We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS B&B”
Review of Hill Farm B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hill Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Marston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Lovely B&B near Oxford.Very comfortable and cosy.Staying not long before Christmas we had the added bonus of beautiful decorations in the cottage.Graeme and Laura were terrific hosts.Very friendly and helpful.We could not recommend the stay more highly.After staying in hotel rooms in Europe the cottage was a breath of fresh air.We will be back
Doug and Lisa Renton ( Melbourne,Australia )

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Hill Farm B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2012

We were looking for a reasonable price break for a weekend before Christmas. Saw the Trip Advisor reviews of Hill Farm and managed to book a night.
It was easy enough to find with the sat nav, and was far enough out of town to be away from the busy Christmas-shoppers. After heading up a muddy road (and wondering for a moment if we'd made a wrong turn), we parked up in a beautiful country-side retreat, horses included! We were staying in the B&B, and we were greeted by the friendly Laura, who showed us the living area available to us - a beautifully decorated room with comfortable sofas and a round table with high-back chairs which was for our personal use. She offered to light the big open fire for us if we were staying in that evening.
The bedroom was similarly decorated - the four poster bed was incredibly comfortable and warm, as were the clean white dressing gowns hanging behind the door for our use. There was a nice dressing room before entering the clean bathroom, with a fantastic, powerful shower and double-ended bath, as well as luxury Baylis and Harding shower products, and fluffy towels.
They also provided a kettle and cups and saucers in the room, with delicious Clipper tea and a selection of coffees, and packets of expensive biscuits. The television was easy to use and the curtains kept the light out in the morning, allowing a very comfortable lie-in! The room was both clean and cosy, with great character to it.
It was all very private, with our own landing, living and dining area and big spacious bedroom and ensuite.
Breakfast the next morning was fantastic - we didn't opt to have the fry-up, and I am glad we didn't because they really put on a good spread for the continental! I'm sure the fry-up is delicious though, if the quality of the included breakfast is anything to go by. With a selection of cereals, a jug of milk and a jug of orange juice and our own pots of tea, as well as quality yoghurts, croissants, pastries, toast and spreads and a bowl of fruit, we were full to burst. We spoke to Graeme, Laura's husband and co-owner, about the hard work that had gone into the B&B, and the cottage that they let out on site as well. It sounds like both Graeme and Laura have put a lot of thought and effort into the inherited farm, and it has all paid off. Aside from the lane looking a bit like the back of beyond, the place was perfect. A ten-minute car journey into the city centre, with handy shops nearby in Marston for any needs you may have - it is in a perfect location.
A thoroughly good stay in a luxurious and comfortable bed and breakfast in an ideal location; we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cranjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My wife and I stayed in the B&B for a couple of nights after getting married in July before heading off for the rest of our honeymoon, and we couldn't have had a better start to it. The B&B is close enough to the centre of Oxford to be convenient, whilst at the same far enough away to be quiet and relaxing. The cottage and accommodation itself is beautiful and is in a beautiful location. Above all though, it's the hospitality that will stand out in our minds, we were really well looked after.

As the title says, we couldn't recommend this place enough!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Having needed to get away for a weekend and relax, I found Cherbridge Cottages to be the perfect getaway for a couple of nights. We stayed in the Bed and Breakfast facility and it was everything we wanted for a weekend away. The location was excellent, far enough away from the city centre to be able to enjoy the countryside but yet a 5 minute drive to the centre of Oxford to enjoy such a wonderful city. The hosts Laura and Graeme were both really helpful and absolutely fantastic. The bed and breakfast provided us with a superbly comfortable stay which was relaxing and enjoyable. I do not have a single negative word to say about this place and would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

After having trouble with my rental car I was more than compensated with this beautiful accomodation, made and furnished perfect and in the style I like so much. (The unique/ ancient bed itself is worth the longeset way).
Wormly welcomed by the owner i enjoyed beeing there in this beautiful property.
Special thank for your asistance caring about my rental car problems.
There`s nothing to improve, good luck for the future, I`ll be comming again for sure.
A german guest.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Hill Farm Bed and Breakfast, is a perfect romantic retreat for anyone wanting to stay in a traditional cottage farm house, with scenic countryside views (OUT OF EVERY WINDOW!)... yet only a short and breathtaking walk along the river straight into the heart of Oxford Town Centre! The decor of the room was warm, at the same time, airy and spotlessly clean! The continental breakfast went down well, as I didn't feel like anything greasy first thing in the morning. Laura and Graeme made perfect hosts and were helpful in providing us with local info by drawing us a map of the walk into town. Highly recommended, no point in searching for anything else if this fits your budget!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia room (with the 4 bed posts)... So I can only comment on this. The room had...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hass7741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Hill farm b&b proved to be an excellent choice for a short romantic getaway. Our hosts were truly fantastic - catering to our every whim without being intrusive or overbearing. The room itself was amazing with excellent views over the farm as well as a very comfortable (and stunning) bed. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hershil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marston
1.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.1 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.5 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,809 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Farm B&B

Address: Hill Farm Cottage Mill Lane, Marston, Oxford OX3 0QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford > Marston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marston
Price Range: £86 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hill Farm B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighteenth century farmhouse situated in open countryside yet just a short distance from Oxford City Centre. We offer home cooked breakfast with open fires and an antique four poster bed in our main guest bedroom. There is a further bedroom if you are traveling as a family or small group. Guests have the convenience of their own entrance for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Hill Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing