We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”
Review of The Vines

The Vines
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Garvagh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Wine Bar, Irish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A large group of us preordered our food for a meal expecting to get what we ordered but that's not what we got. When we asked about this we were told that what we said was on the menu wasn't. Once we all agreed that we saw the same menu the girl disappeared then said that the chef was using a different menu without offering any apologies or further comments. We were there at 8 o'clock and without asking for a bill it was set on the table at 9:40pm- subtle hint that the staff wanted to go home as we were the only people in the restaurant. Overall we were all very disappointed with the service and it would take a lot for us to consider returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodjunkie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    27
    11
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
1 review
“Early Bird”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The meal was fantastic!! it was beautifully decorated and a lovely big portain aswell. the waitress was lovely and pleasent and was very neat and tidy looking.

will be returning 100% in the future as it was amazing!!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kym m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great restaurant & lovely staff”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked this for a party of 16 for a family celebration & we're so glad we did as the staff, food and atmosphere was brilliant and everyone in our party enjoyed their food and commented on how tasty it was and that it arrived piping hot which is such a bonus. With all this in mind we will definitley be recommending this to all our friends & family and will be back in the near future :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poland2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coleraine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

visited the vines last night group of 6 of which 3 had been before. service was not as good as it had been before, a bit pricey mix up with order so 1 of the party had no side order the duck was a bit over cooked. not bad but dont think i will return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiedoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Vines, brilliant”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Very welcoming family restaurant with brilliant food and lovely staff. Will definitely be back and will recommend to family and friends

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gleeson741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vines also viewed

Kilrea, County Londonderry
Kilrea, County Londonderry
 
Swatragh, County Londonderry
Portglenone, County Antrim
 
Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Vines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing