We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A holiday to remember”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owhango
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Mountain Adventure Centre
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“A holiday to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Thank you Blue Mountain for the wonderful weekend...we have taken away new experiences, new friendships, and memories that the children will not forget. Particularly loved the white water rafting... I wasn't sure I could do it...but I did! Very special family bonding time for us all. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Went to BMAC for a team-bonding weekend and that's exactly what we got. We stayed in the house adjacent to BMAC (organised by BMAC) and the cosy accommodation was perfect for our small group, providing warm lounges, and a big kitchen for us to cook together in.
Our instructor was really friendly and extremely skilled in the adventure activities, ensuring we all felt safe and were having a good time.
Organisation with BMAC before our arrival was a breeze and made it really easy for us to make sure we were ready and had everything we needed.
Highly recommend BMAC to any size and type of group. You will have an expreience that will not be forgotten quickly. Thanks BMAC!

Room Tip: Our group stayed in a house right next to BMAC that they sometimes use when they have multiple group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Over the past 3 years, I have organised a group of girlfriends to escape for a weekend away from kids, husbands, busy jobs, busy lives, mobile phones and internet to try something different and to be pushed out of their comfort zones, all whilst having a great bonding time. I have still yet to do every single activity on the books. The accomodation is spotless, modern and the food plentiful and yummy. No one has ever lost weight! I have also brought my extended family down for 4 days (ages ranged from 5 – 70) and BMAC was able to come up with something that we all could do yet was still challenging for the older ones. Could not recommend this place enough! This is a hidden gem of an organisation with wonderful facilities, amazing instructors and support team.

Room Tip: Lots of separate bunk beds on wire frames which can be noisy. Some of us dragged our mattresses into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleS1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

BMAC took a group of Year 8s from our Kids Camp on a days rafting adventure. They all had an absolute blast and couldn't stop talking about how great it was. We will defintely use them again. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I have come to BMAC on and off for years, and it never disappoints. The accommodation is fantastic, clean, warm and has everything you need. The Staff are super helpful and highly skilled in both instructing and helping build group dynamics. The experience of the groups I have taken is that of people over coming fears and taking on new challenges. They can then that the experience and cross over into other situations in life. It's just great. Good for small (9 people) and big groups.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collette I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland OR
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Literally. They can take you all over rocks and so much more! I have sent my groups of students to BMAC for two years now and we have had amazing experiences. BMAC has done a great job helping us strengthen our group dynamics, increase the students confidence, and appreciate nature up close and personal. I would highly recommend them for student groups, corporate retreats, or families. I have to say though they could do a better job with the food, definitely not as good as their activities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We have come to BMAC every year since 2004 as our accommodation for our youth group snow camp. The facilities are awesome and the staff are always so onto it and helpful! Highly recommend this place for any group trips!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisPAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owhango
9.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
19.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
3.6 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tongariro Crossing Lodge
Tongariro Crossing Lodge
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Crossing Backpackers
The Crossing Backpackers
#1 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
3.6 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Adventure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Adventure Centre

Property: Blue Mountain Adventure Centre
Address: 17 Pito Street | Raurimu RD1, Owhango 3989, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Owhango
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Owhango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our mission at Blue Mountain Adventure Centre is to help people discover and live out their God-given potential through the challenge of adventure. We cater for all ages from six to 60 years old (or over!). You’ll be able to visit spectacular sites in and around Tongariro National Park and take part in activities that include: Kayaking, Canadian canoeing, rafting, rock climbing, caving, tramping, mountaineering, high ropes activities, abseiling and adventure based learning.Owned by the Salvation Army, our programmes help develop self esteem, trust, confidence, resilience, teamwork, practical skills, leadership, perseverance and much more!Our expert instructors have a huge standing in the outdoors industry and possess qualifications such as NZOIA awards in rockclimbing, abseiling,kayaking,mountaineering,canoeing and bushcraft, NZRA raft guiding qualifications, Project Adventure facilitation qualifications and NZQA outdoor recreation standards. So what are you waiting for? ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing