We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“inconvenient unless you are working in La Defence” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in La Defense
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“inconvenient unless you are working in La Defence”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I very strongly recommend taking the RER or Metro to get to Paris city center. Every time I took a taxi they could not find the hotel....extremely annoying. the hotel itself is nice...gym...club lounge for Marriott loyal members. Do NOT take room 910 or near....they are right under the club lounge which is open 24 hours a day....i styayed there for 2 weeks and i am a platinum member....why would they put anyone in that room?

Room Tip: do not take any room in the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World-travellerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    368
    140
    63
    24
See reviews for
114
164
50
365
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Not a great hotel. Although I was working at La Défense, this hotel was far away from where I had to go. I had a hard time finding the entrance, and the taxi could not locate the hotel (actually, I must add that this is the case for most hotels in La Défense, and unless you find a very La Défense-friendly taxi driver, most of them are reluctant to drive you there). Room was OK, though, but the atmosphere is not friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
383 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Why is The Renaissance in Paris still charging for interned access ? At €19.90 a day it is ridiculous especially having spent 3 weeks staying at Marriott Hotels in Asia and not being charged. I was offered an upgrade at check in which gave me free Internet but this was another € 40, not really a good deal.
From a business point of view the hotel,is well located at La Defense but I wouldn't choose it if I was on a leisure trip. The beds are softer than usual Marriott beds and the rooms are quite bland. The gym is ok but nothing special and the bar is very on descript.
If you need a decent business hotel at La Defense then this is OK but otherwise not very inspiring.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Our first experience with this hotel was not hospitable. We arrived around 10:30 am after an overnight trans Atlantic flight tired and wanting a shower. We had a reservation and I asked if any rooms were available, I was informed that check in time was 3 pm. I then asked that when a room became available we would appreciate an earlier check in. We sat around and came back at 12 noon, and again asked if any rooms were available. At that time she called housekeeping to put us on a waiting list. We got a room around 1:30 pm. The room we got was a very odd shape and we had to do some furniture arranging to be able to leave open 2 suitcases on the floor.
If you want to experience Paris this is probably not your best choice. The hotel is newer but in an isolated business district. No restaurants around that we could find except the fast food ones in the 4 Temp mall. When you wanted to go downtown you had to take the Metro, which meant a considerable walk to the station.
Poor hospitality, odd shaped small room, isolated location in newer chrome and glass area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottawian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had 1 night in Paris and stayed here, whilst on a trip to Granoble and the hotel, rooms and staff etc were excellent. Very nice décor and looks a lot more expensive than it was. The underground parking was a bonus too. We didn't eat there so cannot comment on the food but overall we would recommend and will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel has to be renovated.
Old furniture and carpets.
Bathroom was dirty, I had to clean it before using!
Hope director reads it and answers...
I stay there because is close to office.
Good point iPod dock!
Has to improve and not loose the trend of modernity and service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisCharlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed at the Renaissance Paris La Defense for one night on 9th August 2013 with my wife and sixteen year old son on our way back to Calais from La Rochelle. We decided to stay in a ‘posh’ hotel on our last night in France, but wish we hadn’t. We paid £141.00 for the night plus 24 euros to park the car plus 4.5 euros city tax!
It took us four hours to drive from La Rochelle to Paris and then one hour thirty minutes driving around the ridiculous one way system that this hotel is on. The one way system was full of road works and diversions and after several laps we eventually saw a tiny sign for the hotel, but it was too late as we were in the wrong lane and we had to go around yet again. The directions to the car park are useless as well. We ended up in the service area of the hotel and all the nearby offices. When we worked our way back again, I decided to drive right up outside the reception. The security allowed us to check in, then I went to park the car. Not the best of car parks.
Check in was nothing special. Quite slow. The receptionist made a big thing about telling us we had been given a room on the executive level with access to the executive lounge.
Our room (510) was not the best. We knew our son would be sleeping on a sofa bed, but we couldn’t believe the sofa bed when we saw it. We have had sofa beds in Marriott hotels before with proper sprung mattresses but the mattress on this one was not much more than a thick piece of foam. The maid who made the bed up must’ve had a bad day because all the cushions from the sofa were just chucked at the back of the bed. We contacted reception and, give then their due, a member of staff brought us a proper thick mattress within minutes.
The room itself had a very comfortable king size bed, albeit with stains (see photo) down the side, large flat screen TV, safe etc, etc, the usual Marriott stuff. The bathroom however had wall paper peeling off the wall, bad fitting tiles and generally shoddy workmanship when it comes to decorating. Bearing in mind this room was supposed to be an ‘executive level’ room, and the hotel has airline crews staying there, I didn’t think much of it. As for the ‘executive lounge’, that was just a room with free coffee and soft drinks, nothing ‘executive’ about it.
We had a drink in the bar and the bill came to 25.5 euros. At the exchange rate we had, that was £22.56 for a 50cl beer, a small glass of wine and a small bottle of water.
Breakfast was nothing to write home about the next morning. I don’t think I saw any member of staff crack a smile.
Overall, the public areas of the hotel were clean, our room wasn’t worth the money we paid and grubby and the staff weren’t very welcoming and it’s a nightmare to find. Would I stay there again? A definite No, and I’m a loyal customer to the Marriott hotel chains. We were glad to leave and get on our way home. The one good point I suppose I should say about the location of the hotel is that it is at the end of the Paris Metro Line number 1 which takes you into Paris in about fifteen minutes.
As for the area, the hotel is next to the Grande Arche of La Defense and is surrounded by modern glass buildings housing various major companies. There’s also a massive shopping centre, Les 4 Temps. There are several restaurants nearby. Avoid the Bistro De L’Arche. We wish we had. The food was nothing special and the staff looked as though they wanted to be somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timtomted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Defense hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Paris La Defense
Hilton Paris La Defense
#5 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#4 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Paris La Defense
Sofitel Paris La Defense
#1 of 41 in La Defense
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fraser Suites Harmonie Paris La Defense
1.0 mi away
Novotel Paris La Defense
Novotel Paris La Defense
#7 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel

Property: Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel
Address: 60 Jardins de Valmy, 92918, La Defense, France (Formerly Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in La Defense
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Defense
#5 Business Hotel in La Defense
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Defense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense is in the heart of La Defense district of Paris, France. Just next to the Grande Arche de La Defense this Paris hotel is just a few minutes from the capital's famous attractions: only 1 train stops from the Champs-Elysees. Guests can walk from the Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense to the large shopping center "les 4 Temps" as well as to the CNIT conference center. Whether you come by train, metro or taxi from Paris airports, access to the hotel is easy and for those coming by car there is a private and supervised hotel car park. This upscale hotel provides spacious hotel rooms with Marriott bedding, air conditioning, Internet access, premium TV channels, and in-room safe. For successful conferences and events there are 13 meeting rooms with natural daylight and broadband internet. Hotel guests have free access to the fitness gym. Guests can enjoy traditional French cuisine in the hotel restaurant and a relaxing atmosphere at the Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Paris
Paris Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing