue reoccurred. Bathrobes in the rooms one was ripped, we were unable to make Tea as there was no milk in the Tea / Coffee facilities, again had to call reception. On the positive side the Bed was to die for, it was very impressive / comfortable.

Staff – Reception, yes very good, but when you get into the hotel the staff are part timers / young adults with little experience and not welcoming / relaxing

Waterhouse Bistro - no ambience, limited menu and very uninspiring.

Breakfast in the morning was delivered cold to the room, with the table not functioning so we could not eat together, as for the Toast, well it was bread with a “hint” of brown, and it was so supple a Gymnast would have been proud.


Pool facilities – main pool on the “cool” side, excess water on the floors by the pool and into the changing rooms were not removed so very slippery / dangerous (I slipped 3 times), they did clean away the surplus water once in the 5 hours I stayed beside the pool.

Jacuzzi – they have pod system, where the jets move from one pod to another every 5 minutes so you either moved to the “In Pod” with the jets or you received no Jacuzzi, until the next rotation occurred

Spa treatments – Excellent enjoyed all of the treatments.

Overall expensive and not 5* service and would not visit again, for me they are aspiring to 5*. There is clearly lack investment in the training and they are not paying attention to the “little touches” that make the experience, after all anyone can build a hotel, the real skill is running it to a level of customer experience that WOW's the clients, or not in our case.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dlkssm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

All in the title really - from arrival to departure a real treat with service in all areas efficient yet unobtrusive. Room in the New Hall was very spacious, well equipped and most of all cleaned to a very high standard. Dinner in the Waterhouse bistro was exceptionally good and breakfast offering also excellent. You get a nice little departure gift of water, chocolate, fruit and polo's which is a nice touch. Would I stay again? In a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrRedStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

1.Staff couldn't find room key on arrival.
2.We were not shown where things were in the room or use of the Hi Tech lighting system which proved to be a nightmare in the middle of the night.
3.TV was faulty and the luxury TV in the bathroom didn't work at all!
4.When luggage arrived half of it was missing.
5.Wine waiter in Michelin starred restaurant poured Sancerre int a half finished glass of Sauvignon Blanc brought in from the bar area!
6.30 minute wait in the corridor for breakfast as insufficiient tables for no. of guests. (Standing room only).
7.Drinks charged to our restaurant bill we hadn't ordered or drank, with no satisfaction on raising the issue.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank gregmclatchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews