We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orangery tasting menu”
Review of The Orangery

The Orangery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$97
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fine British Dining
Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

Delightful meal last night at the Orangery, the ten course tasting menu was a delicious. The flavours were fantastic and the service from Liam and Munga was first class. I also chose the wine flight from Daniel who always exceeds your expectations with excellent and interesting wine choices together with a degree to enthusiastic theatre. Loved the evening.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2018

The food and its delivery to table is an art of entertainment. Superb. The cost is high but the quality and variety of food is worth it for a special occasion.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 420christinej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2018 via mobile

Love Rockliffe! Spa & rooms great, however after now trying the Orangery twice I would not return.

Firstly it lacks atmosphere and service is average.

Had the 10 course tasting menu which wasn’t great. Compare to others I’ve had, the last one being Blackswan at Oldstead this one is poor. There’s no drama to each course, the courses did not excite or make me want more, in fact the opposite. Cold bread to start, followed by a pate which was ok, the only memorable course was the crab! You expect with a tasting menu to taste things you’ll never be able to make yourself but in this case they were bland.

We were in and out in 1 1/2 hours!

Also gin and tonics in the bar were lacklustre!

I’d stay at Rockliffe again but eat at the Brasserie or Clubhouse!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Pigginhungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2018

I can't even find the words to describe the taster menu. This was a real experience at a different level, each course beautiful to look at and bursting with flavour with some surprises, namely the macaron served with the fish dish. I was a little apprehensive about a couple of the dishes as I don't usually eat liver pate or venison, but the goose liver with Waldorf flavours was my favorite overall. The service was impeccable without being stuffy. Altogether a wonderful experience.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jandroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2018

Food is good, Service is the worst.
Would rated average. Not worth the money paid (mainly due to service

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Companion281594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Orangery also viewed

Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
 

Been to The Orangery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing