We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cherbridge Cottages
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent holiday”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great cottage beautifully appointed, the location by the river is fantastic and so relaxing. The cottage has quality furnishings throughout, every need has been addressed. The cottage is perfectly situated for a quick drive into Oxford, a visit to Blenheim Palace, Bicester or the Cotswold villages. An easy one hour drive from Heathrow. Barry is a wealth of information always readily available and great with directions. We hope to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    14
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
60
7
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The lodge was beautiful and surprisingly spacious! Lounge/kitchen was a great space so that we cook and socialise at the same time...beds really comfy and the whole place so clean. We are touring away from home so the utility room was a godsend so that we could all catch up on washing. Laura had also thoughtfully put a cot out for my colleague with his 5 month old daughter - he has a travel cot, but that was a great touch. Great kitchen space and facilities, with loads of room for maximum capacity. Barry was also lovely and so helpful, I had a great chat with him! Would def stay there again if in the area - you do need a car though as the road difficult to cross safely if walking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krispiduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We rented two lodges for our family and bridesmaids for the week before our daughters wedding. The lodges were a perfect location for wedding photos on the river bank before the bride and bridesmaids left for church and reception. The lodges are stylish, pretty and superbly equipped and made a lovely setting for the 'getting ready' shots. Barry couldn't have been more helpful, ensuring free access for the wedding car when it arrived and he even summoned swans and a cygnet for the photos of the bride and bridesmaids. The lodges were spacious and we used one as a base for cooking and gathering. The garden area was beautiful, fronting the river and we watched swans, ducks, geese, moorhens, dragonflies etc from the verandah and garden. The lodges are perfectly situated, close to Oxford, yet once inside the secure gated area you are in beautiful 'Wind in the Willows' type countryside, a rare luxury so close to a city. We spent an unforgettable week in the run up to the wedding, preparing last minute things and gathering our family together. My elderly parents were also able to access the lodges easily with all rooms on the same level. Thank you Barry and Laura.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jack2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay in two of the Cherbridge Lodges for a hen weekend and had a fantastic time! The lodges are in a great location a short drive away from Oxford city centre and are well equipped, spacious yet cosy. We had two lodges opposite each other and there was enough communal space in each lodge for about 12 of us to all gather together in the evenings. Laura was very helpful throughout the booking process and Barry was on hand during the weekend for any queries such as taxis and parking.
Hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emswan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in one of the lodges. We were fortunate that one was available as we booked it at the very last minute (called the morning of the day we were arriving there at 6pm). The lodge was spacious, clean, comfortable, and really well equipped (esp. the washer & dryer !). It is also just beautiful inside & out :). The first night we were there, we stayed in, lazed around, ate instant cup noodles & watched a movie (if only all holidays were like this).

The beds were comfortable, so we slept like babies. The kitchen was convenient for our quick & simple breakfast.The basic supplies of bread, butter, milk that came with the lodge was super helpful.

A word of thanks to Barry for being such a gracious & friendly host. We really hope to be back there someday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0aniO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The log cabins (of which there are 5 - 1 private) are well spaced. The lounge is a good size with very comfy sofas and ample room for 6 to sit. The kitchen area (a corner of the lounge) is well equipped with a dishwasher, fridge freezer and the usual cooker, although we struggled to cook for 6 + baby as the saucepans provided were a little on the small side, but perhaps other visitors might not be doing mass cooking!
Two other niggles, 1) was the sink which leaked, Barry came immediately to look at it but was unable to rectify and suggested a bowl underneath, which we did, but by the end of the week the water was running out faster than we could wash up! (Some things we had to wash by hand)
Bedrooms are lovely, could have done with larger duvets though as they only just covered the bed.
The road in and out of the property is a nightmare, it is a dual carriageway with national speed limit, and very busy. The road noise didn't bother us as we live on a main road, although it was
noticeable. Anyone wanting a quiet retreat would be disappointed. 2) was the fact that only one of the gates opened, we have a large people carrier and it was tight getting out due to a tree.
The lodge is close to the park and ride car parks. The shops in Summertown are very handy too but everywhere needs to be accessed by car.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have just returned from a weekend at Cherbridge Lodges and i cannot say how impressed we were. Our group stayed across 2 of the lodges, we wanted a quiet location with easy access to Oxford with space for our group to be together and we got all that and more. Throughout the booking process and our stay alike we had fantastic service & Barry at the lodge site was an absolute star. He couldn't have been anymore helpful, from car trouble to taxi trouble he was there for our every need. The lodges are stunning, newly furbished, very clean ,spacious, the bathrooms are luxurious and the views are beautiful. There's Lots of wildlife around and it's very peaceful, we would all definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marston
3.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
1,759 reviews
4.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Burlington House Hotel
Burlington House Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
471 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
2.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherbridge Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherbridge Cottages

Property: Cherbridge Cottages
Address: Mill Lane | Marston, Marston, Oxford OX3 0QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford > Marston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Marston
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing