We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if you do not need Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laholms Stadshotell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laholm
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed at the Laholms Stadshotell 3 nights for business in June 2013. I had previously also stayed there in August 2005, February 2006 and March 2009.

The Laholms Stadshotell is more than a Bed and Breakfast, but not really a full hotel either (no dinner available). It is located centrally in Laholm, with plenty of safe parking spaces in the back. The hotel staff is very friendly.

The friendliness of the staff is what made me give 4 stars to the Laholms Stadshotell, but my first inclination, as a business traveler, would have been to give it fewer stars.

The main reason is that the internet at Laholms Stadshotell was horribly slow during the 3 days that I was there. The wifi signal was perfect in strength, but the speed was terrible. The most basic web page took 2 minutes to load. A basic text email without an attachment took almost a minute to send. It was not a settings issue, as all internet processes did eventually succeed, but in 10 to 20 times longer than normal. Reminded me of the old days when one had a 1200 bauds telephone modem as the only way to connect to the internet. A Swedish colleague, also staying at the hotel had the exact same problem and, in frustration, she switched to using her cell phone as modem.

The staff was very nice about the internet issue, they tried to reboot all the routers, but all to no avail. For me, when traveling, the internet is essential, and for this reason, despite the nice people at the Laholms Stadshotell, I doubt I will be back.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should get a room facing the river, not the village.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qppstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Laholms Stadshotell
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

Mid twenties couple who stayed here in May. Fantastic little hotel. Each room done in a different decade. Ours was the fiftys. We had a very big room that even included a little kitchen and big bathroom. Very clean through out. They dont have a 24 hour reception but when they are there they could not do more for you. All staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Due to the small size of the hotel there is not a bar/restaurant but they will let you use the breakfast room to eat and drink your own goods. They will even allow you to use their plates and glasses! Free wifi. Varied continental breakfast with plenty of choice and everything was fresh. Nice balcony area to sit out on and the back of the hotel looks out across the river. Lots of small little details throughout the hotel made the stay better and more homely. If you are in the area I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

There are no tourists here. It is a beautiful seashore with beaches that rival ours in California. Where Swedes from up north vacation and have vacation homes. The town of Laholm is small, charming and a bit medieval, with a square, right on the water. We rented a car at Ängelholm-Helsingborg Airport, about 20 minutes away, because we were visiting relatives in the area. A nice little airport, reserved the car online and picked up the keys after hours at the information desk.
The Stadshotell is really the only hotel, imposing classical European building right on the square, and really worth a trip, along with the town and countryside. The owner has spent some years updating each room, maybe 18 total, each to a certain decade them, with furnishings, decor and even literature appropriate to each one. We met him working in one in the evening himself, very friendly. A family of relatives spent the day with us there, and it is the kind of place with sitting rooms, nooks and crannies full of all kinds of interesting furnishings, books and art, interesting in itself. Our check-in experience was amazing, the beaming hostess made us feel like family, said we had a good choice of rooms since they were not full. Our main concern was floor space for my daughter's yoga practice, upon which she gave her the keys to a ground floor room, of '50's modern, to use for the weekend just for her yoga, not charge. We shared a '40's themed room on an upper floor, beautifully done, with an amazing bathroom, Scandinavian wallpaper, all perfect, including a great modern Swedish bathroom, typically stylish and up to date.
The dining room is huge and the buffet breakfast has to be seen and enjoyed, many kinds of everything, including caviar. We spent an afternoon at a nearby nature preserve and beach with our relatives, found a nice little cafe close and a very good large restaurant on the other side of the small square.
The waterway is just behind the hotel, lends a resort atmosphere, minus tourists, and there is good free parking. All in all highly recommended for comfort, scenery, and a truly great hotel, without pretensions. The area is farming country and beaches, all beautiful. We traveled there in September. A little out of the way, but SAS flies there,the airport is good, but getting to anywhere else, like Oslo, means flying back to Arlanda above Stockholm, but efficient if planned. On the plane back between Copenhagen and Chicago met a Swedish mom who said, Oh, yes, we have our summer home in Laholm.

Room Tip: Everything is well done. The decades vary from the 1890's to more modern. They are all bright a...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevenmonrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This hotel is situated in the small town of Laholm just above the river Lagan and facing "Hästtorget"( the Horse Square). It is newly renovated to high standard and every room is designed in detail to express one of the decades from 1900 and onwards. We happened to get 1950 and among the other typical furniture the kidney-formed coffee table immediately brought us back to our childhood. Elvis Presley and Marilyn Monroe looked down at us mounted on the wallpaper of the time and even the literature in the "string" bookshelf was from the decade. Very friendly staff, a very nice breakfast, and a huge parking lot for hotel guests added to the pleasure, as did the very reasonable price. A visit to "Teckningsmuseet" (the Drawing Museum) in the neighbouring house was very rewarding, both the architecture and the drawings. What we could have done but didn't, was to hire some fishing gear and join the people who were trying to catch a salmon or a trout in the river 50 meters from the hotel. A very nice stay.

Room Tip: Choose a decade that appeals to you or else a room facing the river
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank navigator40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

If you’re planning a trip to Sweden think beyond Malmo and Goteborg.  Travel along the West coast of Sweden, between these two towns and you’ll discover beautiful countyside, magical forests and crystal-clear lakes.  You’ll also discover  lovely little fishing villages and other special towns.  Just inland from the seaside you’ll find  one of these very special places, situated along a river and  close to Bastad, called Laholm.   It feels like a piece of heaven and the hotel to stay at is the LAHOLMS STADSHOTELL, family run. The hotel has not only been renovated to the highest standard, but each room has been decorated  according to different decades of the past century.  Thus the beds, lights, furniture, art has all been chosen according to a particular theme.  Do yourself a favour and visit this place.  The town is magical, the family delightful, and the hotel most impressive. A bit like visiting a museum and looking at the  different epochs, but then being able to  spend the night in your own room reflecting one of the decades over the last 100 years.  Sweden is a wonderful country to visit, and this town is certainly a must, not only for its location, but also for this unique wonderful hotel.  Enjoy, I know you will.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayguest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank glasse44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulla-Kerstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laholm
8.6 mi away
Hotel Riviera Strand
Hotel Riviera Strand
#1 of 4 in Bastad
97 reviews
13.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Norre Park
15.1 mi away
Hotel Tylosand
Hotel Tylosand
#3 of 12 in Halmstad
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Hotel
11.1 mi away
Good Morning Halmstad
Good Morning Halmstad
#7 of 12 in Halmstad
185 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Skansen
Hotel Skansen
#2 of 4 in Bastad
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laholms Stadshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laholms Stadshotell

Address: 3 Haesttorget, Laholm 312 30, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Laholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laholm
Price Range: £127 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laholms Stadshotell 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Hotel in Laholm town center LocationThis hotel has a fantastic location with views over the river Lagan yet situated in the town center of charming Laholm. The hotel is close to Drawing Museum, Laholm City Hall, Lagaholm’s Castle Ruin and Laholm Town Park. Local attractions also include Skogaby-, Laholms- and Mellby Golfcourses, Vallåsen Ski Resort and the sandy beach of Mellbystrand. Hotel FeaturesLaholms Stadshotell offer Wifi, parking, coffee/tea in the lobby and a delicious breakfast buffet all free of charge. There is also possibility to buy a selected range of hot and cold food and alcoholic-/nonalcoholic beverages. Room AmenitiesThe well sized 18 rooms of the hotel are carefully designed with interiors from every decade since the opening of the hotel in 1882. The rooms feature a desk, armchairs, a modern bathroom and complimentary cable channels on the flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Laholms Stadshotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing