We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Robert 21-23 June” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverfront Motel & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverfront Motel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosetta
Latrobe Tasmania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Robert 21-23 June”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Have selected the River Front for our visits to Hobart mainly for the Location & Costs.
It's convient for our needs while in Hobart, we enjoy the meals in the Restaurant which adds to the convients of not having to travel out for meals.
Our only disappiontment is in the Winter Months is the Temperature in the Toilet/Bathroom how-ever we are only there for two nights each visit.

Room Tip: The Bathroom Temperature is ouronly disappointment, but for the Budget Price& Restaurant meals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    102
    65
    9
    4
See reviews for
85
71
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Our room was old but clean. We where happy with the food at the restaurant, however there was a party of 85 staying and not enough staff on for dinner. I have worked in hospitality for many years, and the Manager would have known ahead that a big party was coming to stay. The rest of us diners were not impressed, and then to cap it off my entree was supposed to be garlic prawns. The prawns sat on, like a rice pudding, and the prawns were not garlic. The 2 staff that where serving, did an amazing job,keep up the good work. We were not booked into the restaurant for our meals, yet I had phoned 10 days ahead and organised this, and it was booked in at reception. Diane

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Hotel room was clean and had enough room for luggage etc. bathroom was old, but clean and did the job. Large shower section with hot high pressured water. Only issue with room was an infestation of ants on the desk.
Arrived late in the evening and had soup in the restaurant, unfrtunately it was burnt. Tea the second night was fantastic, the Port Arthur steak is fantastic, and even though the kitchen was having a bad night the restaurant manager was fantastic and honest with guests. 10/10 for her and the waitress called Grace.
Stayed for 2 nights on business. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Pool is only a lap pool, and impossible to use when a school group is vsiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We had a 3 night stay in the Coach House. Last time we were here we stayed in the Mansion. This trip was only 8 adults. No complaints about the accommodation. It suited our needs just perfectly.Just a shame its not fitted with another bathroom. But there's no room to put another one. The meals at the restaurant were just great and all the staff were excellent. No airs and graces about them. Keep it up. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night as MONA was the highlight of our Hobart stay. . You can see the gallery from the room. The room was excellent, freshly painted, very comfortable new bed, thick white sheets, new pleasant photographic art on the walls. Our Riverfront room for three people was $119 which was very good value. Only issue was that the rooms were not all that soundproof and we had a small child with helicopter parent next to us which was tiresome. Other than that we were delighted with our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kowhai22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

The Riverfront is located about 15kms from the centre of hobart so you will be needing a rental car to get around. The hotel itself, looks like something from 1970 and looks it too, the room is neat and clean enough, apart from the bathroom...upon arrival i discovered about 4-5 long black hairs on the shower wall...and the toilet was not bolted to the floor. Overall it is a tried and wore place which is in need of a good clean and update. The staff were quite friendly and helpful and it is close to MONA which is good if its on your to do list. The was also some kind of freight train which came past in the morning sometimes with a lot of loud blaring horns..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of December - and got a very reasonable rate for what is a very busy and often expensive time to stay in Hobart.

We were keen to visit MONA, and this motel is indeed very close - about 2 mins drive away with a good view of the complex. We went for breakfast at MONA's Source restaurant which was very nice (you have to book - well worth it though).

Staff were very helpful at check-in and throughout our stay. There was also a organised bus service to take guests to Constitution Dock for the New Years' fireworks which was great.

As a number of reviewers have noted however - the motel is well past its prime - the bathroom was not the cleanest I have ever encountered and the rooms are dated. I don't really think you can expect luxury for the price we paid though - it was a very convenient option for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lunabetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosetta
1.7 mi away
Claremont Hotel Motel
Claremont Hotel Motel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mona Pavilions
Mona Pavilions
#1 of 1 in Berriedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
5.6 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#33 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverfront Motel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverfront Motel & Villas

Property: Riverfront Motel & Villas
Address: 11 Strathaven Dr, Rosetta, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7010, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Glenorchy > Rosetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverfront Motel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Riverfront Motel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing