We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Heaven”
Review of Sur La Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sur La Mer
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Morjim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Should you wish to find a tranquil and extremely comfortable place to stay in Goa,look no further.
You will be mollycoddled as a personal guest by the owners--Aneel and Nayan Verman.
The place is a gastronomic delight and that is where it really scores.
The hotel itself is designed in the local style and blends in perfectly with the environs.The rooms are very large and comfortable. The pool around which it is built is brilliant.No wonder the Bollywood celebrities come here to unwind and recharge.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor comfortably sleep four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chintan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Sur La Mer located in Morjim, heads my list of favourite getaways! The rooms are airy, the food is FAB and the ambiance is relaxed and homely. Everything about it is warm and hospitable.To top it all, Sur La Mer's owner Aneel Verman aka General not only whips up great signature dishes but is charm personified! He is an encyclopedia of knowledge and will have you rolling on the floor laughing at his witty sense of humour. I've had one of my best vacations at Sur La Mer and intend going back for more!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SP20012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Being foodies my husband and I spent most of our time in Morjim scourging delectable eats both down the beach and up the hill. Sur La Mer was recommended to us by the lovely lady at Ku, another nice stay option in Morjim. We took our little baby and rickety bike on the short ride up e hill and there it was this beautiful converted Portuguese style villa with a tempting pool in e courtyard... We ordered the tuna steak, the escargots in white wine, wasabi prawns and beef carpaccio. For dessert we had the highly recommended sur la mer special: the chocolate fondant. Every single thing I have named here was to DIE FOR! Made by the kind gentleman himself, the owner of sur la mer chatted and kept us merry all evening... Even sent a complimentary portion of curly fries over for our son. Great evening, great food and a lovely setting to enjoy it all.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ZaraZC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We came here for a long weekend in a big group and this was the perfect venue for the occasion! Sur La Mer is a delightful mix of old-world charm and modern facilities. Colonial facade, large, airy rooms with everything you need - a chilling air con, comfy beds, free wi-fi, fridge, tea/coffee, TV, movies, pool - the works. Breezy white muslin curtains for privacy - even for the bathrooms, which have no doors!

Just a few minutes from the beach and many fabulous restaurants and bars in this area - a must-try. Tho' for great cuisine and hospitality you never need to leave here - the food is absolutely fantastic - try the wild boar vindaloo and the wasabi prawns.

What makes this special is that the owners - a lovely, gracious couple - are there, and ensure everyone is well looked after. The staff here is always smiling and happy to accommodate your requests, even at your laid-back hours well past regular mealtimes.

Beautifully located - minutes from great beaches, shacks and restaurants. The beach in this part of Goa is lovely - wide expanses of pristine sand.
Totally recommend this!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nidhi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just thoroughly enjoyed our fourth dinner at Sur la Mer during our stay in Goa. As always the restaurant continues to serve consistently excellent food. The ambience of the hotel and the outdoor dining area enhances the enjoyment of the wonderful food. We never look at the menu but rely on the excellent advice and culinary skills of the owner Aneel who is a world renowned chef and great raconteur. If you are in North Goa and want absolutely the best food then I can highly recommend the dining experience at Sur le Mer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We had great many recommendations to go eat/stay at Sur La Mer .. so we decided to try it out for lunch.. being a veggie in goa does have its perils but i had managed to get delish food at most shacks and resto ..till i came here.. at first we were sitted on one table then asked to move because the people who had booked the table came (never happened to be in a resto before) then we were told in veg it was pasta in red and white sauce honestly not something i wanted to eat... tried the caprese salad which had green chutney which they thght was pesto.. i dont even wnt to talk about the rest of the lunch with the paneer gravy tasting like package food and raw naans...just a terrible experience... and we paid as much as our yummy meal that we had at Fiesta in Baga....not worth it at all...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank VaiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I have been going to Goa for 11 years now and have always stayed in the same part of Goa (Candolim) and have always been weary to try any other place.
We decided to be adventurous and stay in Sur La Mer in Morjim and were we pleased!!!
The owners of the hotel are so friendly and we spent every evening out by the pool, enjoying each others company. The pool is in the middle of the courtyard and you can walk out of your room and just jump straight in! That had to be the best part.

The rooms are large and spacious and very tastefully made. The whole place has a very adobe/Mediterranean feel and it is a great getaway from mainstream Goa.It is only a 5 minute walk from the beach and the famous restaurant, La Plage.

The entire hotel has wifi connectivity and their chocolate dessert and pineapple juice was amazing.

Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for something comfortable and relaxed in Goa.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KismetJewellNakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morjim
1.1 mi away
Montego Bay Beach Village
1.8 mi away
La Vaiencia Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Paros by Amarya
Paros by Amarya
#3 of 14 in Morjim
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marbela Beach Resort
Marbela Beach Resort
#8 of 14 in Morjim
224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rococco Ashvem
Rococco Ashvem
#2 of 6 in Pernem
354 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tiara Fiesta Beach Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sur La Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sur La Mer

Address: Morjim-Ashwem Road, Morjim 403512, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Morjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Morjim
Price Range: £141 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sur La Mer 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sur La Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sur La Mer Goa/Morjim
Sur La Mer Hotel Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing