We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A faultless three night stay with wonderful food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Foundry Masters House
Certificate of Excellence
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A faultless three night stay with wonderful food”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

A faultless three night stay with wonderful food cooked by Dawn. She is more than happy to cater for our food intolerances and allergies. The food then produced was excellent and with Dawn's cooking I am surprised Danny is not the size of a house!
Our stay was a real pleasure, better than home from home. Everything was just as one would expect and the only disappointment was leaving.
This will always be our first choice of accommodation in that area.

Pip and David

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    16
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
132
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Les Rousses, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We have had a family weekend at Coalbrookdale and Ironbridge to reunite our scattered family of fifty. Coalbrookdale was fascinating and the museums excellent for the children. Dawn and Danny put three older family members up at the Foundrymasters House and they found their stay very good. Dawn cooked an excellent meal for fifty at the Youth Hostel on the Saturday night which was uniformly praised.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My wife and I stayed from Friday to Monday for a very enjoyable long weekend at the Foundry Masters house in my opinion its an excellent 5 star quality accommodation. We stayed in the Luxury Double room that was a very big room with a spotlessly clean and also large bathroom. The chocolate brownies were a welcome treat to have with our cup of tea when we came back after visiting the numerous attractions in the area around Ironbridge. Make sure you purchase a passport if you are going to visit all of the museums you will save a lot of money. Nothing was to much trouble for Daniel or Dawn they made the weekend even more enjoyable. I must make a mention of the BREAKFAST it is so large that we did not need to eat during the day, the breakfast choice was great and well cooked. If you are reading this review all I can say is you will not be disappointed so look no further BOOK the Foundry Masters House. John E.

Room Tip: Book room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We only stayed one night whilst on a short trip to the area. Everything at the Foundry Masters House was just right. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable with the homemade Chocolate Brownies making a nice additional touch.
Breakfast in the morning was nothing short of superb.
Dawn was very friendly and welcoming and suggested "The Meadow" nearby which served good food but after reading the Foundry Masters House Menu the next morning, I wish that we had stayed in to eat.
We would recommend a stay without any hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

this is a very good place to stay, rooms warm, cosy, with fab bathroom,

we had room 2, very quiet, lovely to come back too after a cold day, and get warm with a nice cup of tea, and a brownie, left in the room.

great breakfasts and cooking by Dawn, nothing too much trouble.

all in all a good base, with parking, and a small walk to some of the museums and a five minute drive to the others, with some nice rests in ironbridge to eat at.

Room Tip: i am sure all are good, but room 2 is off the road and is cosy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

A weekend away turned out to be the snowiest of the whole winter. The Foundrymaster's House became a little oasis of warmth and comfort for us. A top notch room, warm, roomy and comfortable with a real feeling of being rooted in Coalbrookdale's long history. Even better though is the food, both vegetarian and carnivore. This would have done credit to a large hotel with a fully staffed kitchen, let alone a small B&B.

Coalbrookdale is a little quiet, but Ironbridge itself is a pleasant walk away and caters well to visitors. Definitely eat at least once in-house though.

One of the best B&Bs I've stayed in and the best, of a few I've tried, around Ironbridge.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broseley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband and I have known Danny & Dawn since they were at the Coalbrookdale Inn. We used to eat there more or less once a week until we had our children. Even then we still managed it (albeit less often) or arranged for takeaways. We were absolutely gutted when they left the pub as Dawn is the best chef in the whole of Shropshire (we eat out a lot and every time we always say, it was a nice meal but not as nice as Dawn's).

Anyway, our 10th anniversary was approaching and I decided to treat the hubby to some fine dining. Couldn't decide where to go as I really fancied some of Dawn's food as I knew it would be perfect. Managed to find out the name of the B&B on the Internet and gave Dawn a call. She was more than happy to accommodate us and told me to write my own my own menu for the evening. Well that was easy as the hubby raves about her deep fried brie and pork ravini and I love her mussels in white wine and garlic plus she cooks the best fillet steak which is my favourite.

Needless to say we had a great night in a romantic setting with delicious food. As we had washed this all down with a couple of bottles of wine we asked Danny to get us a taxi but being the gent he is, he dropped us home instead.

You really must stay with Danny & Dawn if you visit the area and whatever you do say yes to evening meal, I promise you that you won't regret it. We didn't stay but did go into room 1 for a peek and it looked lovely and clean, the bathroom was spacious and the decor was in keeping with the house but still had a modern touch.

Thanks once again you two for a great night. He loved the surprise.

Rach & Ash

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coalbrookdale
0.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bridge View Guest House
Bridge View Guest House
#1 of 9 in Ironbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bird in Hand Inn
The Bird in Hand Inn
#2 of 9 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foundry Masters House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foundry Masters House

Property: The Foundry Masters House
Address: 43 Wellington Road, Coalbrookdale, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Coalbrookdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Coalbrookdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Foundry Masters House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Detached Georgian Property built in 1861 for the master of the local Coalbrookdale foundry set in the heart of the Ironbridge Gorge exactly one mile from the Iron Bridge itself. The property consists of three double rooms en suite on the first floor with a ground floor dining room and lounge. The property is licensed to serve alcohol and offers an a la carte restaurant menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Foundry Masters House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Foundry Masters House Coalbrookdale, Telford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing