We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking location and Hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rustico Sara & Cottage Giusy
Ranked #1 of 3 Molazzana B&B and Inns
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Breathtaking location and Hidden gem!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

This was our second trip to Rustico Sara. It was just as we remembered. Umberto and Pinnucha are amazing hosts with wonderful information about the local area - they provided excellent hospitality. The rooms are well appointed. Our favorite is the downstairs room with en suite bath. Wonderful get away with plenty of things to do outdoors in the mountains very nearby. Also easy to get into town but we would recommend renting a car. There is free parking nearby. Great pool and a wonderful place to relax during the day. Breakfast was excellent with lots of great options provided daily. My wife really loved the local organic honey it was a real treat. Umberto and Pinnucha made us feel like family. If you love and appreciate restored old homes this is the place for you. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcjwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    5
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Great setting, very well kept, great info from Umberto, stunning views, great pool, quiet place, great rooms, comfortable beds, loads to see and to in the area, huge supermarket 12 min away, the drive up to Rustico Sara is easy, very nice local restaurants close....we went twice to Dal Totto in Sassi...10 min away...a real laid back family owned restaurant...go saturday or sunday as it seemed like the menu was bigger on theese days...loved it...had dinner once at Trattoria Bonini....see seperate review.....I would reccomend Rustico Sara at any time.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage Giusy which is the only place that has a kitchen....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Landolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Remote, picturesque, and quiet. Old charm and modern conveniences. We loved relaxing here and wish we had stayed more than 2 nights. Great pool, great views, cute rooms, nice family style breakfast. Our confirmation email said that we would have a room with a panoramic view but when we got there our room had no view. There are panoramic views from an amazing sweeping outdoor patio that is open to anyone staying there, but not from that room. Due to a cancellation they upgraded us to a suite with a panoramic view for the second night. I believe the 4-person 2-room suite is the only one with a view (and only 1 of the two rooms in the suite does). Its quite a drive to get up the mountain but the views are worth it (even without a view from the room - You will spend your time outside anyway).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sprager86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

We stayed in Sara Rustico for two days and a had a a really wonderful stay. Umberto the owner is one of the most active hardworking people I have ever met. He works relentlessly to make his guests stay a pleasant one. He is also very knowledge about the area and is very good at giving information about activities around the property. His love for the area and his property shows when you talk to him. We got a tour of the cottage Guisy,even if we stayed in the bed and breakfast. Would defenitely stay there next time!
Brucciano is a very quite, beauitiful village surrounded by the beauty of the Garfagnana.The climb up the mountain is well worth it.The property itself is beautiful and well maintained.The small stone church and square in front is really beautiful
We felt rested and rejuvenated after our stay there. Restaurant Il Totto was one was of the best meals we had in Tuscany.
Would love to go back there in the summer.Defenitely recommend a stay at Rustico Sara if you want a beautiful place to recuperate after all the frentic sightseeing cities. There are a lot of activities available in the vicinity, especially during summer. Could also do trips to Calomini, Ponte del Diavolo, Barga, Grotto del Vento etc..
Cannot wait to go back for Umbertos hospitality!

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelzen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

Can not say enough how much we enjoyed our stay at Rustica Sara. It truly is an Italian cultural experience that you will never forget. The owners, Pinuccia and Umberto are wonderful people! If you really want the flavor of Italy and its people, this is where you want to stay. You really feel welcomed. My son (11) had a fantastic time - especially liked the Wind Caves and the hike to the Monastery. The local eateries in the area are truly remarkable. The best was Il Totto - which happened to be where we received the best meals and service on our entire trip.

If you're looking for a 4 or 5 star hotel with cold/poor service - this is not for you. If you're looking for tourist traps overrun by tourists - this is not for you.

But, if you really want to get to know the local culture, history, people and treated to some of the best food in Italy - THIS IS THE PLACE. Also, the scenery is breath taking!

Anyone who would give Rustica Sara a negative review, just doesn't get it.

  • Liked — The owners, culture and scenery
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Beautiful location. Stunning really... However - beds were dreadful and very uncomfortable! We could hear our neighbor's snore from the room above louder than our own breathing... The wooden floors are not isolated at all.

We needed to cross the house entrance door and hall in order to get to our bathroom... Which was btw less than one square meter ... Towels were poor (tiny and very thin) bring your own!
Room was small and closet was tiny...

Very low budget place and very uncomfortable... Shame really because the location is truly stunning... It is however a very challenging drive in curved roads...

  • Liked — location and the view
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Nehederet77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We spent a few days at this house this month and it was splendid. The owners Umberto and Pinuccia are great, very helpful, very kind giving us all informations about surroundings and it was very helpful.

Accommodation is great, very clean, nice, feels like at home.
The nature is great, the road is not so complicated as we thought, it's narrow but it's OK to pass through. What a beautiful mornings and sunsets at this height. We were hiking one day for 16 km, visiting the lake and monastery built at rocks in near village.

Highly recommended by two Bosnian tourists.

We see ourselves again at this place.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NenoSarajevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molazzana
1.9 mi away
Villa Bertagni
Villa Bertagni
#1 of 7 in Castelnuovo di Garfagnana
87 reviews
1.1 mi away
Agriturismo La Limonaia
Agriturismo La Limonaia
#4 of 5 in Molazzana
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Vacanza La Pozza
Casa Vacanza La Pozza
#2 of 5 in Molazzana
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustico Sara & Cottage Giusy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustico Sara & Cottage Giusy

Property: Rustico Sara & Cottage Giusy
Address: Piazza della Chiesa 3, 55020 Molazzana, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Molazzana
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Molazzana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Rustico Sara & Cottage Giusy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rustico Sara & Cottage Giusy Tuscany/Molazzana, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing