We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And Dante thought that he'd been to Hell!”
Review of Driftwood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Driftwood Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Wheatfield B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“And Dante thought that he'd been to Hell!”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I was looking for an inexpensive place to stay during a Thanksgiving visit with relatives in Niagara Falls so I booked the Driftwood via priceline. I should have known I was in for an "adventure" when the room key wouldn't unlock the door (the night manager acknowledged there was an issue, but won't give me another room). Unlocking the door was hit or miss, and often took several minutes to accomplish. For the sake of brevity, other issues with this motel were problems getting the heat to work, problems with the TV (the picture faded out every 5 minutes and you had to hit it to get it back), and very thin walls - the room on the left sounded like it had been rented by the hour (if you catch my drift) and it sounded like they were doing their thing in my bed, not what you want to hear at 2 am and beyond. There iwas also no maid service during the entire 3 day stay, and you have to beg for towels (and only get 2 very small thin ones). Other than waking up at 2 am with something biting my leg, the stay was "a little slice of heaven." There are much better motels in the area, I found, at about the same price. Save yourself some extreme aggrevation - AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    1
    5
    24
See reviews for
15
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We booked it online using places that are very close to Niagara Falls. In our two day trip, we planned to stay indoors for only about 6 hours, so we wanted a cheaper option. This was cheap but the beds were not that great. There was no room service. We spent most of our time at Niagara Falls. There was lot of space for parking though which was free. The ladies in our group did not feel safe at night. The only thing that worked was that it was about 15-20 minutes drive from Niagara Falls. I do not think I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vishal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wheatfield hotels

Webster, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The first room we saw was infested with bugs. The manager was surprised that I had the temerity to actually complain about these additional wall scurrying occupants. We demanded another room - and a newer one was provided but at a price.

All that could be said about the new room is that it was, indeed, newer than the old room. There was no phone, probably because it had been worn out by previous occupants making complaints. There were no hand towels, thin bath towels the size of wash cloths, no hair dryer, no alarm clock, no Gideon bible, an inadequate lock on the door, no make up service for the room, no replacement towels without a visit to the lobby (which was often locked), no tissues and a generous allowance of one third of a roll of toilet paper.

The walls were so thin that the occupants of the neighbouring rooms could almost be seen, let alone heard.

The AC unit operated at random.

This is an extremely nasty place - DO NOT go there.

You have been warned!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Morganator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mifflintown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

When we arrived I noticed the office smelled like urine. We got our keys and went to the room. We had to go back to the desk because the door was not functioning right... The owner was rude and said you need to push on it... We go in the room and my husband sat on the bed.. I sat down and seen something gross on the blanket... Not sure what that was so we took it off... The sheets were from the 1970's along with the carpet and the bathroom fixtures. We figured ok lets use the jiquzie... Ha Ha you turn it on and it smells like rotten eggs. You say wow off to the shower and there is mold on the shower curtain. The room is warm and you check the air conditioner and the filter is clogged with dirt. My husband went outside for a smoke and the owner is positioning his own cars to make it look like he has more guests. You wake up the next day and leave and come back in the evening and ask for towels because they never even cleaned the room. You find hair on the bed. Bugs in the room. The amount of money you spend on the place is nuts considering what you get. I would never recomend this place!! Oh and don't forget the empty pool..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LWandSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Just terrible.. Pictures can lie!!!
We checked in for the labor day weekend and it was Terrible.. The room rent was 150$ for a night!!! It was the shabbiest of the hotels I have been to!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelersGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My wife checked and and found bedbugs openly crawling on the sheets. She ran from the room.

NEVER STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theslick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

booked this hotel over the internet, thought we were getting an ok deal. the place smells and there is mold in the bathroom around the tub and up the walls. We complained and said we wanted a refund but were told that because we booked online we had entered a contract not to cancel upon arrival. Manager is very rude and does not seemto understand that he works in the service industry!!! STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xraygirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheatfield
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Niagara Falls/Buffalo
4.4 mi away
Swiss Cottage Inns
Swiss Cottage Inns
#27 of 51 in Niagara Falls
177 reviews
5.0 mi away
Econo Lodge at the Falls North
Econo Lodge at the Falls North
#25 of 51 in Niagara Falls
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,029 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,904 reviews
8.3 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#11 of 51 in Niagara Falls
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Motel

Property: Driftwood Motel
Address: 2754 Niagara Falls Blvd, Wheatfield, NY 14304-4517
Region: United States > New York > Wheatfield
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wheatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driftwood Suites of Niagara Falls, is just 7 short miles to Niagara Falls. Rooms range from ECONOMIC to LUXURY. We have new remodeled rooms and Jacuzzi Rooms! Call for more details! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Driftwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Wheatfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing