We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Son's wedding”
Review of Villa Howden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Howden
Ranked #1 of 2 Howden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Son's wedding”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My son was married to his beautiful wife Alissa here on 7/07/2014. The hotel did us proud the rooms where comfortable, service was excellent, food was good. The hotel is lovely rooms are spacious and very comfortable, the grounds are beautifully laid out and veiws are fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian W, General Manager at Villa Howden, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Cath735,

Thank you for your review about your son's wedding. Marriages are a very special occasion and we are happy to read that you were all pleased with the day. Again, congratulations to Adam and Alissa and we wish them all the very best. It was a pleasure to have you all and be a part of their special day.

We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time here in Tasmania.

Kind Regards
Brian Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    17
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
94
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We went to Villa Howden for High Tea as part of a Mother's Day gift for my mum. What a delight it was from the moment we entered the door. Staff attentive and caring, yummy and delicious treats from the 3 tired choices and the atmosphere and setting were both impressive.

Will definitely go back, hopefully to try out the accommodation next time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian W, General Manager at Villa Howden, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Vicki T

Thank you for your review of our High Tea. High Teas are very popular and I am glad you and your mum had an enjoyable time and we were able to make her Mother's Day gift a delight.

We look forward to seeing you back to stay with us. Call the hotel when you are ready and ask about our local special!

Kind Regards
Brian Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Having decided to visit Mona for the weekend the most pleasant surprise of all was Villa Howden - It is a total luxury escape.
Just a short drive out of Hobart it affords peace and quiet and stunning views over the water.

Greeted by friendly staff who were so professional, but have that lovely country warmth about them. Everything you needed was taken care of but they were never obtrusive.

The decor here is so beuatiful - it is stylish, charming but so inviting and comfortable. The rooms are luxurious and so well appinted that they are hard to leave in order to enjoy the rest of the facilities [ do check out the pool and manicured gardens].

We spent ages in the lounge by the fire, reading , listening to music and endles red wine and cheese platters.

The food is brilliant from the high tea, through to a wonderful dinner of local produce and the big hearty country breakfast.

There is so much to do in the surrounds but frankly we couldn't be bothered leaving Villa Howden as it was just so relaxing.

If you need to get away and be pampered in luxury at a great price then this place is excellent value and a must

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian W, General Manager at Villa Howden, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Greg M,

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your weekend with us at Villa Howden. Thank you for your great review. We believe the property is beautiful and peaceful, but I really enjoyed reading your comments on the staff and they are happy to receive such positive feddback.

We do look forward to welcoming you back and hope that we will see you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Brian Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Spent 3 days at Villa Howden, including my 50th Birthday. Only on our second day did we start to appreciate every fine detail this Hotel provides.Clean,friendly with luxury including crystal chandeliers, top linen, furnishings and great food. High tea was a great experience, something a bit special. We own a B & B in Launceston and are harsh critics. Flying colors..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmcpherson64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this stunning heaven on earth. From the second we drove in through the gates our breath was taken away. The building and its decor is simply stunning and the only thing that out shines this beautiful place is the hospitality from the friendly staff. We have already began to prepare our next stay. Spoil yourself and loved one!

Room Tip: All of the rooms will have a stunning view of the amazing grounds however there are water views if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were fortunate enough to be able to use the hotels elopement wedding package. From the moment we arrived till the moment we left, Everything was 5 star. The Tower suite room was stunning with beautiful views and very well presented.The restaurant food was beautiful and very good value for the quality and service and High Tea was also well worth experiencing.
I Would highly recommend this hotel for travellers visiting Southern Tasmania as an excellent alternative to Hobart as it only 15mins drive from the Capital.and great access to many other attractions. Finally the Management should be very proud of all their staff, with a big thank you to Charlotte and Frankie for there great help and kindness during our stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbo131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Villa Howden is a culmination of great location, wonderful service and a beautifully appointed resort. We loved every minute of being there. The staff - namely Frankie, Charlotte and Brian, were absolutely the best service staff I've ever come across.

The resort brings the look and feel of Tuscany while being so unassuming yet being so genuinely itself. The food was great; they even took the extra effort to cater to our specific dietary needs. The staff here never say no.

I can't wait for our next trip to Villa Howden!

Room Tip: Talk to them in advance before your trip. Ask about your specific needs and don't forget to expl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ima H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howden
8.0 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#4 of 48 in Hobart
444 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
9.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
8.9 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
520 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Howden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Howden

Property: Villa Howden
Address: 77 Howden Rd, Howden, Kingborough, Tasmania 7054, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Kingborough > Howden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Howden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Howden 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Howden offers a range of ten luxury suites each of which is beautifully decorated with luxurious furnishings and antiques. Heated indoor pool, library, piano bar are all enjoyed by guests. The restaurant features the best of Tasmania's produce, served in intimate settings. The elegant Water View and Villa suites seamlessly blend with the breathtaking natural scenery. The Tower suite is a welcoming, unique retreat which provides panoramic views across the North West Bay. Just 15 minutes from Hobart, you can enjoy the peace and serenity of the pure Tasmanian wilderness around you from the comfort of your own private suite, most offering full length window balconies and enhanced with a selection of luxurious in-room amenities, including the latest Sony iPod Dock, complimentary Wi-Fi and Nespresso coffee machine. Your Stay at Villa Howden includes full breakfast, complimentary in-suite bar and luxurious Serendipity Australian made hotel cosmetics. Villa Howden restaurant is open for breakfast, weekend high-teas and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Howden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Howden Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing