We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Villa Howden

Villa Howden
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Howden
Ranked #1 of 2 Howden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were fortunate enough to be able to use the hotels elopement wedding package. From the moment we arrived till the moment we left, Everything was 5 star. The Tower suite room was stunning with beautiful views and very well presented.The restaurant food was beautiful and very good value for the quality and service and High Tea was also well worth experiencing.
I Would highly recommend this hotel for travellers visiting Southern Tasmania as an excellent alternative to Hobart as it only 15mins drive from the Capital.and great access to many other attractions. Finally the Management should be very proud of all their staff, with a big thank you to Charlotte and Frankie for there great help and kindness during our stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbo131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    16
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
93
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Villa Howden is a culmination of great location, wonderful service and a beautifully appointed resort. We loved every minute of being there. The staff - namely Frankie, Charlotte and Brian, were absolutely the best service staff I've ever come across.

The resort brings the look and feel of Tuscany while being so unassuming yet being so genuinely itself. The food was great; they even took the extra effort to cater to our specific dietary needs. The staff here never say no.

I can't wait for our next trip to Villa Howden!

Room Tip: Talk to them in advance before your trip. Ask about your specific needs and don't forget to expl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ima H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very Friendly Staff, showed around the property on arrival with a complimentary glass of bubbly in hand. Room decorated in French Provincial Style, clean and marvellously equipped with everything needed for a super relaxing stay. Indoor Swimming Pool lovely, Coffee machine in room was a fabulous touch. Loved the little library with plenty of book titles to choose from, board games, chess set. Breakfast included was nicely served with white linen manchester. Nice walks around the Villa with breathtaking views over Northwest Bay. I would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The reception area was a little hard to find on arrival as it was not clearly marked, go through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

From the warm welcome and glass of Tassie bubbly on arrival, to the genuine appreciation when we checked out, everything was perfect about our two night stay at Villa Howden. The decor of understated Provencal elegance and charm, the crisp linen and super comfy bed and the view of the D'Entrecasteaux channel made for a relaxing mini break. The complimentary mini bar was an unexpected bonus. A very easy 15 minute drive into the centre of Hobart meant that we could enjoy the delights of Villa Howden but dine out at our favourite restaurants. My husband left his phone charger behind and in keeping with the level of service we'd experienced during our stay, it was delivered to our next hotel a couple of hours later. Frankie's kindness in dropping it in on her way home epitomised our experience.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of the D'Entrecasteaux channel highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is really nice to look at. Its like an Italian villa outside but french detailing inside. Room very clean with crisp white linen. Breakfast very good.
Was disappointed though to find out when we checked in on Sunday afternoon that they did not do evening meals on either Sunday or Monday and that there were no staff on site after 7pm( there was no mention of this when we booked). So that meant eating out ( we were given ideas of where to eat by the friendly staff) and not being able to have a drink to enjoy in the lounge. We ended up sitting in our room with a glass of bubbly provided by the hotel but once that had finished then it was soft drinks only.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is a beautiful little hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely, the complimentary mini bar a surprise. The breakfast was fantastic. Anything you would wish for on a breakfast menu plus more (and delicious), and included in the room price. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieMc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

5 stay luxury and attentive, friendly service epitomise this wonderful small luxury hotel. Situated on Blackman's Bay and within 15 minute drive from downtown Hobart, at the beginning of the Huon Trail, I am so glad we found this place. Visiting Tasmania from the gold Coast for our 20th wedding anniversary, we knew the minute we arrived and were greeted in the car park, then welcomed in the lounge with a glass of bubbles, that we had made the right choice. Brian and his team are wonderful and made us feel very comfortable for the four nights we spent at Villa Howden. We are glad we decided to spend out time in Tasmania based in one place. The water view room was spacious and there were lots of extra little touches like the teddy on the bed, nespresso coffee machine with pods and a lovely basket of fresh white fluffy towels and beautiful Serendipity amenities. The bed, linen and pillows were also beautiful and we slept really well. Breakfast was fresh and delicious each morning and the two dinners we enjoyed at Villa Howden were fantastic and we definitely recommending dining there during your stay. We loved the fire lit in the guest lounge each evening and the comfy chairs and beautiful decor. Absolutely fabulous and we will be telling friends and family about this lovely hotel for a long time to come.

Room Tip: We inly saw our room, but we suspect all ten suites would be equally as good. The water views howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howden
8.0 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#6 of 48 in Hobart
436 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
9.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
512 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
8.1 mi away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#21 of 48 in Hobart
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Howden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Howden

Property: Villa Howden
Address: 77 Howden Rd, Howden, Kingborough, Tasmania 7054, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Kingborough > Howden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Howden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Howden 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Howden offers a range of ten luxury suites each of which is beautifully decorated with luxurious furnishings and antiques. Heated indoor pool, library, piano bar are all enjoyed by guests. The restaurant features the best of Tasmania's produce, served in intimate settings. The elegant Water View and Villa suites seamlessly blend with the breathtaking natural scenery. The Tower suite is a welcoming, unique retreat which provides panoramic views across the North West Bay. Just 15 minutes from Hobart, you can enjoy the peace and serenity of the pure Tasmanian wilderness around you from the comfort of your own private suite, most offering full length window balconies and enhanced with a selection of luxurious in-room amenities, including the latest Sony iPod Dock, complimentary Wi-Fi and Nespresso coffee machine. Your Stay at Villa Howden includes full breakfast, complimentary in-suite bar and luxurious Serendipity Australian made hotel cosmetics. Villa Howden restaurant is open for breakfast, weekend high-teas and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Howden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Howden Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing