We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but is this the 5 star standard??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Paris La Defense
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in La Defense
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 May 2014

20-30 mins by metro to the centre is ok, and for the price difference arguably worthwhile.
But is this really 5 stars? Lobby entrance has the classy touches, but you can't help but notice it is somewhat small and dark. Suite was comfortable and clean, with more sunlight coming through what there is of windows. Service professional and friendly enough. The hotel mostly hits expectations, with one massive exception: the room service breakfast was poor. In particular, the scrambled eggs were literally a curdled goo, as if it had been sitting in the buffet for 3 hours, reheated, and then put in the microwave. I have an open mind when it comes to food, and I know this is Paris and the croissants will be more reliable, but this was truly astonishing. Five stars? No big harm done, but weird.

PS. Sofitel - sorry I didn't complete the satisfaction survey, perhaps you could make it shorter or allow participants to submit part way through.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IEv473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELDEFENSE, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear IEv473,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Paris La Défense. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin DEROP
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel - beds were very comfortable and included "down pillows" - too itchy for me - but my roommate enjoyed them.

The hotel is nice but too far from the main events in Paris (@15 minutes - but a very expensive cab ride back & forth. There is a nearby train ... but not always convenient.

Hotel restaurant was ridiculously expensive so we decided not to eat there!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Getpacked77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELDEFENSE, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Getpacked77,

Thank you so much for choosing the Sofitel Paris la Défense for your last Parisian visit and for writing a positive review following your stay with us.

We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property.

About your remark for the restaurant, please note that we propose to our guests some dish from 19€, to match with all expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon; It will definitely be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Nice hotel but if i am honest over priced for what it is in honesty. I have stayed in far better 5* star hotels at a cheaper rate with better facilities. Whilst the rooms are nice they seem dark and uninviting. I stayed here on business from 19th-22nd May 2014 and my room overlooked another tall building. In the morning I could not open my curtains as the building opposite had cleaners looking at me! (this was room 606)
The rooms were cleaned daily, and the replen of towels and toiletries were very good (however the coffee isn't replaced as quick) but the shower and beds were awesome! All the staff were very friendly and helpful however. As much as it was a nice hotel it lacked an atmosphere - i found it very oppressive.
The metro station is fairly handy however and is about 20 minutes into where the Tower is and the Louvre. The airport is about 1hr 15 minutes by train .

Room Tip: ask for one that doesnt have cleaners looking at you from an opposite building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Having been a regular here for work, I have been consistently disappointed with the level of service.

Pros:
The rooms are clean, luxurious and worth the money. It is very close to La Defense Esplanade Metro Station. Very good for working in La Defense. The 'Luxury Room' even has a nespresso coffee machine and they provide you with a good selection of capsules.

Cons:
Tonight I asked for a new breakfast menu, as after using my supplied one yesterday it had not been replenished. I called room service to ask if I could pre-order breakfast for tomorrow, or get a new menu. Their haughty response was that of course I couldn't, and I must call reception. Rather than transferring me, they ended the call. I called reception, to have it ring out 5 times. Finally when someone answered, they kindly agreed to bring me a menu. The man who delivered it was a room service man anyway... The lack of initiative or willingness to help is largely non-existent.

Similarly, eating in the restuarant, the waiters can be impossibly slow at taking orders even when there are only three tables in the restuarant. The food is overpriced with a limited menu, but otherwise good.

Summary:
The well-located hotel is let down by a poor attitude to service in the food and beverage staff. My experiences have been good with the reception and housekeeping, who are wonderfully helpful. Perhaps a change in approach of the food service would be beneficial.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tandant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

this Sofitel is very nice, very close to the Metro, and suited my needs perfectly while in Paris on business this past weekend. The restaurant is rather pricey, but the food was delicious. The wine, however, was not worth the 14 euros per glass price tag.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Califreqflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthieu G, Directeur général at Sofitel Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for your very comprehensive review!

It makes me very happy to hear you enjoyed so many of our facilities. This type of customer feedback is what motivates us to keep on providing the absolute best service that we can!

You're always welcome at the Sofitel Paris la Défense.

Hope to have you again soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My mum and I visited this hotel a couple of years ago. It was stunning, the photos do not do it justice. The bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in and the staff were fantastic.

We really couldn't fault this hotel, we were looking for a quiet holiday so this suited us as La Defense closes at the weekend as it is the equivalent of Canary Wharf, London. It is very conveniently situated on the metro though and the trains run every ten minutes.

I would highly recommend this hotel---outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tine1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthieu G, Directeur général at Sofitel Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Tine,

Thank you for leaving such a lovely feedback following your recent stay with us at Sofitel Paris La Défense.

I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!.

We always strive to ensure we provide an exceptional service; so to read your kind words is very much appreciated by myself and the brilliant Sofitel team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hotel is on the expensive side, but the service, rooms, food etc are all super great
Location is perfect, right in the mddle of La Defense in between all big offices
Would recommend this hotel to anyone who has meetings in La Defense

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankH0lland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthieu G, Directeur général at Sofitel Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Paris la Défense for your last Parisian visit and for writing a positive review following your stay with us.

We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon; It will definitely be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Defense hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#1 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,819 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#1 of 41 in La Defense
1,544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fraser Suites Harmonie Paris La Defense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Paris La Defense
Hilton Paris La Defense
#5 of 41 in La Defense
1,661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Paris La Defense
Novotel Paris La Defense
#7 of 41 in La Defense
915 reviews
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Paris La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Paris La Defense

Address: 34 cours Michelet, 92060, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Defense
#1 Family Hotel in La Defense
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Defense
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Defense
#3 Business Hotel in La Defense
Price Range: £120 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Paris La Defense 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Paris as never before through a marvelous mix of modern art, vibrant business, and exciting tourism. Nestled among soaring skyscrapers, Sofitel Paris La Defense offers inimitable French style and five-star luxury with a distinctly 21st century slant. Modern design, luscious shades of browns and reds, and an inviting atmosphere mean a refined Parisian adventure infused with the contemporary energy of la Defense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Paris La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris La Defense Hotel La Defense
Accor Paris La Defense
Paris Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing